We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very fun”

Victoria Butterfly Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$71.56*
and up
Victoria Kayaking and Butterfly Gardens Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A Vibrant Jungle Experience. A unique opportunity to experience the beauty and curiosity of a tropical jungle up close. Meet our family with surprises at every turn. You’ll encounter tortoises, large iguanas, poison dart frogs, free flying tropical birds and more. Enjoy tropical fish, ducks, flamingos and koi fish in our serene pond and stream circulated by a stunning waterfall. Thousands of tropical butterflies (up to 70 species) fly through our large facilities the size of almost 3 basketball courts. Stroll through and marvel at our lush gardens including tropical flowers, carnivorous plants and fruits of the world. Wander in our newest Exhibit, the Insectarium, full of impressive insects & invertebrates from around the world. Your jungle adventure awaits.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Cute little place to experience nature. The butterfly's are gorgeous and they show you the different cocoon stages through the viewing window. The flamingos, koi fish with the turtles was pretty neat. Also there is an exhibit of wild birds in the film area. Very neat place to visit.

Thank Mgriffith150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicBG, General Manager at Victoria Butterfly Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Hello Mgriffith150

Happy New Year!! Thank you for taking the time to let other people know your thoughts regarding your recent visit to the jungle. It sounds like you had a great visit. It is our goal to keep improving our product and we encourage you to come back the next time you are in Victoria and see the differences. Our jungle environment changes on a regular basis as the plant and animal life continually evolve. We are always looking for ways to improve so please do not hesitate to email us with your suggestions. All the best in the new year to you and your family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (874)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"beautiful butterflies"
in 59 reviews
"koi fish"
in 20 reviews
"life cycle"
in 17 reviews
"poison dart frogs"
in 17 reviews
"butterflies flying"
in 16 reviews
"pink flamingos"
in 16 reviews
"tropical paradise"
in 11 reviews
"gift shop"
in 38 reviews
"worth a stop"
in 12 reviews
"rainy day"
in 24 reviews
"all ages"
in 28 reviews
"great for kids"
in 10 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 14 reviews
"take your time"
in 9 reviews
"parrots"
in 212 reviews
"moths"
in 43 reviews
"plants"
in 73 reviews
Filter

712 - 716 of 874 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

The gardens and fantastic, and enjoyable for the entire family! We loved it so much we purchased an annual pass and have been back several times. Don't miss the flamingos and the various carvings around the gardens. There is a hand dryer inside near the exit for warming up your camera lens!

Thank meeko_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicBG, General Manager at Victoria Butterfly Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Hello Meeko_2011

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our Jungle. We are glad that you took advantage of our annual pass. We wish everyone would buy one and considering it is only the cost of one added admission to the gardens it is an incredible deal. 12 months of unlimited visits to the jungle ...all we can say is use it often and we look forward to seeing you there often. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We recently visited the gardens and were pleasantly surprised. The crysallis displays just inside the garden entrance were interesting to watch and see the butterflies hatch. It is very warm inside for the comfort of the creatures inside, so in winter was just perfect to visit. We saw many specimens of butterflies as well as turtles, frogs, geckos, flamingos, fish and birds which added to the enjoyment. Even our teenagers were impressed and we spent a good hour inside going around twice to make sure we saw everything because we managed to visit in a quiet time slot. Would definately recommend to all ages.

Thank alwysluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicBG, General Manager at Victoria Butterfly Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Hello Alwysluv2travel

Thank you very much for your recent review. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to the Gardens. We realize that you came a long distance and we are thrilled that you found it worthwhile and we appreciate that you have shared your thoughts on the gardens with other travellers. Have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

My daughter loved this. However, she is a rambunctious toddler and almost managed to eat one of the butterflies. Keep your little ones on a tight leash.

Thank katey1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicBG, General Manager at Victoria Butterfly Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Hi Katey1010

Thank you for the great review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and your suggestion is great. It is very important to keep all children (young and old) under the watchful eyes of their parents or guardians. Our inhabitants are everywhere and rely on our guests and staff to look out for them. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The butterfly gardens was a great experience and was really cool to see all the butterflies landing on you , would be a great experience for young children ,flamingos are really neat to see so close , pretty reasonable priced too

Thank davidB181803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicBG, General Manager at Victoria Butterfly Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

HI davidB181803

Wow! Thank you for the excellent rating and review. We are always trying to make our Jungle the pride of Victoria! It is reviews like yours that let us know we are on the right track. We are constantly looking for new ideas to make our attraction even better so make sure to come back and see us again the next time you are in town and let us know what you think of the improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victoria Butterfly Gardens also viewed

Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Victoria Butterfly Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing