We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Hotel, terrible service and OK food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2008

The hotel itself is gorgeous and very romantic. It is practically on the water which is also lovely. However it is not 5 star in regard to the food or the service. We cut short our stay there from 5 days to 4 as we felt it was so poor. The staff constantly stood around in huddles talking rather than serving and on a number of occassions we had to go and ask someone for a menu or to serve us. The sushi bar was our best experience as the Chef was excellent and the food lovely. However almost every other meal we had either in the pub or Grille was OK or poor. Although the room was stunning and had lovey touches such as candles it was not serviced daily (until we called and asked as I think we were forgotten) and we also had to request that the mini bar be re-filled. We did complain to the owner who did seem genuinely concerned and sorry and he paid for our dinner on the final night which we appreciated. However, we left having felt that the hotel is extremely over priced and the service terrible.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kittyblueit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (737)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

646 - 652 of 737 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2008

Great hotel; excellent customer service at all levels: front desk, wait staff, housekeeping; noise-free, even fully booked; located outside Victoria, close to Butchart Gardens; perfect retreat for couples; booked through expedia which included free Cont. bkfst; we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank s-s-opks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

A nice place, but they advertise themselves as "five-star" and they're not. For five-star, I'd suggest checking out the Aerie, which isn't too far away.

On the upside, the location is very accessible, just 15 minutes or so from the ferries, right near Butchart Gardens, and 15 minutes from Victoria proper. It's relatively small, which is good, and the people at the front desk are very nice. It's on the water, with easy kayaking, boating, etc.

On the other hand, the views aren't so great -- somewhat obstructed, and of a small harbor, not a spectacular view. And the service is the restaurant, particularly on weekends, was incredibly slow, plus the food was OK but not great.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mosqer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

The is the most amazing hotel! I have nothing bad to say except maybe that its not right IN victoria. But maybe thats a good thing!

The beds were comfortable, the jacuzzi tub amazing and romantic. The service was wonderful, and the spa was great! (we had massages)

The one thing i might warn about is that the jacuzzi tub self cleans, and can be a bit loud and startling! :)

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chita229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2008

My girlfriend and I had the pleasure of staying in Deluxe Rooms on the Second Floor and were extremely happy with the hotel and the rooms (lovely ambience with fireplaces and candles). Washrooms also excellent! The surroundings are very peaceful and leave you with a feeling of being "away from it all". The pool area is very nice as well.

The only suggestions I would have is to dine away from the property. Although the food was not bad it was not notably great either. Service in the pub was quite good, but extremely slow in the breakfast restaurant, even when not busy (and again quality lacked).

Also we spent a large part of one of our days at the spa and while the appearance is of an upper end spa (as well as the prices), I would not say the services were up to snuff. If the pricing was more reasonable I would say give it a try but for the cost my preference would be the Willow Stream Spa in Victoria by a long shot.

All in all a lovely getaway with a friend or as a romantic getaway. I would definitely go back and just venture out a bit more for dining/spa.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank noname36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2008

We stayed at the Brentwood Bay Lodge for a few nights during our honeymoon on Vancouver Island. It is safe to say that it was our favourite place we stayed during our trip - we wished that we could bring the room with us to each of the stops on our journey!

We stayed in the Deluxe Room, which is a step-up from the normal room, but not as nice or as large as the one bedroom. The room was a good size, the bathroom was huge (with a 2 person jetted tub!) and everything was clean and in great condition. The room was also very quiet. Our balcony had a nice view and some good privacy, and we sat out on it every night. We also made nightly use of the fireplace.

During our stay we marvelled at how everything was thought of - there were little touches here and there that made our stay more comfortable and more special.

We ate at the resort's restaurant one evening and while the embiance was lovely, and the view was very nice, our service was slow and the food was not as great as the prices suggested. We didn't go to the pub, but we've heard that it is better than the restaurant. We also did not get a chance to use any of the spa services.

We will definately return to Brentwood Bay Lodge next time we're on the island. The deluxe room was fabulous, and depending on the occasion of our return, we may book the one bedroom because it looks like they have private hottubs.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank vulpecula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2008

It was our second station of our honeymoon. We had an oceansuite room with a nice balcony. The bathroom is very nice, had a large shower and a hot tube. From the hot tube you have a view in the main room and to the main window front. We stayed only two nights.

The seaside grill is very good, and attentive. We had eaten salad for the starter and salmon for the main menu. Both of them were excellent.

On the second day we had a treatment, a couple massage of 80min., at the spa. This was incredible. The massage bench was comfortable as a bed. The light in the room was comfortable and a nice relaxing smell was in the air. With the relaxing music an hands from the masseuse, it was one of the recreative 80 min. we ever had (except recreative time of our own).

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tsb72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Central Saanich
13.3 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,329 reviews
19.0 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
98.6 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
98.7 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
62.3 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
2,257 reviews
115.5 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa

Address: 849 Verdier Ave | Brentwood Bay, Central Saanich, British Columbia V8M 1C5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Central Saanich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
Price Range: $127 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on pristine Brentwood Bay, in the heart of Victoria's wine country, minutes from Butchart Gardens and with easy access to Downtown Victoria and the Airport, this boutique hotel is a luxury resort with contemporary west coast flair. Each elegant OceanSuite features king size beds, spa-like bathrooms, romantic fireplaces and stunning ocean views. Simple, intimate and relaxing… indulge in a true state of bliss at our full-service spa and enjoy our on site dining while taking in the beautiful view. We’re not a million miles away, it just feels like it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brentwood Bay Hotel Brentwood Bay
Brentwood Bay Resort And Spa
Brentwood Bay Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing