We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great weekend”
Review of The Pilgrim Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pilgrim Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Much Birch
Certificate of Excellence
OXFORDSHIRE
1 review
“A great weekend”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

A lovely hotel,the staff very helpful nothing too much trouble.
The room comfortable with amaising views tea and coffee in our room.
Food excellent and plentiful and nicely arrangedwith a choice of specials,bar meals or al a carte
The hotel made a good base for touring this part of the country by car or by foot,with plenty of walking routes.

Room Tip: Ground floor back facing.£10 extra but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROZ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    313
    63
    14
    6
See reviews for
65
584
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Staff were very friendly and helpful, and the food was really excellent - as it always is! This was not our first time at the hotel - and it won't be our last! A truly great hotel which provides excellent value money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This Country House Hotel certainly lives up to its motto..!

It is ideally situated not only for guests who relish the outdoor life – fishing, golf, hiking, sightseeing – but also those who prefer the quiet life – conversation over dinner and/or drinks in the conservatory and/or restaurant, taking in the spectacular rural views. Residents wishing to indulge in retail therapy are well catered-for by the surrounding towns, e.g. Hay-on-Wye, Ledbury, Monmouth, Ross-on-Wye, and the cities of Hereford, Gloucester (centred on The Quays) and Worcester.

The common areas – bar, lounge, reception etc – are comfortably furnished, setting the tone for a relaxing stay. Guests’ dress tends towards the “smart casual”, so there is no need to “dress to impress”, which can make a welcome change from more formal venues.

We booked at short notice (having to attend a funeral) for a 5-day stay in early December, and direct, in accordance with the owner’s advice given on this website, thereby obtaining a lower rate than that available via several agencies.

We were allocated Room No.7 on the ground floor, overlooking the extensive gardens. It was pleasantly appointed, with an armchair, chest-of-drawers – on which stood the TV; thankfully, this is at eye-level when the viewer is seated; no getting a pain in the neck craning to see a screen mounted high on a wall! - table and chair, separate stand equipped with kettle etc for hot-drink-making – coffee, tea etc sachets were replaced daily -, and adequate space for luggage etc; the en-suite was windowless, but the extractor-fan worked well, and a full range of toiletries was available; towels could be changed daily. The twin beds’ mattresses and pillows were soft, and blankets supplied to supplement the coverlets and duvets.

Unfortunately, the residents occupying the Room(s) above were in party mood, (two nights running; it must have been some party!) and we could hear them talking, and walking, into the early hours.

We had lunched and dined at the Hotel on previous occasions, and again the high standard of catering did not disappoint; we particularly appreciate the vegetarian dishes on offer, and the willingness of the chefs and their staff to provide vegan fare – without either making a fuss, or making us feel that we are being “difficult” or “odd”!

We have nothing but praise for the efficiency and friendliness of the Hotel’s hard-working staff. They dealt effectively and quickly with the only problem which arose, central-heating malfunction, by supplying us with a convector heater.

Our only very minor quibble was, that sachets of drinking-chocolate were not supplied, which we felt would have complemented the delectable home-made shortbread biscuits excellently, however, we bought hot chocolate drinks from the bar, and these were accompanied by fabulous truffles; well worth it, at twice the price!

As other reviewers have observed, if it were not for the slightly dated décor and equipment, eg. hairdryers, in parts of the Hotel, it would undoubtedly deserve an higher (than its current 3*) AA rating. Nonetheless, in our experience of Hotels in the area, The Pilgrim cannot be bettered in terms of value-for-money, and the standard of service provided by the Hotel’s owner and staff rivals the best anywhere.

Room Tip: Book an upper floor Room if staying in the older part of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhereverIhangmyhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This charming hotel has everything you need...no flat screen tv in the bar,no juke box in the corner. But instead a real relaxing bar and restaurant,with everything you expect. perfect.
Geniune and very freindly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a rooom in front of the hotel overlooking the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cornboy495040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Weekend stay in a family room. Well exceeded our expectations. Room spacious light and airy with beautiful view. Comfortable beds with an extra heater in case cold . Welcome homemade shortbread was nice touch. Breakfast was excellent with great choice and nothing too much trouble. Staff really helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My wife and I had to attend a funeral in Hereford on the 17/12/12 and we decided to stay the night rather than return to Worthing that day.
Rather than stay in a Travelodge we used " laterooms .com"and decided on The Pilgrim at Much Birch. We only wanted to get our heads down for the night and were not expecting very much in view of the short notice. We were most impressed with the room,which had a view over the Golden Valley, food and staff and overall ambience of the privately owned hotel.

Room Tip: Seek advice from staff. Rear rooms look over the Golden Valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

bargain break a mighty deal bargain £49.00 for 2 nights . room 2 with fantastic views of country side very clean and comfortable decor creams and browns , fluffy white towels rooms cleaned following day tea , coffee replenished . excellant and friendly staff breakfast was cooked to order everything hot no faults found at all . a real gem of a hotel . decided to have meal in the restaurant steak melted in your mouth the port and stilton sauce we ordered was unbelievable pan fried mushrooms melted in your mouth . A first class meal the chef is definitly the best . we don t want to go home . waiting for another deal to come up and this hotel will be visited by us again .

Room Tip: ask for room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 504115Karen45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Much Birch
5.6 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 12 in Hereford
450 reviews
4.8 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#7 of 12 in Hereford
312 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 12 in Hereford
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Travelodge Hereford
Travelodge Hereford
#8 of 12 in Hereford
246 reviews
4.2 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
203 reviews
6.1 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 12 in Hereford
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pilgrim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pilgrim Hotel

Property: The Pilgrim Hotel
Address: Ross Rd., Much Birch, Hereford HR2 8HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford > Much Birch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Much Birch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pilgrim Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Pilgrim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilgrim Hotel Hereford
The Pilgrim Hotel Hereford/Much Birch, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing