We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
Certificate of Excellence
Sooke, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

I would highly recommend this establishment. The entire experience was outstanding. The fine detail and thought put into this resort followed with amazing customer service, excellent.
We can not wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelTammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha R, General Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
We cannot wait to welcome you again MichaelTammy! Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are thrilled you had such a delightful time.

Until next time,

Natasha Richardson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    128
    26
    23
    16
See reviews for
60
460
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

I just stayed here for two nights and was incredibly impressed. Gina at the front desk was sweet and went above and beyond. The room was gorgeous with floor to vaulted ceiling views of the bay and the washroom was very spa like. The room was very clean and well equipped with everything you could need or want. I ordered room service a number of times and was always thrilled with not only the great food but the warm and friendly service. I felt like very welcome and appreciated. Also, The dive shop just steps away at the Marina is the best ever! Alisa is so incredibly knowledgeable and she turned this trip into something even more amazing. I recommend to anyone to go say "hi" to her - you be amazed with her warmth and enthusiasm for the local diving community.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalgaryTraveljunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha R, General Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your glowing compliments CalgaryTraveljunkies! I am looking forward to sharing your review with the team, especially Gina and Alisa! They will both be so thrilled to read your wonderful feedback. We hope you will coming back to visit us very soon!

All the best,
Natasha Richardson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We spent two nights at this beautiful resort and were very impressed with the quality of the service and surroundings - from the sparkling wine provided at check in, floor to ceiling windows overlooking the marina and bay, tasteful art and high quality linens and amenities to the extensive wine list and tasty sushi. Therapeutic massage at the spa was outstanding and we enjoyed the outdoor hot tub and pool. The place is very clean and the staff very accommodating. We enjoyed two great dinners at the Seagrille. At the risk of sounding picky, I would have to say that breakfast was just OK, food and service wise and we didn't eat breakfast there the second morning.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lozzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha R, General Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us Iozzz! Thank you for the wonderful compliments. We are very proud of our stunning resort and work hard to ensure we offer our guests exceptional service and standards through every moment of their stay. Your comments about breakfast are not picky at all. Thank you for letting us know. Breakfast is definitely an area we are working on improving. We hope you will be back to join us again very soon and please do let us know how we are doing!

Thank you again,

Natasha Richardson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Absolutely beautiful resort. Worth the $$$ if you want to be removed from the city an looking for peace and quiet and relaxation. Loved the spa and the outdoor pool. Pub inside the hotel was awesome. There are spa resorts on the Island here that could learn a thing or two about what exceptional first class service looks like.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashleyplecas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha R, General Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review Ashleyplecas! We are very proud of our beautiful property and do our very best to offer our guests service that matches that beauty. We are thrilled you had such a wonderful time and look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us very soon!

All the best,
Natasha Richardson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed here for two nights midweek in december. Front desk staff were amazing! offered us sparkling wine upon check in, and escorted us to our room and showed us where everything was. The in room amenites were top notch and so was the view. We stayed in a standard Ocean Suite and it was perfect for us. We ate in the Pub the first night, and the Restaurant the second night and enjoyed both meals. We also enjoyed a couples massage at the spa. We frequent the area quite a bit due to flights, and would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueberrii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha R, General Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
We are so thrilled to read about your recent stay with us Blueberrii. I am so glad you were able to enjoy all of what our beautiful resort has to offer. We hope you always choose to stay with us when you are in the area. We look forward to welcoming you very soon!

All the best,
Natasha Richardson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acapulco, Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

I just sent a detailed email to the resort informing them of the rather rude and dismissive treatment we received around the checkout time and thought I may as well add in a review while I'm at it.
Everything had been fine with our stay until I got a call from front desk asking me if we needed a late checkout time as we were 37 min past 11am (i glanced at the clock then). I admit I wasnt aware that 11am was the checkout time but I had been packing when they called.
I wont get into every little detail but suffice it to say that: a 12 pm time was implemented on us without our say, housekeeping came at exactly 1159am(!) as we were doing the last check around for stuff, etc, and the key was invalid immediately and we couldnt even access the marina and cafe ramp from inside the resort as we wanted to go there for a coffee after we had put the bags in the vehicle.
I must add that I had been booked into a spa massage from 945-1045am and given the tea offering afterwards which I did drink in the spa seating room. I had only gotten back to the room at about 1120am.
I would never have booked the massage at that time had I known that I would be racing back up to quickly shower, change and pack within a 15 min timeframe!
I know I should have been more aware of the exact checkout time but- wow- not even a minute of wiggle room? and this after we had paid for extra spa services?
I also found it bizarre that the spa didnt even mention once that I had a checkout time staring me down the face- I was in a robe covered in oil afterwards- wouldn't they see the problem I may have been setting myself up for?
Within 22 minutes, we had THREE pushes out the door! Talk about feeling unwanted.
Unfortunately, the last taste of our stay left a bitterness and we won't be inclined to go back. Shameful- as it is a lovely resort with great surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha R, General Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your review leanne d. I am very sorry to learn about how your experience with us ended. Your detailed feedback has given us many points, which will be extremely useful as we work towards offering an exemplary experience to every guest who joins us. Our check-in time is 3:00 PM and our housekeeping team has to work very hard to ensure the rooms are cleaned and ready for our arriving guests. When our resort is busy, which is was during your stay, it can be a challenge when our departing guests are enjoying their rooms past our check-out time of 11:00 AM. I am glad to hear we were able to accommodate an extra hour for you, although I really appreciate your feedback about how we handled your extension. We absolutely could have given you a much more seamless experience had we anticipated your needs more. Thank you again for your feedback. I am looking forward to reviewing how we anticipate our guests needs with the team. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to wow you. Please feel free to connect with me directly.

All the best,
Natasha Richardson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

I booked a New Year's Eve at this resort. I stayed at this place once before and had a good experience. However, my experience this time was poor. Bottom of the barrel.

Upon checking in, I asked about the pub and restaurant hours for meal times. I was informed due to the New Year's Eve celebration both facilities have limited access. So my partner and I decided to eat elsewhere.

Around 11 pm, I started to hear the thumping base of club music emanating into my room. At first I thought it was a party going at a house nearby. It was not the neighborhood but the resort pub.

As midnight approach the base sounds from music got worse. I call the front desk and ask how long this thumping music was going to go on. The clerk reply that she was not sure. And that she would see if the manager can turn down the base of the music. The base music selection did not change for another half an hour. My partner and I could not sleep.

First off, I was not warn there would be loud thumping club music at check in and the approximate times it was to be on.

Second upon check out I brought up to the desk front staff of the unpleasant experience I had due to the loud music and trying to sleep, their response was tepid. No amends was made to make up for the poor experience I had. It was just a simple "We are sorry."

Sorry? If you market yourself as a top resort and you do not try to make amends, that is simply not good enough. Other places I stayed at where I had poor experiences, the staff always tried to make amends.

I would not had stayed here if I knew in advance there would be loud thumping club music being played into the wee hours. But most importantly I was not warn in advance at check in, and I was not presented an opportunity to be moved to a room further away to minimize the club music noise coming into my room.

No serious attempt was made to make amends; especially for a resort and spa that markets itself as 4 stars.

Poor experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank josephvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha R, General Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback Josephvictoria. I am so sorry to hear that our New Years events impacted your stay so negatively. The event in the pub does get loud and go past midnight. I do admit that the base was particularly loud this year and we are evaluating who we will invite to entertain our guests in the pub next year. Our Guest Service Agents are usually exceptional at letting guests know when there could be a potential impact on our guests due to an event at the resort, so I am very sorry to hear that we did not provide you with this information at check-in. Please accept my apologies for us not ensuring you were satisfied when you left our Resort. I do hope you will give us another opportunity. Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to visit us again.

All the best,
Natasha Richardson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Central Saanich
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,470 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Address: 849 Verdier Ave | Brentwood Bay, Central Saanich, British Columbia V8M 1C5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Central Saanich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on pristine Brentwood Bay, in the heart of Victoria's wine country, minutes from Butchart Gardens and with easy access to Downtown Victoria and the Airport, this boutique hotel is a 5-star luxury resort with contemporary west coast flair. Each elegant Ocean Suite features king beds, spa-like bathrooms, romantic fireplaces and stunning ocean views. Simple, intimate and relaxing… indulge in a true state of bliss at Vancouver Island’s finest spa & culinary resort destination. We’re not a million miles away, it just feels like it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brentwood Bay Hotel Brentwood Bay
Brentwood Bay Resort And Spa
Brentwood Bay Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing