We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Afternoon Tea Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dining Room Restaurant - Butchart Gardens

The Dining Room Restaurant - Butchart Gardens
Reserve with OpenTable
The Dining Room Restaurant - Butchart Gardens is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $37
Cuisines: Canadian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Wallace Drive
Transit: From downtown Victoria, you should take bus #30 or #31, then transfer to bus #75 (at the Royal Oak exchange) which comes right to The Gardens. For BC Transit schedules visit http://www.bctransit.com/regions/vic/?p=1.txt
Description: Open for High Tea only from January 7th to February 28th, 2017. Served from 12pm - 3pm. Reservations recommended. One of two restaurants (the Blue Poppy is the other, more casual style) in the renowned Butchart Gardens. The Dining Room Restaurant is located in the former residence of the Butchart family and is surrounded by gardens. Fresh local ingredients and local wines make for exceptional experiences. Afternoon Tea is served in the warmer months and during the Magic of Christmas season. High Tea during the rest of the year. Patio seating is available during the warmer months. Dining Room reservations can be made on The Butchart Gardens website or via OpenTable.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
576 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 528 helpful votes
“Excellent Afternoon Tea Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I ate here while visiting Butchart Gardens during our vacation in Victoria. I had planned ahead of time to have tea here due to the great reviews and the experience of eating in the garden setting. I called and made a reservation in the morning for 2:30 seating. We had the afternoon tea at a cost of $29.95 each. We each had our own pot of tea and the tea began with a dish of berry trifle followed by a three tiered tray which included a ginger scone with jam and devonshire cream, sausage roll, mini quiche, little sandwiches of egg salad, smoked salmon, ham salad, cucumber w/cream cheese and chicken salad. The sweet tray included a slice of poppy seed orange cake, marzipan wrapped cake slice, a slice of chocolate brandy napoleon, a French meringue and a small candy truffle. There was one of everything for us to each have. All of the food was delicious as well as the tea. The setting in the dining room was quiet, relaxed and very pleasant. Our table looked out on an expansive green lawn flanked by hedges of flowers and the Italian garden/courtyard on one side. It was a wonderful experience to have the fun of afternoon tea in such beautiful surroundings. The service was very good and attentive. The day we spent at Butchart Gardens was the highlight of our vacation as we had the great experience of viewing the amazing gardens as well as enjoying the fun afternoon tea!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MSWMom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    100
    31
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
99 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Experience, Great Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We took visiting family to this restaurant because of its reputation as a local attraction as well as for the food. We found a restaurant which delivered excellent food, superb service in a spectacular setting. It is unfortunate that one must purchase a ticket to enter the Gardens since this limits our trips to this restaurant to "special" occasions. If you plan on visiting the Gardens, consider visiting the restaurant for either afternoon tea or dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DBIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food with an even better view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Food was terrific and unique. View was incredible! Service was not so great. Wait staff was just too busy to offer proper service to match the meal. They were jammed. Get reservations! Still, well worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lawre3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dining like a princess”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Amazing food and presentation. Everything was perfect! Loved the food selection. The view we had was spectacular. It was so relaxing. Then we went back and saw the gardens again in the evening when it was cooler. .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pattienns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“High Tea in BC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great place to have afternoon/high tea or dinner. In particular, I like the Harbour FLY 'N DINE flight to Butchart Gardens which includes:
- A seaplane sightseeing flight from Victoria Harbour to the Butchart Gardens’ private dock.

- A great three-course dinner in the gardens at the Dining Room Restaurant.

- And, after dinner, hour-long walk through the floodlit gardens before a limousine takes you back to Victoria.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dining Room Restaurant - Butchart Gardens also viewed

Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to The Dining Room Restaurant - Butchart Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing