We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kid Approved”

Victoria Butterfly Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.93*
and up
Victoria Kayaking and Butterfly Gardens Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A Vibrant Jungle Experience. A unique opportunity to experience the beauty and curiosity of a tropical jungle up close. Meet our family with surprises at every turn. You’ll encounter tortoises, large iguanas, poison dart frogs, free flying tropical birds and more. Enjoy tropical fish, ducks, flamingos and koi fish in our serene pond and stream circulated by a stunning waterfall. Thousands of tropical butterflies (up to 70 species) fly through our large facilities the size of almost 3 basketball courts. Stroll through and marvel at our lush gardens including tropical flowers, carnivorous plants and fruits of the world. Wander in our newest Exhibit, the Insectarium, full of impressive insects & invertebrates from around the world. Your jungle adventure awaits.
parker, co
Level Contributor
105 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Kid Approved”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Visiting Victoria, we took a day trip on Sunday to visit the Saanich area, and the kiddoes definitely wanted to stop here, more so than Butchart Gardens(less walking, cuter bugs).

It isn't cheap but they offer a family discount. It's a combo small botanical gardens, butterfly paradise, and fishpond/flamingo hangout. The staff are very informative, and there are a ton butterflies. They show them in different stages of growth. Very colorful, great pictures and my wife and children just spent a ton of time here.

Good size gift shop(hard to get the kids out), restaurant across the road which we didn't try, and it's on the way to the Gardens- easy to find.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mckParker_Co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicBG, General Manager at Victoria Butterfly Gardens, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hello mckParker_Co

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit and that the kids had such a good time. We hope that the next time you are in town you will stop in again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    260
    83
    14
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Interesting but pricey”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Was able to Groupon this and cut costs. Still...it's pricey. Excellent facility, although it is small. Great butterfly collection. The poisonous froga were also interesting. Worth visiting.

Helpful?
Thank FreqravelerSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicBG, General Manager at Victoria Butterfly Gardens, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hello FreqravelerSteve

Thank you for the review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the gardens. We try our best to provide excellent value for the admission we charge our guests. We are continually trying to improve our facility by accepting new animal donations and rescues. This allows us to diversify our offering to you. I hope that you had enough time to see all that we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
394 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“An attraction to see if your visiting Butchart Gardens”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

A small enclosed tropical garden with a koi pond and a couple of flamingos and a few butterflies flying around (expected to see more for the price of admission). What was unique about this attraction is they had gigantic caterpillars..that was pretty cool....the flamingos were pretty cool also.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicBG, General Manager at Victoria Butterfly Gardens, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hello Mark H

Thank you for the review. I am sorry that you did not feel we had as many things to see as you would have expected. I am a little concerned that perhaps you did not see everything we have to offer on your recent visit.

You mentioned that all you saw was koi, flamingos and a few butterflies. I am concerned, as you somehow must have missed the 9 tortoises of 2 varieties, the geckos, poison dart frogs, parrots and tropical birds, a 5ft long iguana, turtles, ducks and thousands of butterflies plus so much more. I invite you to try us again and this time I would recommend you take the complimentary tour to make the most out of your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“loved it even more the 2nd time round”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

A treasure of a place to go on a cool cloudy day. It is a subtropical paradise. Lovely plants, warmth and colours mimicing the tropics. Fascinating butterflies, birds and displays. Love it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank bettybookends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicBG, General Manager at Victoria Butterfly Gardens, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Hello Bettybookends

Thank you for the wonderful review. With this being your second visit to the gardens and as a local we are so happy that you found us to be a worthwhile experience. Since you visited we now have had a 5' Iguana donated to us, so hopefully this gives you a reason to come back a third time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Small but worth it”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Go to the butterfly gardens on the way to Butchart Gardens. It is small and I would not drive out there from Victoria just for the butterfly's. However, wouldn't have wanted to miss it. A butterfly landed on my hand and head. What good luck!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicBG, General Manager at Victoria Butterfly Gardens, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hello Marie G

Thank you for the excellent review. Having a butterfly land on your head is definitely good luck! So many people try to have that same experience and it does not happen to everyone. Congratulations and maybe you could buy me a lottery ticket as you seem to have the lucky touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victoria Butterfly Gardens also viewed

Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Victoria Butterfly Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing