We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very unique attraction!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria Butterfly Gardens

Victoria Butterfly Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$61.08*
and up
Victoria Kayaking and Butterfly Gardens Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Victoria Butterfly Gardens offers a rare opportunity to experience a true tropical jungle in the best part of Canada. Victoria Butterfly Gardens is home to exotic butterflies, tropical ducks, stunning flamingos, rare tropical birds, Chameleons, Geckos, Poison dart Frogs, Tree Frogs, Sulcata and Red Footed Tortoises and giant Koi swimming in the stream and pond.Located just 5 minutes from the famed Butchart Gardens, Victoria Butterfly Gardens is warm and aromatic. The Gardens’ feature over 200 species of orchids, other stunning blooms and thousands of tropical plants, including foods of the world and carnivorous plant displays. This carefully planned combination of trees, bushes, vines and creepers is a balanced jungle-like eco-system that flourishes without the use of herbicides and pesticides. Guided tours are offered daily at no extra charge. These tours will optimize your jungle experiences as you discover the hidden gems within the Gardens.With a chance to shop our uniquely themed gift shop and winner of the 2010 Eco Star award, this is an environmentally friendly adventure that you will remember forever. Open daily except for December 25th, December 26th and January 1st.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Very unique attraction!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

I wasn't sure what to expect from the Butterfly Gardens, as we saw a couple of recent, negative reviews on TripAdvisor, but upon entering the Gardens with our two children we were instantly amazed! Ignore the negative reviews!! This place is WILD!! There were butterflies everywhere and many other birds and animals too. It was very educational for our children, as we saw the entire lifecycle of the butterfly and were able to hunt through the gardens for butterfly eggs and caterpillars on the plants. There was a little plant there that pretends to die when you touch it, but comes back to life within minutes! We watched a butterfly emerge from it's pupa! If you love nature or beauty even just a little, I highly recommend you visit this phenomenal and unique attraction!
Definitely take your camera as there are many wonderful photo opportunities! The Butterfly Gardens is top of our list for a future visit!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peashes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicBG, General Manager at Victoria Butterfly Gardens, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hello Peashes

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad to hear that you found our jungle to be to your liking. The plant you mentioned in your review is called a Mimosa plant. It is very interesting to experience it first hand. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    250
    79
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wrangell, Alaska
Level Contributor
179 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Waste of money!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

This was the worst butterfly garden I've ever attended. It was a total waste of $30! It felt dirty and there were hardly any butterflies.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank dnkpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicBG, General Manager at Victoria Butterfly Gardens, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hello dnkpowell
Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to read your comments regarding our attraction. As for there being few butterflies, I can assure you that at the moment we have between 3500-4000 in the gardens. We have been experiencing a very strange weather pattern this winter which has produced less UV light than normal and this has meant very little flight.

This pattern has finally changed and we are now experiencing much better flight and this will continue to improve as each day gets more UV light and longer daylight hours.

As for the gardens looking dirty I would like to discuss that further with you. If you would like to discuss your visit with me please send me an email to info@butterflygardens.com. We take everyone's opinion very seriously and wish to create an attraction that will be more than worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What Has Happened?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

This venue was wonderful place to take children and an a photographers delight but something has happened. On visiting recently, all the vegetation has been severely cut back plus there are no small birds only a few parrots. Add to this I only spotted one butterfly flying, one perched on a leaf and two dead butterflies. Right now it is not good value or worth a visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patricia916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicBG, General Manager at Victoria Butterfly Gardens, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Hello Patricia916

I am very sorry that you did not feel that your visit was a worthwhile experience. I would like to address some the comments you made in order for you and everyone to better understand our experience.

The Victoria Butterfly Gardens has undergone a major renovation where we removed our 20 year old roof and replaced it with a new Poly-carbonate roof. In order to accomplish this we had to close our facility for approximately 8 weeks. This renovation has had a number of positive impacts. It has made us more energy efficient, reduced our carbon footprint, improved the sight lines in the gardens by allowing us to remove posts and beams that are no longer required.

Every January we go through a major pruning in order to keep our jungle in a health state. While this does mean that our vegetation does not have the same look as it does the rest of the year this is a necessary part of having a healthy environment. Your last post for Victoria Butterfly Gardens was in October of 2012, at that time of the year, we would not have done our pruning and so I agree the look of the gardens is very different. If we had not done the pruning in January of 2012 you would not have had the great experience that you gave 5 out of 5 in your last review.

As for the butterflies, it is important to note that while we do our best, nature is not something we are able to control. At this point we have rebuilt our butterfly population up to 2/3 of the usual population, we can not make them fly as much as we would like. This is due to the daylight, UV hours and strength, heat and air pressure. You must keep in mind we are doing our best to simulate nature, not alter it.

As for the birds in the gardens. I am not sure why you did not see very many as we have 30 different species. They are all free flying and like to sometimes play hide and seek but as for small birds we have 8 Chinese Button Quail, 15 finches, plus 2 eclectus, a macaw, blue crowned Conure, flamingos and other parrots. Added to this are the Koi and Goldfish, tortoises, turtles, ducks and our new saltwater fish tank.

Our hope is that you will give us another try and hopefully we can regain your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Need Sunshine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We visited Butterfly Gardens last year and as the sun was shining there were lots of beautiful butterflies everywhere - some of the colours are amazing. The plants and trees give an atmosphere of what I would imagine to be similar to a rain forest. Could be a bit scary for anyone afraid of butterflies. Well worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicBG, General Manager at Victoria Butterfly Gardens, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hello Joan M

Thank you for the review of Victoria Butterfly Gardens. We are thrilled that your visit was such a positive one. Our goal to make sure that every person finds value and joy in what we offer. In your case, it seems we have fulfilled that goal. Thank you for sharing your review and we hope you will come back and visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Will do again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We had a 4 hour layover on our flight and were lucky enough to make it to see butterfly gardens. (15 min taxi ride either way) It was a cloudy day so unfortunately the butterfly's werent doing much, but we still got to see 5 or 6 species (and one even landed on me) and were not disappointed. There were also many birds and other creatures to see and the tropical garden was wonderful and calming to sit in. The staff were very courteous and the area was kept clean both in the gardens and up front. Im excited for the next opportunity to visit and will do so again! Thanks for the great layover on our flight!

Helpful?
Thank Kalyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicBG, General Manager at Victoria Butterfly Gardens, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hello Kalyn S

Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We are so glad we were able to help you find something to do on your layover. It is always great to read that we have helped someone to enjoy their time in Victoria, even if it is just a short visit. We look forward to your next visit and hopefully it will be for a longer visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victoria Butterfly Gardens also viewed

Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Victoria Butterfly Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing