We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a quiet stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn Waddling Dog

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
montreal qc canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a quiet stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2009

We just spent a week in this economy hotel. It is better than I expected for the price. The breakfast room is interesting and the food available is OK. The room is comfortable. (We did not see the dog in the lobby!).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank astrovoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    60
    30
    15
    12
See reviews for
38
54
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2009

This is a fine budget hotel, close to the Victoria Airport. Prices are reasonable. There is a very good restaurant attached to the hotel. But, I do have to comment on this dog that lives in the Lobby. We love dogs, very much so, but the smell of this animal (1 year old bassett hound) when we entered the lobby was very noticeable and not especially pleasant. My wife and I both had the same reaction to the smell - kind of a 'oh gosh, if it smells this bad in the lobby, what is the rest of the place like?" It turns out the rooms were spacious and clean, but the free wifi was not working during our one night visit.

The dog - who seems like a very lovely pet - just needs a bit more bathing and hygiene.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorCalDadPaloAlto_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

Only stayed for one night. Chose this location because of its proximity to both the Butchart Gardens and the Sidney Ferry to Anacortes. The hotel lobby and hallways are a bit dark, however, our room was quite nice. We had a non-smoking room and it was very clean and remarkably different from what I thought I'd find after initially walking into the lobby. The hotel name comes from the generations of bassett hounds associated with the Inn and one was locked-in behind the check-in counter. To the hotel, I would suggest they brighten the lobby area and improve their morning breakfast which was pitiful other than some good carrot muffins provided. You may want to walk across the street to pick up some yogurt to have with your muffin or plan on eating elsewhere. We would have been better off going into Sidney for breakfast. Overall, however, I felt the hotel value was in the room itself. There is a restaurant & bar downstairs which competes for hotel parking depending on the time of day. We had the Friday night Fish & chips special which was pretty good. The restaurant was packed with locals. Overall, it was a good value for the rate charged.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiralou22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2008

This hotel is above average for a Quality Inn...nice-size rooms, friendly staff, and reasonable rates. Downtown Victoria is an easy 20 minute drive away. and the Butchart gardens (must see!) are less than 10 minutes away.

Too bad the puppy was usually asleep:)

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chess_Is_Great
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2008

We stayed here for three nights in June and were delighted with our choice. The rooms are good-sized and have all mod-cons PLUS beams!!
We ate in the restaurant on two nights, which was again excellent value. It's used a lot by locals and that's always a good sign.
You would need a car to stay here but it's very convenient for the Butchart Gardens and only about 20 minutes from Downtown Victoria.
I would recommend thoroughly and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bassettboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2008

Stayed four nights for a mini vacation in Victoria. The hotel is in a good area, off the freeway (no road noise to speak of), close to Butchart, Butterflies, Victoria and the Ferry's. Dog's cute, rooms are clean and decent beds. Only issue was the darkness of the rooms, black Tudor trim with poor lighting. Breakfast buffet was sufficient, hotel restaraunt was very good........we ate there every night by choice.

I'll use the Waddling Dog again for my next Victoria visit.

  • Liked — Convenient location & food
  • Disliked — Dark rooms
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bloomsthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2008

"We stayed one night and were very, very pleased. Very charming and great value for the money. There is a new
little Bassett puppy named John the 4th who is "greeter in training" and he is just precious.

The restaurant and pub are excellent I might add. You do not need to leave the hotel once you check in."

Hotel is very quiet and in case you need to do laundry the Shell station next door offers a very clean laundry facility.

Emily V., Reno, NV

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Central Saanich
3.7 mi away
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
3.2 mi away
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
10.5 mi away
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#28 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
3.3 mi away
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Central Saanich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Waddling Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Waddling Dog

Property: Quality Inn Waddling Dog
Address: 2476 Mt. Newton Cross Roads, Central Saanich, British Columbia V8M 2B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Central Saanich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Waddling Dog 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn Waddling Dog reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Waddling Dog Hotel Saanichton
Quality Inn Saanichton
Saanichton Quality Inn
Waddling Dog Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing