We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location outside of Victoria”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Beautiful location outside of Victoria”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

If you don't mind being a half hour outside of Victoria and prefer a more relaxed atmosphere with water views, Brentwood Bay is the place for you. With rooms overlooking the bay, the view was great and the rooms spacious. While a little difficult to find it is well worth searching out. The staff was very helpful and the marina on site is a plus. Easy access to Butchart Gardens via the ferry at the marina.
The on site restaurant was great for breakfast and dinner.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Al O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha R, General Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review Al O. We are exactly as you say, a retreat from it all with stunning views on the side. Or perhaps, the views are our feature! Either way, we are thrilled you searched out our wonderful little spot on the Bay and we do hope you search us out again.

All the best,
Natasha Richardson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    135
    31
    28
    19
See reviews for
68
479
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We wanted a special anniversary vacation on the Gulf Islands, but couldn't find the right place. Then we remembered eating lunch at the stunningly scenic Brentwood Bay Resort near Victoria and I checked it out. The weekend package was around $400 a night and we booked four nights for a special treat.

Our room was a "Wow!" experience the moment we walked in. The comfy bed is simply the best and all the features and amenities are nice. The jet tub was a favorite of my wife.

Every detail was superb. The new building is really cool architecture. The rooms, pub and restaurant look out at a peaceful views of Todd Inlet and sunsets behind the hills.

We love art and this hotel is packed with impressive pieces on every wall.

The grounds are lovely and if you like to walk like we do, check out the short walks to several hidden (tiny) beaches in the neighborhood. One day we walked to town and enjoyed fruit being sold at a local farm.

We are long time fans of Butchart Gardens and go there almost every year. What a nice change to be only ten minutes away -- instead of the half hour drive, sometimes in traffic, back and forth to Victoria.

The only slight drawback is that we stayed on a couple really hot days in August and the air conditioner is rather noisy.

You really can't go wrong staying here if you are willing to pay the price and I am sure that you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Consider walking in the neighborhood. We discovered walking paths around the waterfront and enjoyed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garjog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha R, General Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you garjog1, you have really captured what we do at Brentwood Bay Resort and what the Sannich Peninsula has to offer. We are thrilled you had such a wonderful time and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

All the best,
Natasha Richardson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

The rooms were good size and very comfortable with a balcony overlooking the marina. The service reasonably good. Also, the pub had. Excellent food and drink, with a very friendly waitstaff. The hotel is only a 25 mile ride to Victoria. More importantly, it is only a very few miles from Butchgart Gardens, the most impressive. It is what all gardens are measured. We were on the last few days our honeymoon, and it was a perfect spot for it. Do not bother with the spa services. They have obvious neophytes and incompetent, but the prices are for perfection.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Great views of the bay. The food in the hotel cafeteria was outstanding!!! Cannot remember the last time I had sushi this fresh and flavorful. Even the rice was cooked to perfection. Definitely a place to stay when visiting victoria. I never write reviews but this place is worth my time to write about.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha R, General Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you so much for this absolutely wonderful review L B! It is so funny you call our dining room a cafeteria as we are just in the process of refreshing that space to make it feel less like a cafeteria! Either way, we are thrilled you had such a lovely time and we do hope to see you again very soon.

All the best,
Natasha Richardson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

As two young parents living in the hot central valley of CA, a child-free escape to beautiful Brentwood was a piece of heaven on earth. Our oceanfront room was spacious and luxe with an amazing bathtub and beautiful views of the bay. We both enjoyed massages at the spa. We ate three meals, two at the Seagrille and one at the pub - if you love sushi, the seagrille was delicious. Brentwood is not close to downtown Victoria but if you want a peaceful retreat - I highly recommend.

Room Tip: I would try to get the highest floor for the maximum quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivaviaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha R, General Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
You recent visit it with us does sound heavenly and we are thrilled to hear it! You have described the exact experience we do the best and we look forward to welcoming you as often as you can get away!

All the best,
Natasha Richardson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Brentwood Bay was our Honeymoon Suite. We absolutely loved the views. The room as just right in size and was tastefully decorated to be classic and functional. The soaker tub was an excellent experience and the filtering shades over the floor to ceiling windows were perfect to enjoy the view and have privacy. The wooden decor was a good choice and matched the scenery. The beds were nice and the service great! I would recommend sleeping in, having breakfast on your patio, and lingering for at least a couple of days. One day is not enough, as check out time is 11 (it would be nice if check out time was moved a hour later to noon so one could enjoy the setting). We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HomerWellsSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha R, General Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Congratulations HomerWellsSD! We are thrilled that your recent honeymoon with us was such a wonderful experience. We wish you many years of happiness and joy, and we hope many years of you both visiting us for your romantic getaways.

All the best,
Natasha Richardson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

A lot of pros and cons here. The pros: gorgeous property with incredible views. The place has a rugged yet modern decor and boasts fantastic views and lots of privacy. The restaurant is quite good. The hotel has it's own dock with access to paddle boards and kayaks, which is super convenient. The rooms are very nice, with a private balcony or terrace facing the water. All very nice.
Now, the cons: is it just me, or did everyone else know that Brentwood Bay is in the middle of nowhere? There is no town of Brentwood Bay. It is just a spot on a map. The hotel is 15 miles and a $55 cab ride from downtown Victoria-- sure wish I had realized this before I booked! Ok, that's my bad. But wouldn't you think a deluxe hotel like this, charging what they charge here, would offer some sort of shuttle service to/ from town a few times per day? That would not seem to be too much to ask. Instead, we had to take the city bus which ran on a very irregular schedule and took about 45 minutes each way. (The price was very good, however, only $2.50 each way.)
Other cons: Internet service was way worse than spotty; it hardly worked at all from the room. Ridiculous.
No complimentary water in the room? That doesn't seem right.
The pool was closed for half our stay b/c some kid supposedly vomited. The pool is so tiny that it seemed to us that it could have been drained and refilled in the time they said they needed to correct the Ph levels.
(If I could give this 3.5 stars I would. As I am forced to choose between 3 and 4 stars, my kids succeeded in lobbying me for the 4th star. But just barely.)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha R, General Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for your review Peter Z. We do have a stunning spot on the Sannich Penninsula, which is a beautiful and remote community about 30 minutes away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Victoria. I am very sorry to hear that our location was an issue during your stay. I am also sorry to hear that during your stay we had to close our pool for a few hours as some of our other guests did have an accident. We are always appreciative of everyone's patience during accidents of this nature. We are changing our service provider to correct our WIFI signal and we can appreciate how annoying the spotty service can be at times!

Thank you again for your review and your feedback; and a special thanks to your children for lobbying the four star review:)

All the best,
Natasha Richardson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Central Saanich
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,224 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,743 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 49 in Victoria
3,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Address: 849 Verdier Ave | Brentwood Bay, Central Saanich, British Columbia V8M 1C5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Central Saanich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on pristine Brentwood Bay, in the heart of Victoria's wine country, minutes from Butchart Gardens and with easy access to Downtown Victoria and the Airport, this boutique hotel is a luxury resort with contemporary west coast flair. Each elegant OceanSuite features king size beds, spa-like bathrooms, romantic fireplaces and stunning ocean views. Simple, intimate and relaxing… indulge in a true state of bliss at our full-service spa and enjoy our on site dining while taking in the beautiful view. We’re not a million miles away, it just feels like it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brentwood Bay Hotel Brentwood Bay
Brentwood Bay Resort And Spa
Brentwood Bay Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing