We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of tlc”
Review of Mains Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thornhill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mains Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“In need of tlc”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here one night with partner , site is a little bit dull lacks life , we where put in wigwam 9 , no curtain on door for privacy had to put towel over door , fridge rusty along bottom , heater all scored and chipped , floor of wigwam in need of varnishing , camp kitchen no tea towels , or scissors , only 3 men's toilets for whole camp no urinals , only stayed for one night don't know how anyone could survive a week , suppose staying at gorsebank wigwams made these seem poor , its like night and day between the two , wouldn't stay here again , its little touches like electric and free showers that make the diffrence , also a microwave in each wigwam would be good and a couple of. cleaning cloths and spray to tidy before you leave .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank paulgeddes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    29
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
54
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I was at mains farm wigwams for a 4 night stay and i could not have asked for more!! the wigwams are great fun especially for kids my son loved it aswell as the play park across the road ( i found the road to be very quiet). The site is set in a great location there is plenty to be done that is only a short journey in the car or bus. I found that shower and toilet blocks to be spotless clean and could not fault them.The staff are very friendly and great with the kids. I would definately recommend mains farm wigwams for family holidays and dont forget your marshmallows for roasting on the fire!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Wow!! My first experience staying in wigwam and I wasn't left feeling disappointed. I decided to book up a 2 night stay with my partner and my little girl. My partner not being a keen fan of camping abs loved it. The wigwam was amazing very cosy and warm. It had a kettle, heater and fridge. Although there was three of us sharing it could have easily have fitted another 2 people. The facilties on the site showers and outside toilet/sink with drinking water was very clean and spotless. It also has a shared kitchen with cookers and microwave, cowboy themed dining area, again very clean. The staff very helpful and friendly. If you do decide to go here you must set up a campfire and have some toasted mashmallows. I wish I had stayed a little longer so I could have had a BBQ in the sunshine. I would highly recommend this little gem of a place to family and friends. Can't wait to go back :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cazzadodds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

my fiancee and myself booked two nights glamping here and we had a blast. we have been glamping in a few places and have found this the best
If you have never beenglamping/camping there is no point in you doing a review.

We found the wardens very freindly. The site had everything we wanted and more. The village was very peaceful, so if you like benidorm...this aint for you.

Theres two pubs in the village, both of them play off each other saying there pubs the best but to be honest both are the same. good prices for food and drinks. Frendly management, staff and customers.

The weather wasnt the best but that didnt spoil anything.

We will be back

Room Tip: Stirling is worth a visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falmouth
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The campsite is ideally situated on the edge of Thornhill Village which makes it easy walking distance to shops/pub, etc. The Lion & Unicorn pub is very welcoming with good food. At the end of June we were the only campers using the field which was a bonus (probably because of the foul weather). The facilities on the field amounted to toilets and wash hand basins with warm water. There are no electric points. For showers you had to walk up the lane into the main farm where the Wigwams were situated. This is not really ideal, though the showers were good (20p for around 5mins), still no electric points. We telephoned about 20mins prior to arriving and went straight to the reception area but there was no-one around. Waited for a while before phoning the number again. Ended up putting the tent up at our own discretion.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grizzy121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire,Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had a lovely 2 night stay at the wigwams. The staff were all lovely and pleasant, the facilities were all clean and met all our needs perfectly, the wigwams were excellent and the kids loved them. The location was perfect, sitting on the village outskirts with pub/restaurant, shop and great play park all on the doorstep. Ideally located for Blair Drummond Safari Park, Briarlands Farm Park, and all the Stirling attractions. Value for money is excellent for the experience alone. We would definitely recommend Mains Farm Wigwams!

Room Tip: Make sure and buy one of the wood packs for the fire pit as it adds to the experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My partner & I had booked in for 1 night as we were booked in for a Segway session at a farm close by. The weather was horrendous and as a result our session was cancelled as the track was flooded. I emailed mains farm and asked if i could cancel our booking as there wasnt much reason for us to come through anymore but it went ignored so we decided to just go along anyway.

Not much to do in that type of weather so we walked to the local pub The Lion & The Unicorn and had some dinner & drinks which was nice.

The Wigwam itself was nice & cost, and dry! I didnt realise it came equipped with a fridge so that was a nice surprise. We found the toilets to be fine but did not use the shower areas (we went home for that).

I would return but would hope for better weather!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kylieclyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornhill
5.1 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
658 reviews
22.6 mi away
Loch Tay Highland Lodges
0.0 mi away
Lion & Unicorn Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Wellsfield Farm Holiday Lodges
0.2 mi away
The Braes B&B
The Braes B&B
#2 of 3 in Thornhill
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mains Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mains Farm

Property: Mains Farm
Address: Kippen Rd, Thornhill, Stirling FK8 3QR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling > Thornhill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Thornhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camping, Wigwams and Lux Wigwams. Great fun for all the Family!!On the outskirts of Thornhill, Stirling with a panoramic view over the Carse of Stirling to the Fintry Hills, Mains Farm Wigwams lies on the gateway to the New Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park - a world famous area of lochs, glens and hills with breathtaking scenic beauty. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing