We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice gardens but over-priced”

The Butchart Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$82.54*
and up
Brentwood Bay Kayak Tour and Butchart Gardens Visit
More Info
$60.18*
and up
Butchart Gardens Tour from Victoria
More Info
$241.55*
and up
Full-Day Vancouver to Victoria Tour by Ferry
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: These internationally acclaimed floral display gardens and National Historic Site of Canada started over 100 years ago and remain privately owned by the family. Jennie Butchart wanted to make her husband's depleted limestone quarry look better and the result is the Sunken Garden. Other gardens include the Rose Garden, the Japanese Garden and the Italian Garden. The gardens are meticulously maintained and provide a riot of colour for much of the year. During the summer, special lighting subtly illuminates the gardens, musical entertainment takes place on the Concert Lawn, and there are ten spectacular Saturday night Firework Shows. The Magic of Christmas season also has beautiful lighting and evening entertainment, and an outdoor skating rink. Spring offers hundreds of thousand flowering bulbs and Autumn is the time for dahlias, chrysanthemums and fall colours. The Gardens is open daily, year round.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I was there early July 2010. The gardens are very beautiful and if you love roses it definitely had tons of those. I was excited to see and smell the sweet peas. But the admission price is too high for me. There are so many beautiful flowers in downtown Victoria that you can see for free.

1  Thank lcs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,838)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,030 - 8,034 of 8,838 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2010

Although it was crowded with people, these gardens are the most beautiful display of flowers we have ever seen. Everything was amazingly beautiful (even the trash cans). The cafeteria also had more variety of food (which was excellent). We spent a few hours here on our way from Port Angeles to Vancouver and had a great time (well worth the money).

Thank sdavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Husband and I were at the Gardens Thurs, 7/29. Arrived late in afternoon and missed tour crowds, which was a good thing. But the plants are suffering for lack of rain and are not at their best - also July/August is transition period with many perennial blooms spent. We didn't think it was worth the exorbitant entry fee. We've seen gardens in Portland (roses in Japanese Gardens are awesome) and the grand display at the Biltmore Estate in Asheville, NC, and this place at this time was not comparable. The origin of Butchart Gardens is interesting, but this is not the best time of year nor year to see them. Perhaps if we had been there on Sat night and been able to experience the fireworks, it would have been worth it.

1  Thank jas7273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

No words can describe it - if you're visiting Vancouver, it's well worth making the effort to come over to the island. You'll take the best part of a gigabite worth of pics!

How to get there? If you want to see Victoria as well, fine, come on a tour. If you don't, and just want to spend 4 or 6 hours in these icomparable gardens, it's perfectly practicable by public transport. Take the Skytrain to Bridgeport, then transfer to the bus (half hourly) to Tsawwassen ferry terminal - a $3.75 ($2.50 weekends) ticket covers both. The ferries are about hourly to Swartz Bay (takes 95 mins). You need to time yourself for the 81 bus from Swartz Bay to the gardens as it only runs every 2 hours. All the inf.is on the web. I suggest getting the 9.00 ferry from Tsawwassen, then the 11.00 bus 81 to the gardens. Then leave on the 3.49 or 5.49 bus 81 back to Swartz Bay for the 5.00 or 7.00 ferry back to Tsawwassen. Much of the journey by ferry is scenic as well, passing many islands. And going this way is *far* cheaper than on the tour - though as others have noted, there's no getting around the fact that the entrance to the gardens isn't cheap - but well worth it.

3  Thank RobertNewcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

I went to Victoria 33 years ago when I was in HS, and we went up to the Gardens. I remember how beautiful and dramatic it was to a 17 year old, and now that I'm 50, it was better than I remember. July is a fantastic time to go. My favorite part was the dahlia garden; it looked like a giant party was going on!! I might take longer than the 2 hours usually given on any tour. Enjoy!

Thank 1959CARB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Butchart Gardens also viewed

Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to The Butchart Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing