We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Valley Restaurant

Valley Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Much Birch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $22
Cuisines: Indian, British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Fresh food with a view! The Valley Restaurant at the Pilgrim Hotel is a great place for a quick snack or the important family celebration. Our award winning chefs use local produce to make fresh to order dishes to tempt any palate.There are 2 course lunch specials available every day and a choice of Bar Meal or A la Carte menus in the evening. Special diets, including Gluten Free are catered for on all menus. Booking is advisable, especially for Sunday lunch and groups. Come and taste the difference and enjoy the stunning views over the Black Mountains and Brecon Beacons. Now open all day 365 days a year for breakfast, morning coffee, lunch, afternoon teas and dinner. Each one with superb views!!
Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Local Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel and ate in the restaurant on 2 nights and 3 breakfasts. Consistently good food, with the souffles & local trout being my personal favourites, my partner loved the Hereford beef. Marvellous experience

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    32
    11
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at the hotel where the restaurant is located.
Views from the conservatory are beautiful.
Food and drink very good value for money and service excellet

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gill561027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great steak not sure about the faggots”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is probably one of the best restaurants within driving distance of Hereford. I had two dinners there on a business trip staying at the Pilgrim Hotel. The menu offers a few pub standards and curries, a curry of the day, and a pie of the day. Well I like I a nice pie, but on my first night it was Cottage Pie, which I don't really consider a proper pie because it doesn't have a pastry crust, so I decided to postpone my pie-eating to day two and had a sirloin - good meat cooked just as I had asked, so no problems there. Second night the pie of the day was......... Cottage again, but they had faggots as a special, so I thought I'd give it a try. To be fair I hadn't tasted them since I was a child, and I'd forgotten just how powerfully offaly they could be. Didn't enjoy them much, but I ate them and I blame myself for being overly experimental. Though it's called a restaurant, it's actually a bar with a restaurant adjoining, and they don't mind whether you eat in the bar or the more formal restaurant - it's all the same menu.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely VIew”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had Saturday evening meal at the hotels restruarant with friends and had a table for 4 int he Conservatory and arrived just in time to see the stunning views over the countryside before the sun set

The choice of meals are very good with bar and set menus available. I had the Lamb which was served with red rice and trimmings and additional vegs, the men had steaks, choice of Sirlon, rump and rib eye competitively priced We had drinks and two courses and one greedy had puds £130 so very good value

The hotel has available bar menu and you can sit and have a drink in a very cosy atmosphere There is a very large car park but we accessed the entrance via steps down and although we do not have mobility issues they were vvery deep and could be difficult in heels and wet or icy conditions so there is possibly another entrance

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spectacular food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Lovely presentation, great service and the best rib eye streak I have ever tasted! You won't go hungry with the serving sizes either, plenty for all pallets.

Helpful?
1 Thank waylander_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valley Restaurant also viewed

Much Birch, Hereford
Hereford, Herefordshire
 
Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 
Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 

Been to Valley Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing