We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth an hour, kids will love it”

Victoria Butterfly Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$71.56*
and up
Victoria Kayaking and Butterfly Gardens Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A Vibrant Jungle Experience. A unique opportunity to experience the beauty and curiosity of a tropical jungle up close. Meet our family with surprises at every turn. You’ll encounter tortoises, large iguanas, poison dart frogs, free flying tropical birds and more. Enjoy tropical fish, ducks, flamingos and koi fish in our serene pond and stream circulated by a stunning waterfall. Thousands of tropical butterflies (up to 70 species) fly through our large facilities the size of almost 3 basketball courts. Stroll through and marvel at our lush gardens including tropical flowers, carnivorous plants and fruits of the world. Wander in our newest Exhibit, the Insectarium, full of impressive insects & invertebrates from around the world. Your jungle adventure awaits.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is not as large as what I was expecting, but was still interesting and colorful. About an hour or so is enough time. We actually spent as much time looking at the small reptiles and flamingos as we did the butterflies. I was expecting there to be so many butterflies that they would land on us, but they were not very active while we're there. It is worth a stop if you have kids or are on your way to Butchart Gardens. Has a nice, but expensive gift shop.

Thank cb714me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicBG, General Manager at Victoria Butterfly Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Hello cb714me

Thank you for the great review. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to the Gardens. It is true we are not huge as we are only 12000sqft, however, we are jam packed with many unique things to see. It is our hope that through our complimentary guided tours, complimentary butterfly ID charts and our host of rescued and donated creatures that we can provide a valuable and unique experience to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (874)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"beautiful butterflies"
in 59 reviews
"koi fish"
in 20 reviews
"life cycle"
in 17 reviews
"poison dart frogs"
in 17 reviews
"butterflies flying"
in 16 reviews
"pink flamingos"
in 16 reviews
"tropical paradise"
in 11 reviews
"gift shop"
in 38 reviews
"worth a stop"
in 12 reviews
"rainy day"
in 24 reviews
"all ages"
in 28 reviews
"great for kids"
in 10 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 14 reviews
"take your time"
in 9 reviews
"parrots"
in 212 reviews
"moths"
in 43 reviews
"plants"
in 73 reviews
Filter

677 - 681 of 874 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

Very interesting visit to see live exotic butterfly's close up and to observe them in the various forms of their lifecycle.

Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicBG, General Manager at Victoria Butterfly Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Hello Steve B

Thank you for the wonderful recommendation. We believe that we are a wonderful educational experience for school groups, tourists and our local population. We are always looking at ways to make our educational programs more fun and interactive. We hope you will come back again the next time you visit Victoria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We visited the Victoria Butterfly Gardens on a rainy day on our trip - and weren't disappointed! So many wonderful butterflies and birds in the tropical setting. Our 10-month old really enjoyed watching the butterflies fluttering around! Make sure to bring a camera - and wear light clothes!

Thank STNiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicBG, General Manager at Victoria Butterfly Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Hello STNiles

I am so glad to hear that we were able to bring some sunshine into your rainy day. We believe that Victoria Butterfly Gardens has an obligation and ability to change a negative into a positive. We seem to have done that for you. We hope the next time you venture across country you will stop in and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed this bonus before going to Butchart Gardens. Nice package! We wish our grandkids could have seen it firsthand. We took alot of photos and video to share, but we watched other children there and how much they were enjoying their visit. A good place for parents to take their children. We enjoyed it as adults. Would suggest going.

Thank PhxAzNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicBG, General Manager at Victoria Butterfly Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Hello PhxAzNative

Thank you for the review and we are glad you enjoyed your visit enough to write about it on tripadvisor. I see that you were unable to bring the grand kids with you on this trip but perhaps next time will be different. There are many kid friendly things to do in our city. We try very hard to earn the respect of all of our guests and we hope that you will come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Not only butterflies but frogs and birds included. You walk in to have butterflies land on your head, where you obviously can't take a picture. so you end up chasing them all over the place and seeing all the delightful sights this butterfly garden has to offer

Thank quwicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicBG, General Manager at Victoria Butterfly Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Hello Quwicken

Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to hear your thoughts of our jungle experience. I would also like to thank you for letting the tripadvisor universe know your thoughts. The more that people share their experiences the better decisions others can make on what to do while in the destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victoria Butterfly Gardens also viewed

Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Victoria Butterfly Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing