We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Afternoon Tea”

The Dining Room Restaurant - Butchart Gardens
Reserve with OpenTable
The Dining Room Restaurant - Butchart Gardens is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $37
Cuisines: Canadian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Wallace Drive
Transit: From downtown Victoria, you should take bus #30 or #31, then transfer to bus #75 (at the Royal Oak exchange) which comes right to The Gardens. For BC Transit schedules visit http://www.bctransit.com/regions/vic/?p=1.txt
Description: Open for High Tea only from January 7th to February 28th, 2017. Served from 12pm - 3pm. Reservations recommended. One of two restaurants (the Blue Poppy is the other, more casual style) in the renowned Butchart Gardens. The Dining Room Restaurant is located in the former residence of the Butchart family and is surrounded by gardens. Fresh local ingredients and local wines make for exceptional experiences. Afternoon Tea is served in the warmer months and during the Magic of Christmas season. High Tea during the rest of the year. Patio seating is available during the warmer months. Dining Room reservations can be made on The Butchart Gardens website or via OpenTable.
Fort Smith
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

After reading reviews, we elected to reserve a spot for afternoon tea at the gardens instead of the Empress. We had an absolutely fabulous experience. The service, the atmosphere and the food and tea and wine were all exceptional. We met someone later who had had tea at both locations during that week and they quickly said that the garden's tea was far superior to the Empress. Since the cost was about half the cost at Empress, there was no doubt we made the right choice. We couldn't eat all the food, but our server told us up front that the sweets were the easiest to pack up so we left those for last at his recommendation. We especially loved the scones, the sausage rolls and the quiche - and of course all of the sweets.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmcalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    103
    31
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
vancouver, bc
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tea - quantity over quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were disappointed with the high tea - Perhaps due to the fact we booked near the end of the serving time, the sandwiches were dry and so sparingly filled we had trouble discerning which was which! The scone was dry and hard as well. On this day at least, it did not compare to the food served at the Empress tea service. But there was a generous amount of food so men would not go hungry and ladies will probably not finish it all. Ask for a table in the main room, the back rooms are not as romantic!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chardonnaywine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Don't Miss Lunch in the Gardens Restaurant while on the Site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We visited the Butchart Gardens recently not knowing the restaurant was a "must do". While we were on the tour we struck up a conversation with a nice man from Portland Oregon who said he was a regular visitor and that we should not leave without having lunch at the Restaurant.
We called on our cell and made reservations as he also said they usually were very busy. It turned out to be very true indeed. We arrived at the restaraunt a little early but were taken immediately to our table that had a beautiful view of the so called "Private Gardens" of the estate. Our server was very attentive and suggested a few excellent choices. We shared the best Ceaser Salad I have ever had as an appetizer. We followed that with a Shrimp Salad sandwich served on a large Croissant that was out of this world and a muhroom flatbread dish that was very, very good. The restaurant had both outside and inside tables. It was warm and humid the day we visited and we ate inside but many prefered the immersion experience of eating right above the flowers in the private gardens. I heartly recommend trying it while you are there. Note! They also offer "Afternoon Tea" at your table if you wish it. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Speck411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

A lovely dinner at this restaurant was the perfect way to end our tour of the beautiful gardens. The menu is short, but comprehensive enough to suit anyone - including vegetarians. Our server was attentive and informed; friendly, but not in our faces. Reservations are a must, and if you want a table outside on the patio, be sure to ask ahead of time. Food was excellent. Portions were just right. Quality and presentation was superb. Price was good, considering the venue and type of food. Four of us dined, with a cocktail and shared a bottle of wine. The bill was just under $400 including an 18% tip. Reasonable. Best advice - if it's a Saturday evening, tour the gardens, have dinner, then go for the amazing fireworks that start at 10 PM.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jasperdoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“What a place to end a visit in the Gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Fantastic dining experience, Great choice of wine. Super food, cooked perfectly. Again, like the gardens, a bit pricey, but it's a place to go.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dining Room Restaurant - Butchart Gardens also viewed

Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to The Dining Room Restaurant - Butchart Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing