We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only my home could be as comfy....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If only my home could be as comfy....”
Reviewed February 18, 2007

This is truly a rare find... olde English, tudor style, warm ambiance complete with John III, the dog. This place redefines hotel comfort and reminds me of days gone by, when weary travelers came be horse and stagecoach. The cozy fire in the library is so relaxing, you won't want to go to your room. And when you do, you won't want to leave that either. Then the staff - Shauna, is a pure joy to deal with. You truly have a friend and a home away from home at the Waddling Dog.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank JBToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    63
    31
    15
    12
See reviews for
40
56
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 12, 2005

My fiancee and I stayed at the hotel last night and it truly was a pleasure! John the resident Bassett Hound runs a great little hotel here with his owners. Beautiful rooms - great breakfast in a wonderful library with a fireplace and quiet for a hotel right next to the highway. Close to the airport (5 minutes without traffic). Much nicer than any of the other hotels in the area - highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriola, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2005

I feel like I have found a new treasure. The Waddling Dog Inn (part of the Quality line of hotels) is very convenient. It is right on the Pat Bay Hwy. It is close to the Victoria Ferry, the Victoria Airport, and Butchard Gardens, yet is only a short drive to downtown Victoria.
I was worried that it would be noisy being on the highway. I live on a small Island that is very quiet and nights spent in the city are usually sleepless. I was amazed to find that the Inn was almost as quiet as home.
We had just aquired a new small dog days before the trip and could not leave it home with the animal sitter. The receptionist gave us a ground floor room right next an the exit to the rear of the Inn. There was a lovely fenced dog run there.
A continental breakfast was held in the library in fron of a lovely fire. I had 3 children with me and they all found food to suit them.
One of my children became sick during the night and I was able to run right next door to a convenience store and pick up medicine.
There was a quiet pub and nice little restaurant in this old english style inn. Unfortunately, my children are fussy eaters and the restaurant did not offer the types of foods they will eat. We were able, however, to walk across a highway overpass to a White Spot restaurant right next door.
All in all this Inn impressed me completely and I will be staying there again (even without the dog).

Helpful?
6 Thank eggfrmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2004

I arrived late in the day at the airport, and decided to stay close by and visit the Butchart Gardens (expensive!!!). This hotel met my needs.

The hotel is older, but provided a good value place to spend the evening.

True to the name, there is a waddling dog that wanders around the main floor. I find the acceptance of pets in hotels unusual - it's almost unheard of in Australia (much like pets in National parks - that would never happen in Australia!)

Maybe it's because of that, but I certainly don't want a dog wandering around the dining room at breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2003

Our room was very cute other than a bit of an odor - it almost smelled like a museum! The restaurant was fabulous! Great food and huge portions for a great price. We had better halibut here than at an expensive restaurant on the water in Victoria. The hotel is all non smoking now which is wonderful. We had the chance to take John the basset hound out for a walk in the morning after breakfast - a true highlight! For the price, you definitely can't miss out staying here rather than an expensive hotel by the water!

Helpful?
9 Thank blc612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2003

The Quality Inn Waddling Dog is a cute tudor outside of Victoria. It's about a 15 minute drive into Victoria and 10 minutes to the Butchart gardens. The Inn is a bit dark on the inside, and the lobby tended to get smoky. But the staff was great, the restaurants in the Inn were pretty good. Breakfast was the basic bagel, muffins, cereal option, nothing special. And it's dog friendly :)

Helpful?
6 Thank krstur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Central Saanich
3.7 mi away
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
3.2 mi away
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
10.5 mi away
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#26 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
3.3 mi away
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Central Saanich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Waddling Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Waddling Dog

Property: Quality Inn Waddling Dog
Address: 2476 Mt. Newton Cross Roads, Central Saanich, British Columbia V8M 2B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Central Saanich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Waddling Dog 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Waddling Dog reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Waddling Dog Hotel Saanichton
Quality Inn Saanichton
Saanichton Quality Inn
Waddling Dog Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing