We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Re: Stay Away”

Prairie Inn Neighbourhood Pub
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Re: Stay Away”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

You mean your drinking and driving buddy? He got a DUI? That would probably mean that he got arrested for impaired driving because he was drunk and should never ever have got behind the wheel of a vehicle. The Pub did exactly what they should do and that's report anyone who drinks and drives. My guess is that he was obviously drunk, the staff knew it, probably called for a cab but you both refused and drove off. Tough darts pal, welcome to BC. The only ones who should stay away are you and your idiot friend before you kill a local resident who knows that the PI is a great place to hang out. I only hope that your DUI stops you from coming back. Sour grapes or just plain immaturity to post your review.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ImSorryWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    50
    21
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Pub Grub”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

If you've just hiked the trails in John Dean Provincial Park, this is a pleasant stop for a brew and or some lunch. There's plenty of beer to choose from and a reasonable variety of cross cultural menu items. We had burritos, one beff with curly fries, one chicken with mex fries. The burritos were well spiced, packed with yummies, and ginormous. We both left the fries. If you going to consume calories, they had better be good. These were not: very ho hum. Staff are very friendly and the atmosphere is very much neighbourhood pub. We'll certainly ATP in again but will like split/share a mains order for lunch. We had Sleeman's Honey Brown Ale and a Rickert's Red. While they advertise Victoria' s Phillips beer, they only had Blue Buck. They really need to get some Twisted Oak Scoth Ale, Red, or Bock on the list!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“always predictable good food great service reasonable prices”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

eat hear at least one a month or more..good food ,great menu,real good prompt service,not waiting 20min for food,always tasty,drink choices many &reasonably priced,always look forward to a meal never been disapointed...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redline41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Unexpected delight”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

So out for a ride on a gorgeous sunny day, we had set off on our adventure not sure where it was going to take us. We found ourselves unexpectedly at the Praire Inn in Saanich/Brentwood area. We thought what the heck been a very long time since I was there so in we went. Pleasant atmosphere, really friendly staff and it was busy which was a surprise for the time of day. First thing we noticed was the great price on the daily specials board and for the NY cheescake with berries only $4.95. We placed our order my friend ordered a ruben with fries and I a monti cristo with fries. As we waited and watched others order come out we were amazed at the protion sizes. Like a step back in time. When ours arrived, and it was not a long wait, it was perfectly cooked. All ingredients fresh and real. By real I mean the ham was not that rolled thinly sliced crap nor was the turkey. Nope the real macoy. Same with the ruben. AND stuffed to the max. gravy tasted like it was made from scratch. Only thing we weren't sure of was the fries but I argued that they couldn't be the frozen kind when everything else is fresh and real. We had to take half of our orders home with us as we barely made it thru the first half of our sandwiches. Dang if the sandwich wasn't good cold. All that for $12 a plate. Will we return ABSOLUTELY! Well done Prairie Inn great food, good value for the dollar, and really friendly staff. We'll be back. :-)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Throttlebandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Good for with good service”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Huge menu selection of good tasting pub food. Nice staff also. Great value for the money and they don't mind if you share!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stefan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prairie Inn Neighbourhood Pub also viewed

Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Prairie Inn Neighbourhood Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing