We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service! Well done!”
Review of Cafe Zanzibar

Cafe Zanzibar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saanichton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service! Well done!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was a Christmas luncheon for our CFUW charitable group. The food and service were great. We wanted a resonable price, as we like our money to go to the scholarships and bursaries for which we fundraise. Toni worked with us to provide appealing prices, while not compromising service and quality.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    58
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What a Find!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Driving around the Brentwood Bay (Victoria) area, we decided to grab some lunch. We stopped and asked some locals where to go and the unanimous answer was "The Zanzibar", so we took their advice. It's kind of a funky looking place from the outside, and surprisingly, it continued the them inside...nothing fancy, but clean and inviting. You don't often find North African cuisine, especially in a small town so we gave it a try. I had the Sahbi Lamb burger...a spiced lamb patty with apricot relish and Minted Mayo....absolutely excellent and a great choice for any lamb lover. Prices were not cheap, yet reasonable for a specialty restaurant such as this. After looking at the dinner menu, we decided to return for dinner.. It was a Tuesday and when we phoned, they were completely booked for the evening. A great combination of interesting menu items and great tasting food apparently is working for them in this location. We'll be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
224 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, decent food, pricey”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I went out for dinner here with my husband and daughter. We made reservations which was good as it was quite busy when we arrived. The service from start to finish was friendly and professional but the food was extremely slow in arriving. The menu is relatively small but eclectic and original. I found lots of choice. I didn't think the prices were high when looking at the menu however I could see why the other reviewers noted this when the dishes arrived. They were extremely small portions. Usually in other restaurants, small portions are associated in my mind with superior quality. The food was quite tasty but not gourmet or exceptional - there seemed no reason to justify the prices. The wine by the glass on the other hand did seem very reasonably priced for the quality and quantity served. Lots of atmosphere but it is odd to have to go outside to access the washrooms. Overall it was good but since it is out of our way, we probably won't be rushing back for another visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sixtysix66_66_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great vibe, good food, but seems to be inconsistent”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I'm glad I didn't read the more recent reviews before we went, because I was looking forward to eating here based on earlier reviews. And, overall, we were not disappointed. I would have preferred to go for breakfast or lunch, but it ended up being dinner. Luckily, we had a reservation - it was very busy. This however added to the overall atmosphere and did not seem to create too much of a problem for our server. The food was very good (Lamb Shanks and a Vegetable Stack special of the day) -- about what I'd expect for a nice "cafe". Pricey - perhaps - but, so are most places around Victoria. We'll definitely go back and I just hope that next time we don't end up on the low end of the roller coaster...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ricki-in-BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
“Raw chicken for lunch”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Went to Zanzibar for a staff lunch. Ordered a chicken and bacon panini. A couple bits in I realized how could the sandwich was, and that there was blood coming from the chicken.

Never coming back - raw chicken is a deal breaker.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Zanzibar also viewed

Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Cafe Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing