We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I was very excited to stay at Brentwood Bay after reading lots of positive reviews but unfortunately my stay wasn't as positive. After staying at other five star hotels, Brentwood Bay Resort in my opinion does not rate as five star. There was only one front desk person that was helpful and very positive, Gina. Anyone else that I came across did not look happy to be there. The rooms were ok but not five star, the bathroom in particular was very small and the lay out was tight. My comforter had a gross stain on it and when we tested the hot tub (with our own strips as we have a hot tub) there was no reading of any sanitation in it. Our server in the SeaGrille seemed like she wasn't happy to be there, although she did come around a little later but honestly the atmosphere did not feel positive. All in all, it was a big disappointment. The most unprofessional part of the whole experience was the second day when I asked if I could check out early with perhaps a lesser penalty on our bill as I was not feeling well. There wasn't any understanding of the situation, not to mention that the manager/supervisor on duty did not even come out to discuss the situation personally.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrBrentwoodBay, Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

I thank you for your review. We are sorry that your stay was shortened because of your early departure and you weren’t able to truly experience all that our beautiful resort has to offer. As a small boutique hotel, we offer an industry standard two day cancellation policy and our cancellation policies are clearly outlined with all our guests at time of booking and online. As a five star property, I can assure you that we are extremely diligent and meticulous regarding cleanliness throughout our property and our fully trained and certified pool technicians maintain our pools and hot tubs 7 days a week 365 days a year as mandated by local health authorities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

448 - 454 of 743 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

Brentwood Bay is quiet with lovely views. All units faced the water and had generous balconies. Rooms were west coast casual and beautiful. Large and comfy! Loved the shower....massage feature. We had a great package deal, worth every penny! Good service...one waitress was particularly welcoming. We stayed 3 days and it was hard to leave. My only complaint was the plastic matress covering which was hot and uncomfortable. This might be a preventive bed bug measure....but kind of spoiled what was a very comfy bed. Other than that...would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveourtbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrBrentwoodBay, Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for highly recommending us and for taking the time to write a review. We're delighted you had the opportunity to enjoy many of our in-suite amenities from the body jetted shower to the water front views and your private balcony. We are pleased that our service staff made you feel especially welcomed while away from home. We look forward to having you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We booked this using a GroupOn after reading the great TA reviews and photos and checking out their website. What an absolute gem! We loved our two-day stay here and were treated so well. The front desk staff is exceptional...Gina and Georgie in particular. The setting is spectacular and the rooms are really georgeous. There is a wonderful feeling of privacy and "calm." All of the little extras really made for a comfortable stay. We appreciated the complimentary glass of champagne at check in, the fresh baked cookies, votive candle and matches, fluffy robes and shower shoes, the in-room Kuerig coffee maker, free in-room wifi access and free calls from our room to anywhere in North America. Our room included breakfast...and these were breakfasts that we will remember for a long time; especially the cheddar herb scones.
The location was also very convenient. Butchart Gardens is 5-10 minutes away, Victoria only about 25 minutes. The resort is also literally right next to the BC Ferry from Brentwood Bay to Mill Bay (make sure you have cash -- they don't take any other form of payment on this little ferry -- @$16 for a car and $7 each for adults.) We really loved our experience here and hope to make a trip back during the fall.

Room Tip: All rooms face the Bay -- all have private balconies. The only advantage to a second floor room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandyceW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrBrentwoodBay, Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased that your stay went well and that you felt our Resort was "gorgeous, an absolute gem and offered you privacy and calm" that you were seeking. I will pass along to Gina and Georgie that you felt that their service was exemplary and we look forward to your visit in the fall!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Unbelievably nice, imagine watching the boats enter the harbour from your indoor jetted tub. Food was excellent, service top notch... Happened to stay here by mistake actually and upon influence of others made the reservation. They do "government rate" as we'll. Space is limited and you'll Ned a rental car to Victoria if you're flying in but otherwise very enjoyable...
Definitely recommend this establishment...

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricky&Vicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrBrentwoodBay, Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

We appreciate your recommendation. All guests staying within our Resort have complimentary parking, wifi, access to our heated out door pool and hot tub, gym and all calls within North America from the comfort of their suite. Taxi's are also available or just across the street is a bus stop. We would also be more then happy to assist with a vehicle rental. Victoria, Sidney, and Saanich are quite spread out with many great things to see and do so, depending on how much time you have, keeping into consideration your method of transportation may be important.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed one night recently and was impressed. Excellent reception - (champagne/chocolates on arrival and escorted to the room). The room was spacious, good tv and all facilities. Pool was outdoors.

Our package included breakfast which was multi-course and more than filling.

All in all, we felt it was an excellent night and will return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davvos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrBrentwoodBay, Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

We’re happy that we met your expectations and that you will be coming back. We truly try to make every guest welcome with a sparkling wine reception and escort to your suite to explain the suites amenities. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at the Lodge overnight, including spa treatments and dinner at the Seagrille restaurant. The resort offers beautiful, well-appointed rooms with a gorgeous view, the spa treatments were some of the best that we've had and dinner was absolutely delicious. Top that off with the friendly service from time of arrival (with sparkling wine and/or water) to departure, and it was everything one could ask for to make a nice getaway. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jens H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrBrentwoodBay, Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

We're thrilled that you’re dining experience; Spa services, service from staff and our Suites were "Top Notch all the Way". Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed recently at the Brentwood Bay resort for a working meeting. The service was fantastic -- attentive without being cloying. Everyone, from the cleaning staff to the front desk, was friendly and helpful.

The setting is beautiful. If you can, upgrade to the suite with the private hot tub. Nothing like sitting in the hot tub, watching the Brentwood Bay ferry pull in... I have to say, it was pretty tough to go into meetings all day! However, the meetings rooms were great, the catering was terrific, and the staff took extremely good care of us.

I wish I could have stayed longer... I will absolutely return, and not on a work trip!

Room Tip: Upgrade for a private hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrBrentwoodBay, Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

We're delighted our Resorts facilities suited your work needs and left you feeling renewed when not at work. I will inform all staff that you felt very well taken car of. We look forward to your next visit, work, or pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Central Saanich
13.3 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 47 in Victoria
1,352 reviews
98.6 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
98.7 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
62.3 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
2,284 reviews
98.3 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
115.5 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa

Address: 849 Verdier Ave | Brentwood Bay, Central Saanich, British Columbia V8M 1C5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Central Saanich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
Price Range: $126 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on pristine Brentwood Bay, in the heart of Victoria's wine country, minutes from Butchart Gardens and with easy access to Downtown Victoria and the Airport, this boutique hotel is a luxury resort with contemporary west coast flair. Each elegant OceanSuite features king size beds, spa-like bathrooms, romantic fireplaces and stunning ocean views. Simple, intimate and relaxing… indulge in a true state of bliss at our full-service spa and enjoy our on site dining while taking in the beautiful view. We’re not a million miles away, it just feels like it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brentwood Bay Hotel Brentwood Bay
Brentwood Bay Resort And Spa
Brentwood Bay Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing