We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Afternoon Tea Experience!”

The Dining Room Restaurant - Butchart Gardens
Reserve with OpenTable
The Dining Room Restaurant - Butchart Gardens is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Wallace Drive
Transit: From downtown Victoria, you should take bus #30 or #31, then transfer to bus #75 (at the Royal Oak exchange) which comes right to The Gardens. For BC Transit schedules visit http://www.bctransit.com/regions/vic/?p=1.txt
Description: Open for High Tea only from January 7th to February 28th, 2017. Served from 12pm - 3pm. Reservations recommended. One of two restaurants (the Blue Poppy is the other, more casual style) in the renowned Butchart Gardens. The Dining Room Restaurant is located in the former residence of the Butchart family and is surrounded by gardens. Fresh local ingredients and local wines make for exceptional experiences. Afternoon Tea is served in the warmer months and during the Magic of Christmas season. High Tea during the rest of the year. Patio seating is available during the warmer months. Dining Room reservations can be made on The Butchart Gardens website or via OpenTable.
California, USA
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Wonderful Afternoon Tea Experience!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We came for an afternoon tea, with is a four course experience/extravaganza! The meal and the tea both delicious! Lovely atmosphere, view of the gardens, great service! Can't wait to come again. Reservations highly recommended. Afternoon tea served 12 noon -- 3pm.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aperel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    125
    33
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great Afternoon Tea experience”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

As a visitor from Australia, The Butchart Gardens was high on my list of places to see. So while we were there, it made good sense for us to experience afternoon tea in their Dining Room Restaurant. As reservations are recommended, we made our reservation soon after arriving at the gardens. We were glad that we did, as the Dining Room did seem to fill up quickly. The setting itself is lovely, and from our table we did have a view of the gardens outside. Our server was pleasant and efficient and our food was delicious! At $32.50 per person plus tax, we felt that the afternoon tea was good value, given the large quantity of food provided. I would certainly have afternoon tea there again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnetteB52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“best of the best”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Best dining experience in a long time. Best creme brûlée ever, Elizabeth is an asset to the restaurant. Succulent scallops, followed by a perfectly cooked rack of lamb complemented with crisp fresh vegetables. Very good wine list and after dinner drinks.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank andersonglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Good Meal - Great Dining Experience”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This tea room is situated in a Victorian cottage in Butchart Gardens. The food was good but slightly overpriced. The chicken in my chicken salad was only average but others in the party rated theirs higher. However, the food is not the reason to dine here -- it is the experience. In Butchart Gardens the experience is wonderful.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CoolPapaGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Was hoping For better.”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Was Hoping for better quality and presentation for the beautiful setting and price, since this was the better eatery at the garden.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tbirdhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dining Room Restaurant - Butchart Gardens also viewed

Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to The Dining Room Restaurant - Butchart Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing