We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, Friendly Hotel”
Review of The Pilgrim Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pilgrim Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Much Birch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed as a group during the cold snap in February and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The rooms were warm as toast and the atmosphere in the Hotel was friendly and the staff couldn't do enough for us.

Check in was smooth with bags taken to our room and a walk round the Hotel to familiarise ourselves. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all of a good quality and we are already booked to come back in the summer.

It's a much better choice than a chain Hotel, I think the owner lives on site and the place is a pleasure to be in. Well done Pilgrim, top marks!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SabrinaLondon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (820)
There are newer reviews for The Pilgrim Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 820 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

The web site pictures and description plus published room rates give a slightly false impression of this place. Looks and cost, indicate it to be better than it really is. It has a 3 star rating from the Welsh Tourist people and that’s about the right level.

The staff are all very friendly but there was no offer of assistance with luggage and as the wife and I don’t have one set of good knees between us, humping cases up stairs was a pain (literally!) I did get some help coming down again in the morning; a painter working on the stairs kindly took one of the bags through to reception. We humped upstairs because the first room offered on the ground floor was tiny and certainly not worth the room rate, which at £95.00 was thankfully lower than the internet rack rate, well at least I think it was, their site is a bit confusing with the room descriptions and prices.

The ‘Executive’ room we were in was nothing special, clean, tidy well decorated but lacked the touches that the word ‘executive’ would demand. Squeeze bottles of soap/shampoo, plastic drinking glasses and a mattress that was tired, particularly on the wife’s side where it had a hard ‘bar’ down the middle, too late to do anything about it when she eventually told me. The TV had a mind of its own, losing signal regularly and giving an off on crackly picture plus the room was not overly large.

‘Executive’ would suggest it should have individual toiletries, glass glasses and be larger than normal, maybe it was, after all we didn’t see the size of a standard one! It was also very cold and whilst it had a large radiator plus an electric one, the latter going full pelt, it struggled to reach comfortable. The whole place is cold with electric convection radiators dotted everywhere.

It sits halfway between Hereford and Ross-on-Wye and with drink driving rules, eating in is almost a prerequisite. We approached the food with trepidation and not a high expectation. The dining room is in the conservatory with plain wooden tables and little atmosphere, the room used for breakfast, with smaller tables, tablecloths and a more intimate feel would have made for a better ‘feel’.

Now we get to the ‘Saved by the dinner bell’ bit. The food was really excellent. I had a twice baked smoked haddock soufflé followed by a trio of pork and the wife a goat’s cheese and potato terrine and braised blade of beef, all quite excellent. The wine list is compact but sufficient and the prices for both the food and wine are reasonable. All in all a very good meal cooked by proper chefs who can actually cook rather than having simply mastered the use of a microwave. Well done to them.

Not too sure I would stay again but I would certainly return for another evening meal.

Room Tip: Be sure to check their ‘Special Offers’ for more reasonable rates
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodieOswestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a mighty deals voucher deal in January. The rooms were clean and well appointed. Not luxury but as comfortable as one could possibly ever need. The views over the Welsh border are fine and it is well placed for exploring the local countryside including the beautiful Wye Valley.

The best thing about the Pilgrim was the attentive service. The reception we received was welcoming and personable, and it is clear that our satisfaction was important. There are some past reviews on here that complain about the management at this hotel but I can only assumed they have since moved on as the current team get top marks from their telephone manner through to their service once at the hotel.

The staff in the restaurant also were lovely. The food was good value and there was plenty of choice. We ate there both nights as it is convenient and good quality.

The only minor issue is the creaking walls and floors above us. We stayed on the annex and you can hear those around you. That said it did not prove a problem at night (although i feared it might) and we slept well both nights.

This place has lots going for it and the staff work hard to make you welcome and enjoy your stay. For the price this makes it excellent value.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheridanslack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

An excellent weekend for our group of 22 people at the Pilgrim. The rooms are lovely, the staff very friendly and helpful, the food excellent, the bar not to be missed and the Murder Mystery just added the icing on the cake - even though we didn't win!

Highly recommended and at least one of our party has already booked for a repeat experience.

Thanks to Steve and the staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Really enjoyed our two nights at The Pilgrim Hotel. We upgraded to the Valley View room (15) and it was well worth it. It was spotlessly clean, which easily made up for any misgivings with regards to slightly old decor. The bed was massive and extremely comfy.

We ate bar food both nights and was really pleased that we had. Even better when we used our Times 25% off card!!!

Finally, the service was fantastic: all staff were extremely friendly but inobtrusive. Would highly recommend to others.

Room Tip: Room 15 was upstairs with a double windowed valley view. 6ft wide bed. Shower over bath. Slightly sm...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mooruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I Would recommend this hotel for a short or long stay!!! Food was lovely!! Service was very good Room was clean bed comfy what more do you want ?? Just a shame i was there on business. If you live local eat here..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mlsouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Just back from a two night stay at the Pilgrim Hotel and very happy. We enjoyed the food and chose to eat in the hotel on both nights. My husband chose from the restaurant menu and I had lovely fresh food from the bar menu. Both satisfied - and not a silly price. Also had good service - even though it was Valentines Day and there were plenty of customers. We loved the views from our room on the back of the hotel and went on a splendid country walk from the door. No need to get in the car and drive off. The hotel staff photocopied the walk details for us.
If i was to be critical I would agree with others that some aspects of the room could be updated but this had little impact on the pleasure I gained from the stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a valley view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Much Birch
5.6 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#1 of 12 in Hereford
459 reviews
4.8 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#6 of 12 in Hereford
317 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 12 in Hereford
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Travelodge Hereford
Travelodge Hereford
#8 of 12 in Hereford
255 reviews
6.1 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 12 in Hereford
283 reviews
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Hereford Grafton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pilgrim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pilgrim Hotel

Address: Ross Rd., Much Birch, Hereford HR2 8HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford > Much Birch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Much Birch
Price Range: $91 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pilgrim Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Pilgrim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilgrim Hotel Hereford
The Pilgrim Hotel Hereford/Much Birch, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing