We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and it was just perfect! The rooms were set up really well with amazing views and were immaculately clean. We went to the restaurant twice and it was great, really good food and the service was excellent. If your looking for a great place to stay look no further.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lmccbrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha R, General Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review Lmccband. We are thrilled to read about the stay and do hope you come to visit us again soon!

All the best,
Natasha Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    128
    26
    23
    16
See reviews for
60
460
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sidney BC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We recently booked a diner for 8 at the pub and was told an automatic 20% gratuity would apply. ITS A PUB When my told me wife told me about it I asked her to cancel we would go else where. I pay a gratuity on service not privilege. After canceling the pub called and said that the manager would waive the mandatory gratuity. We attended that evening. Something first to note is the Lodge also has a 4* restaurant and they serve both with a very small kitchen. The meals were good but the timing of them was very off. It took up to 30 minutes before appetizer arrived and then 5 minutes later some of the main coarse came out. Still only just getting started on the appetizer. Had to ask for the meal to be returned to the kitchen because table was to small for both. Once done we had our main coarse returned to the table. Now some have completed their meal. So even after this 20 min period I am now eating my main almost finished and some of the others still don't have food. We found the pub under staffed, crowded very load as it filled up. When we went to pay only one of there tills worked and there is now a line up. They didn't have pay at the table. This is not our first bad experience here and It had been years since trying it again. We where not pleased with the over all experiences we have had here many times and unless as I get older and loose my mind this one is my last time eating here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha R, General Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your review Rj M. I am so sorry your recent experience in our Pub was so unsatisfactory. We certainly do want to offer the same level of service to all our guests throughout our entire establishment and it would appear we have let you down. Thank you so much for your feedback.

Natasha Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

From the moment we arrived until we left it was pure bliss. The room was fantastic (we stayed in a Deluxe OceanSuite) and even though we were on the ground floor it felt private and safe. The bathtub was huge!! and so relaxing. The service from the front desk was fantastic too.

Upon arrival we were early to check-in but our room was ready so it wasn't a problem. Not only was the room ready but we were escorted to our room and shown around. I don't know if that's the norm in other hotels of this standard but I felt it was a very nice and personal touch.

We didn't use the spa so I can't comment on that. The pool area is heated so it didn't matter that it was a bit chilly outside. We soon warmed up.

The only reason I didn't give 5/5 is because we had dinner in the pub that is attached to the resort. I'm not sure if it's owned by the hotel but if it is then it really lets the side down. Absolutely the worst fish & chips I have ever had. So avoid that one.

I would definitely stay here again and hope to do so in the future. Next time I think we'll try the One Bedroom suites with the hot tub on the balcony. Bliss.

*On a side note: The resort is accessible via public transport, we came from Vancouver on the ferry and had to change buses twice. It's not the most ideal way to travel but can be done for those who don't drive.

Room Tip: They all face the bay, so they're all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennsaidthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha R, General Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your review enfwa24. We are so glad to learn that you had such a wonderful time with us. All our guests who arrive receive a glass of bubbling local cider and an escort to their room. It is a very special touch and we are so proud of. Thank you for your feedback about our Pub. The Pub is a part of the resort and we of course want to offer the same level of experience to our Pub guests as our hotel guests. I'm so sorry the fish and chips were such a let down.

We look forward to welcoming you back, and yes, the One Bedroom Suites are certainly a wonderful way to stay! When you are here next, we hope you give our Pub another try and we will do our best not to disappoint!

All the best,
Natasha Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, British Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

We had a wonderful time when we stayed at Brentwood Bay Resort. We had a room on the top floor and it was perfect with a wonderful view. The staff were friendly and attentive to our needs. We ate dinner at the on-site pub and found the food to be delicious and the service friendly. Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank island_is_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha R, General Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
island_is_home, we are so glad your visit to our beautiful resort was so wonderful! We do have such a special spot on this wonderful Island. We hope you can visit us again soon and enjoy the fabulous view.

All the best,
Natasha Richardson,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Went to this hotel on a last minute whim. What a great choice. The experience started at the front desk with a glass of local sparkling cider and a tour of our room by front desk person. Room lovely, view awesome. Booked a table in the restaurant but found it busy and loud for the mood we were in so the waiter sent our meal to our room. That was fantastic. Every request was met.will be back for sure. We didn't have any problem with hot tub temp.
The only thing to comment on is lousy tv channels.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha R, General Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your review kimdebbie28. We are so glad you decided on to visit us on a last minute whim and had such a wonderful time! Thank you for the feedback about our television channels. We are just in the process of switching our service provider. We hope you come to visit us again soon!

All the best,
Natasha Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
344 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We booked this place when it was one of the only ones we could find to attend the Brentwood crew regatta that would let us take our dog. (They have one room designated for people with dogs) We found it to be a real gem. The staff was courteous and extraordinarily helpful, even helping us find a nearby free electric car charger. The setting is a little odd--the place can almost not be seen from the residential street near the ferry dock. But once inside it is beautiful. Serene. Creative NW Timberframe architecture. Modern rooms with comfortable beds. A lovely small outdoor pool and spa. A nice walk to a quiet semi-private small beach and marina. (Not the kind of beach you would swim in, but very beautiful.) And best of all, they loved our dog.

We ate at the restaurant three times in two days--rare for us. But the food was outstanding We loved the white wine / garlic broth for the mussels, and the Ciopinno was outstanding.

Room Tip: Rom 101 for your dog!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CWR01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha R, General Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your review CWR01! We are so glad we were able to have you and your dog visit us. We do have this very special little spot tucked away in the Sannich Peninsula. We hope you are able to visit us again soon and enjoy the mussels and the view!

All the best,
Natasha Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

My family and I went sea kayaking for a couple of hours around the bay. Beautiful scenery, beautiful place to explore with lots of sea creatures to see and we had excellent service from Matt, who was attentive and knowledgeable about the area and the sea creatures there :) Would highly recommend it :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha R, General Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your review Joanne W! We are so glad to read about your wonderful kayaking experience. Matt, our Marina Manager, is so knowledgeable and passionate about this area, we are truly lucky to have him!

We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
Natasha Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Central Saanich
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,465 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Address: 849 Verdier Ave | Brentwood Bay, Central Saanich, British Columbia V8M 1C5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Central Saanich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on pristine Brentwood Bay, in the heart of Victoria's wine country, minutes from Butchart Gardens and with easy access to Downtown Victoria and the Airport, this boutique hotel is a 5-star luxury resort with contemporary west coast flair. Each elegant Ocean Suite features king beds, spa-like bathrooms, romantic fireplaces and stunning ocean views. Simple, intimate and relaxing… indulge in a true state of bliss at Vancouver Island’s finest spa & culinary resort destination. We’re not a million miles away, it just feels like it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brentwood Bay Hotel Brentwood Bay
Brentwood Bay Resort And Spa
Brentwood Bay Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing