We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food in lovely garden setting”

Blue Poppy Restaurant
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoy the seasonal Blue Poppy Restaurant with its conservatory atmosphere where light pours in through skylights and large windows facing the gardens. Our lunch and dinner menus change seasonally to take advantage of fresh local ingredients. For children, we have a menu with perennial favourites. See The Butchart Gardens website for menus and details.
phoenix
Level Contributor
132 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Good food in lovely garden setting”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We were looking for something other than snack food while touring Butchart Gardens. We found the Blue Poppy inside the Italian garden area, It is a nice big room with windows open to the beautiful outdoors. The service is cafeteria but the food is much better tasting than normal cafeteria food. Several in our group ordered different items---roasted chicken, pulled pork, salads. We were all very satisfied with our choices. Coffee was unlimited. There is also a very good ice cream/gelato walk-up service close to this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    78
    45
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good food in a garden setting”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

this restaurant is in the Butchart Gardens in Victoria BC very clean restaurant with many food choices it's a cafeteria setting but with nicely spaced tables ,free refills on coffee and nice scenery to look at while you eat the clam chowder and chicken soup were delicious and the big thick slices of garlic toast so tasty

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank roxy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Conservatory Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The Blue Poppy Restaurant in the Butchart Gardens provides a relaxed setting for lunch or dinner. The conservatory design allows light to pour in through skylights and large windows that face the gardens. It's wonderful to look out at the beauty of the gardens. Local ingredients enhance the excellent menu choices. We enjoyed the opportunity to pause for some refreshments and then continue our exploration of the gardens.

My husband enjoyed the Chicken Curry Wrap - roasted chicken breast with carrots and sprouts in a light curry dressing wrapped in a tomato tortilla. I had the Ham and Swiss Sandwich - smoked Black Forest ham and Swiss cheese, pesto mayonnaise, green leaf lettuce on house-made ciabatta bread. Both were delicious.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PassportOfficio2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Place to "Pop In" While At Butchart”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Blue Poppy is handily placed, within the garden, for visitors to grab a bite, which you may want to do, as all the walking can make you hungry. It's clean, well organised and the food selection is pretty good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Tx
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Expensive, good lunch”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Lunch spot in gardens. Nice open covered terrace, cafeteria style with some pre made sandwiches, a few hot items. Food pricey but better than expected. Good spot for lunch during trip to gardens. Did not eat at formal dining room to compare.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BaseballKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Poppy Restaurant also viewed

Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Blue Poppy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing