We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!!!”
Review of The Pilgrim Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pilgrim Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Much Birch
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Disappointing!!!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have recently returned from a break at the Pilgrim Hotel, with extended family. It was booked to celebrate my Brother-in-law's 60th Birthday. On arrival, we were met by a miserable Receptionist, who must have been having a bad day. Our rooms were allocated. I had told the Hotel before we arrived that it was for my Brother-in-law's birthday. They were given a very grim, damp smelling room, with a wet room and no bath. The room obviously was meant to cater for the elderly/disabled. We made a laugh about it but for the price it was very dated and my Sister-in-law had to go out and buy air freshners to make the room smell better and considering it was his special birthday it was an awful room! Our room was not much better, very dated, but clean, but the put up bed was full of springs and needed to be replaced. We booked for the Murder Mystery, and for the price our children were very excited at the prospect. It was however, a very amateur affair, and there was no searching of clues etc, therefore the children and ourselves were very disappointed! The food on the evening and breakfast was however excellent and commedations should go to the Chef and his staff! My Sister-in-law and I both had a latte at one point, which was average size and at a cost of £10.10 we thought this was very very steep prices! Needless to say, it was an experience but we would not recommend the Murder Mystery Evening to anyone, or to stay at the Hotel, as the rooms leave alot to be desired!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickiSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    305
    62
    14
    5
See reviews for
65
568
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Had a voucher given to us by some friends so picked this hotel to use it. When arriving to check in the receptionist was rolling a cigarette whilst sat at the desk - was not a good impression to say the least. She since told us she was training not that, that was an excuse.
Once shown to our room which we paid an upgrade for, it was lovely and warm which was a great thing seeing how cold it was outside! The room had plenty of space and was very clean. We decided to eat at the hotel and not go out in the cold again! We were then greeted by a bar man who seemed to think it is exceptable to greet customers with 'alright' and 'how you doing?'. If we had decided to stay in a pub or travelodge then i would accept this but we were in a hotel and hoping to have an A La Carte dinner. The food order was taken by a young lady who made more of an effort to create a higher standard of class, when the food arrived it tasted lovely, shame it looked so drab to be honest. Although the lemon possett was lovely! One last thing, on leaving the hotel you should take the back exit, which you do not want to use if you wish not to damage your car. Overall a pleasant atmosphere with some good staff and food. Just confused on whether we were in a pub or hotel!

Room Tip: upgrade room is worth it for the views
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank samk488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed here with my wife for two nights and would heartily recommend it to anyone.

It's in a perfect location, very pretty and quiet. We were lucky enough to arrive on a beautiful sunny afternoon which no doubt helped, but the village is undoubtedly charming and beautiful.
We used it as a base to visit Hereford, Ludlow and the Wye Valley. Road links are good and we had no trouble finding it.

The room was idiosyncratic and charming, a bit dated but warm and comfortable.

The restaurant was so good we ate there on both evenings, something we normally wouldn't do. A good variety of well presented and cooked food.

The staff were all excellent, nothing was too much trouble and they were uniformly friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-and-Valentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed on a voucher deal and upgraded to what was sold to us as a fantastic room. Perhaps if this hadn't been stressed we would have not minded so much but the room was not very inspiring and we had expected more of an upgraded room. The room and bathroom were basic as were the toiletries provided (if you want shampoo take it yourself) and it was not well decorated - where pictures had been removed there were marks on the wall and the nails still in there. The TV was tiny so sitting in bed and watching it was only possible if you moved the TV on a small table closer. The view was lovely but nearly all rooms have that view and with small windows it isn't that much of a feature. There must be a small number of standard rooms front facing and you have to pay extra for the view.
The food was very, very disappointing. We had been looking forward to eating in both nights as anywhere else is a drive away so you couldn't have a drink with your meal. We sat in the bar to eat as the restaurant was not very inviting, although to be fair, this would come into its own in summer with its view over the valley. There was a deck you could also sit out on.
But the food was truly like bad pub food and this is from two nights sampling the bar and restaurant menus. The indian food on the menu that was no better than a supermarket takeaway, and fish and chips offered the meanest portion of fish I've ever had, with a lot of half cooked batter and frozen chips and tough peas. After the meal we thought we would go to the hotel lounge that we were shown on arrival, but the room was in darkness and was so uninviting we decided that they obviously didn't want guests to use it, so sat in our bedroom to read the papers.
The whole feel of this hotel is that they are running on the very cheapest they can. They were advertising rooms at £50 a night which was hardly any more than the voucher price we paid even though they had said on the voucher that our two day bed & breakfast stay would have been worth £180.00. Do the maths and you will understand why we felt ripped off! Actually I would not pay £50 a night or £60 as our room must have been going for and will never visit this hotel again. I have spent better nights in a 2* basic hotel and am surprised it had 3* status. The staff serving however were friendly but it is a shame they have a poor product to offer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank croydonflightpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from a perfect, relaxing mini-break at this hotel!! We booked the Pilgrim Hotel with a buyagift voucher (a birthday present) and we were very pleased that they allowed us to book the dates we wanted, a lot of the other hotels wouldn't as it was the school holidays which makes it difficult for a teacher to go away for 2 nights!!

When we arrived we were blown away by the views and experienced a very warm welcome! The staff could not do enough for us! We had decided to upgrade to a valley view room when we booked for a very reasonable £10 a night extra and we were glad we did!! The views were amazing and lovely to wake up to!!

We decided to have dinner at the hotel on our first night and again it was a good choice! The food was gorgeous!! I MUST find the recipe for the Lemon Posset with Boozy Brambles!! It was nice to relax in the bar with a drink by the fire while we waited too!

All in all we had a perfect few days away and came away relaxed and recharged. We have the staff at the Pilgrim to thank for that!! We'll definitely be recommending you and you'll probably see us again in the future!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elsatkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Rang the hotel to enquire about availability having bought a buyagift voucher, was informed by an extremely short tempered and rude lady that there was no weekend availability until July because I quote "if I sold all my rooms on vouchers codes I would be bankrupt" I understand limiting the numbers of weekends but no need to be quite so rude about it, don't sign up to these schemes if you treat customers who purchase them would such bad grace. Worth noting on their website how they like to have rooms full at a lower price than empty and that their current Easter prices are less than I paid for my voucher. Very odd because the lady I spoke to seems contradictory to their website and other reviews, but she remains an extremely bad advertisement for their hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveBoyle, Owner at The Pilgrim Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
I would like to thank Tripadvisor for giving the Hotel the option of replying to this "review".

Past and future guests will not recognise a "short tempered and rude lady" being employed at the Hotel. There is certainly nobody here in any danger of being made bankrupt as non of the team are shareholders, directors or partners. We do not use the phrase "voucher codes", it doesn't make sense. "Vouchers clients" or "voucher customers" possibly, but we know how vital this top up business is to the Hotel and cherish the opportunity it presents.

We do not limit weekends, we allocate 35% of our rooms for voucher customers, normally out of peak season, throughout the week equally. I am not sure which voucher the reviewer claims to have bought but feel it is a voucher that can be used at over 100 hotels throughout the UK, each with their own conditions. One of our conditions is that the vouchers would not be accepted after April 2013, but due to demand we changed the condition to be "booked by the end of April" and indeed are welcoming guests right through until July.

On investigating this review we could only remember one lady getting very irate, to the extent of aggressive language, because she couldn't have the specific night she wanted and just wouldn't accept the fact. Now, I am not inferring that this is the lady concerned, we simply don't know, but to buy such a voucher with one hotel and one date in mind doesn't seem terribly sensible.

Hotel Vouchers are a double edged sword for the industry, having been introduced as a "top up" vehicle for quiet times and gifts but now becoming much more of the only way to buy for some customers. In truth, after commission and VAT, Hotels may receive less than half of the "retail price" of the voucher and certainly do have to manage this aspect of their business closely.

My suggestion would be to find the Hotel you want, research the best deal and ask the Hotel to match it. They would be delighted, I know we would.

As for this particular review, it hardly seems credible that such a venomous piece of work is allowed to be posted. Maybe Tripadvisor will do the right thing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

What an absolutley wonderful hotel! We booked this hotel for the Murder Mysetery weekend just gone (23rd March), and what a lovely experience it was. We arrived on the Friday, and from the second we entered the hotel we were treated brilliantly. Our room was cosy, and with beautiful views. The restaurant is a welcoming one, with delicious food to offer. We were most impressed by their Bar Manager, Trevor Forrester. He did everything that was possible for us. There was a great sense of banter from him, as we were welsh and he was english! and he did all he could to make our stay the best. He is a credit to that hotel. We couldn't have had a better weekend, and Trevor was the one who made it for us.

Please go stay at this hotel. It is fabulous!!!

Room Tip: Every room we saw was lovley. Although we stayed in room 21, and there was everything you needed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clo2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveBoyle, Owner at The Pilgrim Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us Clo2308, it is good to get honest feedback from happy guests and the staff really appreciate your comments.

Working in the hospitality industry is very difficult these days and to receive plaudits like yours really lifts the spirits of the whole team. Trevor is busy blushing in a corner of the bar and is being ribbed endlessly by his colleagues. After only a few months with us he has found his feet and is a pleasure to work with.

Happy Easter and don't forget to come back!
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Much Birch
5.6 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 12 in Hereford
431 reviews
4.8 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#7 of 12 in Hereford
293 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 12 in Hereford
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 12 in Hereford
279 reviews
4.2 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
175 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stretton Sugwas
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pilgrim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pilgrim Hotel

Property: The Pilgrim Hotel
Address: Ross Rd., Much Birch, Hereford HR2 8HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford > Much Birch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Much Birch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pilgrim Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Pilgrim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilgrim Hotel Hereford
The Pilgrim Hotel Hereford/Much Birch, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing