We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place on a sunny day,sipping patio punch”
Review of Blue's Bayou Cafe

Blue's Bayou Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, American, Cajun & Creole, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
212 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great place on a sunny day,sipping patio punch”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have dined here many times over the past 10 years and just had another good meal on the deck on a Saturday afternoon. It is a frequent choice for summer birthday dinners - great Jambalaya (your choice of small or large), patio punch (like sangria), crab cakes, mousse etc.The menu is not huge but has variety. Prices a bit high and service good or better depending on the visit. The New Orleans decor is fun. The deck provides good view of the marina (down near the Mill Bay ferry).It is close to the Butchart Gardens and a better place to eat instead of the gardens. I only wish it was open on Sunday too but the owners/operators deserve a day off.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    59
    29
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A great place to chill out”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We have been going to this delightfully funky restaurant for a number of years. It's open all year round, except for the month of January, and Sundays. It is at it's best once the outside deck is open, where you can sit over the water, look at the boats in the adjacent marina, and out the over the inlet. The menu doesn't change much, but is all good. Our favourites are the Bayou Salad, with prawns, or, on cooler days, the Gumbo - they have a daily Po-Boy and, if it's the oyster one, grab it. As the title says - a great place to chill out and soak up the west coast atmosphere - with a Cajun flavour!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paradox98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dinner in the sunshine on the deck!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Blue's Bayou is one of my favorite restaurants ... especially in the summer time! So when we had a week of gorgeous sunshine in May, we made a reservation. It was a beautiful evening - sitting out on the deck, overlooking the water, enjoying the sun! Our server was great, and the food was delicious as always. My favorite is always the Bayou Chicken - "pecan encrusted chicken breast and mango chutney cream cheese wrapped in phyllo pastry". I had it with mashed potatoes and a nice assortment of fresh veggies. Absolutely delicious! My husband enjoyed the Jambalaya - spicy, and very tasty!
We will definitely be back! Thank you to everyone at Blue's Bayou! :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ambience++ and great food!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Loved this place!!...much better food than I actually had in New Orleans. couldn't ask for a more gorgeous setting and the funky decor is perfect! A perfect place to go after the Butchart gardens or well worth a visit on its own!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blanche1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Intimate spot”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I like finding out of the way restaurants that survive on their reputation. This is one of those. Right down on the waterfront in Brentwood and not on any main thoroughfare, you almost have to get directions to this place. The parking area is a block away from the restaurant. You'd walk by it if you weren't looking for it. You go own some stairs and into the rustic building built out over the water's edge. Inside, the walls are covered with interesting Cajun, New Orleans paraphernalia...Zydeco music playing in the background. Only a few tables, with a great view of the boats moored nearby. Interesting menu with a variety of ingredients make for a tasty experience and this place did not disappoint. This was our first time to Brentwood Bay, and were amazed at the great restaurants....worth the drive out from Victoria.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue's Bayou Cafe also viewed

Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Blue's Bayou Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing