We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Hereford”
Review of The Pilgrim Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pilgrim Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Much Birch
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough, Kent
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Trip to Hereford”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Booked into this excellent Hotel having read previous reviews. Can confirm that it is an excellent venue to explore Herefordshire and South Wales. The Hotel is very well situated and comfortable, with the rooms and food on offer of very good quality. We took our dog and she was made very welcome. Plenty of room for her early morning and evening walks in the Hotel grounds. Scenery in this area is outstanding, spoilt only by the terrible weather that caused us to shorten our stay. We will visit this Hotel and area again

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if taking a dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottbrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    305
    62
    14
    5
See reviews for
65
568
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Pilgrim Hotel is a lovely place to stay, we were greeted by friendly staff throughout our stay. Our room was exceptionally clean and roomy, and the views of the beautiful country side was amasing. We didn't want to come home. The resturant meals were of excellent standard, and the waitress and waiters were fantastic at there job. Very polite and obliging at all times. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a relaxing, peaceful and friendly break. We can't wait to go back. I would like to add there was a murder mystery night going on, on the saturday night and it did not effect the standard of service we had even though we were not involved in it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ursulla69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Staff helpful but hotel needs a real overhaul. Food passable but breakfast doesn't start until 7.30 am and reception closes at 9, so remember to take your key Traffic into Hereford is variable and one day it took me over an hour.. Most of the rooms have aids in the bathroom which was bit strange and the addition of portable heaters in each room may mean that it is not as warm as it could be..

Room Tip: Make sure that you get a room at the back as the hotel is on the A49
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodiemum3_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveBoyle, Owner at The Pilgrim Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Firstly many thanks from myself and the staff to "Foodiemum" for taking the time to review. her stay at the Hotel. We appreciate feedback in all forms and have customer comment forms in all rooms to encourage it. We would like to thank Tripadvisor for the opportunity to respond.

Whilst accepting that the review was an honest assessment of the stay at the Hotel, neither the staff or myself can accept it's accuracy and wish to correct one or two misconceptions, which may impact on future guest decision making.

Firstly, reception does not close at 9pm, that is simply the time when the reception team leave. The 2 or sometimes 3 staff [trained on reception duties] remaining on the premises will lock the main door and officially close reception at around 10.30.

Secondly, the journey into Hereford is a very comfortable 15 to 20 minutes. There is a bus stop opposite the hotel and the trip takes 21 minutes, even allowing for stops. Accident and emergency excepted, 25 minutes is a peak hour journey time to the city.

Thirdly, the stand alone heaters in bedrooms are to allow guests who may feel the cold more than others, to have extra warmth at times when the central heating isn't on. Not that the Hotel is in any way insufficiently heated. We do not have the heating on late mornings/ early afternoons or after midnight as the Hotel bedrooms are empty and we would be wasting expensive energy.

Finally, the marking down of the cleanliness of the hotel is completely incomprehensible to us. We have a scrupulous cleaning regime and a history of "spotless" comments from previous guests. This review is well wide of the mark I'm afraid.

There was a further comment in the heading which was not expanded upon about the Hotel needing a facelift. That may well be the reviewers opinion, but we offer a clean, well manged hotel with friendly staff and stunning views. The fact that it is impossible to either raise Hotel prices or obtain money from Banks to fund any improvements is not a localised issue limited to our Hotel, there are businesses throughout the country having to "mend and make do" rather than undertake large scale refurbishments.

Once again thanks to both "Foodiemum" and Tripadvisor for giving us the opportunity to discuss our friendly and well staffed Country House Hotel in the beautiful Wye Valley.

Steve Boyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed here at end of August. The Pilgrim is almost exactly half way between Ross and Hereford - a perfect base for exploring. The staff here were all welcoming and extremely kind and helpful. The decked area is a fabulous place to enjoy a drink and a good book on a sunny afternoon and the food at the hotel is excellent. We had a "garden room" which overlooks the front of the property. As this is on a main road, there can be a fair amount of traffic noise - ask for a "valley room", which overlooks the rear of the property. The room was exceptionally clean and well apointed. Would visit agian!

Room Tip: As for a "valley room", which overlooks the rear of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My daughter and i went for a couple of days break, our room was fine with a view over the countryside, beds quite comfy. The food there is exceptionally good, worth eating in the hotel. We enjoyed our stay we went to Hereford and Ross on Wye, and up to Symmonds Yat, to see the views from there. it was all very relaxing.

Room Tip: We asked for a view of countryside, i think my daughter may have paid bit more for that.but it was g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvia012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This friendly hotel has beautiful countryside views to the rear of the building and has easy access on the A49 from Hereford or Ross-on-Wye. Our garden view room was a good size with a very comfortable bed and good hospitality tray, including some lovely biscuits. Bathroom on the small size but adequate. We slept well in a quiet room with lovely views of the garden and black mountains in the distance. The bar, restaurant and conservatory were comfortably furnished and choices of meals and drinks very good. The breakfasts and lunches were delicious and having warm sunny weather too it was most pleasant to sit in the garden. This is one of the nicest hotels we've stayed in in this area and would recommend.

Room Tip: Book a room at the rear of the hotel to enjoy the countryside views. There are a few stairs to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renef804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portishead
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We enjoyed a most relaxing stay for two nights, the food was very good and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The weather was just perfect as we sat outside and enjoyed the sun and views The room was clean. We were on the first floor and enjoyed the extensive views of Herefordshire. We do intend to visit again..

Room Tip: Room at the back have extensive views of the countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liverbirdportishead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Much Birch
5.6 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 12 in Hereford
430 reviews
4.8 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#7 of 12 in Hereford
293 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 12 in Hereford
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 12 in Hereford
279 reviews
4.2 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
175 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stretton Sugwas
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pilgrim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pilgrim Hotel

Property: The Pilgrim Hotel
Address: Ross Rd., Much Birch, Hereford HR2 8HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford > Much Birch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Much Birch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pilgrim Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Pilgrim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilgrim Hotel Hereford
The Pilgrim Hotel Hereford/Much Birch, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing