We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brentwood Pub

Brentwood Pub
Reserve with OpenTable
Brentwood Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We liked this place so much we returned...... Twice.

The views are good, the atmosphere is great, the food is great and the service is very friendly. Just about all we could ask for in a pub. Recommend the pizza which is very home made indeed, thin and superb flavour balance - not too cheesy. The fries are pretty good as well, plus the fish. Moules frites were a starter for sharing but I had this as a main course. Just right. If we are in Brentwood again, we will eat here

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    71
    39
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Superb Pub Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

For pub food this is a must. This is totally unlike any pub food that is normally experienced in the UK. Portions are huge, food is freshly cooked and tasty. Excellent value.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CallyEBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Xcellent...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Xcellent...Xcellent...Xcellent...Cold beer with great pub fair including peel and eat shrimp, Fanny Bay oysters, popcorn shrimp and much much more...loved the atmosphere of the place...outdoor patio with heaters and huge fire pit...inside was like an high end ski lodge...we really loved this place and are already planning our next trip there...not much more to say than that...Xcellent!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank G0CanucksG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value, great view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Wanted to have a light meal at the end of the day and our friends suggested this Pub. The view is spectacular, overlooking the ocean. The meals, nicely portioned and very affordable. I had the special at the time, chilli with a caesar salad. Very filling. Our friends had the Fish (Halibut) and Chips and the fish tacos. I tried some...Mmmm good.

I have not "ticked" some of the amenities of the restaurant below, as I don't know whether they offer them or not.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CanadaVicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandon, Oregon
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Looks like the reviews are mixed for this restaurant. I wanted to just add our recent experience, which was positive. We were staying in the area and didn't want a fancy dinner. Our host suggested the pub. It was a good referral for us.
We sat on the deck. The view was nice. The waitress was good. The food was very good. My glass of wine was not great, but I didn't send it back. Also, the glass poured was small and expensive. Go for the beer-better choice.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cabernt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brentwood Pub also viewed

Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Brentwood Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing