We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stopping place for lunch”
Review of Valley Restaurant

Valley Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Much Birch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Fresh food with a view! The Valley Restaurant at the Pilgrim Hotel is a great place for a quick snack or the important family celebration. Our award winning chefs use local produce to make fresh to order dishes to tempt any palate.There are 2 course lunch specials available every day and a choice of Bar Meal or A la Carte menus in the evening. Special diets, including Gluten Free are catered for on all menus. Booking is advisable, especially for Sunday lunch and groups. Come and taste the difference and enjoy the stunning views over the Black Mountains and Brecon Beacons. Now open all day 365 days a year for breakfast, morning coffee, lunch, afternoon teas and dinner. Each one with superb views!!
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
371 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Excellent stopping place for lunch”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Today on a journey back from Hereford we stopped at this hotel for lunch, cheerful greeting from the receptionist on arrival. Smiling and very pleasant barmaid quickly served our drinks and it was especially good to find Bass bitter on draught, very pleasant pint. We ordered the beef together with a round of brie, bacon and cranberry sandwiches which were served with a very fresh salad and crisps. Excellent sandwiches with very generous fillings both had been clearly freshly made.
Whilst at the hotel we studied the other menus and would most certainly recommend this restaurant to other travellers.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    34
    12
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent food and excellent view to go with”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Service is very prompt, very friendly staff who explain all the menu and special meal of the day. Food is very fresh and tasty, a great variety to choose from. Delicious desserts. Good collection of drinks at the bar and very reasonable prices.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank deepjuillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pleasant.”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had a family meal here in the evening. There were seven of us.
The hotel is in beautiful countryside and we sat in the conservatory to dine. It was lovely and clean.
The food was good, nicely presented and good portion sizes. Prices were reasonable.
The service is the only thing that let the evening down, I wouldn't say it was poor but we had to look for staff to serve drinks, then had to ask for menus and we had to ask staff to clear the table between courses. Staff were polite, they were just young and not quite 'on the ball'
We would return here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peggyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Could do better - has plenty of potential”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Considering the location and service, the food was not as good as it could have been.

The hotel is well set, with stunning views over South Herefordshire (it was a very wet day, so we could not see the full rage of views, but we know this area, and you will not be disappointed with this aspect when the summer does appear (maybe).

Staff are friendly and we didn't feel rushed at any time. Food selection is good, but the quality was not as good as the menu suggested. Fish starter was perfectly acceptable, I had the trio of pork for main, taste was good but was over cooked by about 10 minutes. Dessert order was taken, but they did not have enough of one dish to fulfil the order, disappointing as we were a 6.30 sitting and the restaurant was just starting to fill up.

I would return again, but would like this feedback to be considered.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gaylorpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Hungry in Hereford”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Valley restaurant certainly reflects the Indian heritage and background of the chef. A uniquely Indian twist is given to a number of dishes. Not to everyone's taste but I found it enjoyable. As is common with so many restaurants nowadays, and I am not criticising it, the menu tends to be the same for most of the week unless some other locally sourced ingredients run out. The wine list is adequate as I said in my review of the hotel the house wines ran out and were not available in full until the last night of my stay.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TempusLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valley Restaurant also viewed

Much Birch, Hereford
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
 
Hereford, Herefordshire
Harewood End, Ross-on-Wye
 
Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 

Been to Valley Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing