We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good comfort food and and great staff”
Review of Sassy's

Sassy's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Okay, fine dining this is not however it's one of the best casual restaurants around. We've been for dinner and brunch and find the brunch type options a bit better than dinner, though it's all good.

Prices are reasonable and the staff is always really friendly.

Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory P, Owner at Sassy's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks very much for such a positive review. I'm glad you enjoy our food and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the kind of place that makes one want to come back before you even leave. The best words to describe it are "down home". The atmosphere is nice and the service is nothing short of great- like the food. Its proximity to Butchart Gardens makes it a natural place to stop when visiting the gardens. They have an extensive menu and it all seems to be good. We were there with a party of about 15 and everybody left happy. It seems that the meatloaf was a big favorite, but I am probably one of the few people in the world who likes liver and onions and they make as good as it gets.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sungron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory P, Owner at Sassy's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Well, gee, thanks a lot! If anything is easy to screw up, it's a table of 15. And we didn't screw up. Thanks for your patronage and positive response. And it's true, we make good liver and onions. Thanks to our long time cook, Shawn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2018

4 of us came in for all you can eat fish and chips Friday. $20 a person not to bad but long wait for food and long wait for the one refill we got. I guess the waitress didn't understand that when we ordered a refill it was for all of us not just 2 of us so we had to wait again, it was getting late so we were done. Decent fish a little under cooked the breading was still a little doughy.

Thank steffandmark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory P, Owner at Sassy's, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2018

Thanks very much for the review. So sorry for the disappointing wait time. This all you can eat fish can sometimes be a bit of a problem in terms of keeping up. But we keep doing it, because people keep coming in. Sorry we disappointed you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2018 via mobile

Excellent restaurant for kids. Great food and staff! This restaurant named after a family member lost to the family owners as a child. Good ma and pa diner with a heart felt background.

Thank ptrshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory P, Owner at Sassy's, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2018

Well this is high praise indeed for us. Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such praise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Not fancy but good food and plenty of it. Located near Butterfly World and Bouchard Gardens.

Turkey dinner was large with leftovers. Desserts aren’t made in house but still tasty. They have daily specials and on Fridays all you can eat fish and chips.

Thank DEEvaluator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory P, Owner at Sassy's, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Sounds like an OK place to go to me. Maybe I'll try it sometime :). Thanks so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sassy's also viewed

Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Sassy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing