We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want a real garden, skip this and go to Finnerty Gardens”
Review of Butchart Gardens

Butchart Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$81.66*
and up
Brentwood Bay Kayak Tour and Butchart Gardens Visit
More Info
$55.16*
and up
Butchart Gardens Tour from Victoria
More Info
$129.74*
and up
Whale-Watching Cruise from Victoria and Butchart Gardens Admission
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: These internationally acclaimed floral display gardens, and National Historic Site of Canada, started over 100 years ago and remain privately owned by the family. Jennie Butchart wanted to make her husband's depleted limestone quarry look better and the result is the Sunken Garden. Other gardens include the Rose Garden, the Japanese Garden and the Italian Garden. The gardens are meticulously maintained and provide a riot of colour for much of the year. During the summer, special lighting subtly illuminates the gardens, musical entertainment takes place on the Concert Lawn, and there are ten spectacular Saturday night Firework Shows. The Magic of Christmas season also has beautiful lighting and evening entertainment, and an outdoor skating rink. Spring offers hundreds of thousand flowering bulbs and Autumn is the time for dahlias, chrysanthemums and fall colours. The Gardens is open daily, year round.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you want a real garden, skip this and go to Finnerty Gardens”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I had looked forward to seeing these gardens for years. They were beautiful, of course, but the impression I got was one of nature submitted, rather than nature nurtured and showcased. Heavy fertilizer smell in places. It was full of wide-eyed tourist taking pictures of everything. I found myself a little annoyed. If you love nature and plants, save yourself the $30 and go to Finnerty Gardens at the University of Victoria (free) - this is a peaceful sanctuary and the best kind of garden - diverse flora, perfectly wooded, with lots of benches and patches of grass by idyllic ponds so you can have a picnic, read a book or take a nap.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannilion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butchart_Gardens, Public Relations Manager at Butchart Gardens, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for providing the opportunity to reiterate we are strong proponents of organic fertilizers. We know many look to us for sustainable gardening techniques as we produce stunning, healthy flower displays year after year.

We do use fertilizers in our flower beds, but they are organic, as are those we use for lawn care. Our composting facility provides us with good rich soil and the beds are constantly amended. We also have an integrated pest management system, that is, we use a variety of beneficial insects to control those insects which can damage plants. The comment about “heavy fertilizer smell” is most unusual. Should there be anything in the air other than the fragrances of flowers it could only be from organic sources.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,526
    1,202
    310
    72
    54
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Oh WOW!!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Such beautiful, varied gardens. We love, love, loved them! Well worth the pricey admission. We lucked into going shortly after a rainy spell, late on a weekday afternoon, and had the gardens practically to ourselves. Would love to go for the fireworks or a concert sometime.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
“Visit to Butchart Gardens”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Beauty beyond words. If you have any kind of love for flowers...this is heaven on earth!!! An absolute must if you are in Victoria!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank soccer37-1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Butchart Gardens are totally unique, a stunning display of flowers in a one of a kind landscape. We had an excellent evening meal and even the gift shop was a step above the average souvenir shop

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kirkhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invergordon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“magical experience”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Amazing gardens. Visited in June when all the varieties of roses were in full bloom. Hard to believe there are 70 groundstaff working since never saw anyone. Amazing experience for any keen gardener or visitor to the island. Could have spent the whole day there

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butchart Gardens also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Butchart Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing