We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Limestone Mine To Amazing Butchart Garden”
Review of Butchart Gardens

Butchart Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$76.76*
and up
Brentwood Bay Kayak Tour and Butchart Gardens Visit
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: These internationally acclaimed floral display gardens, and National Historic Site of Canada, started over 100 years ago and remain privately owned by the family. Jennie Butchart wanted to make her husband's depleted limestone quarry look better and the result is the Sunken Garden. Other gardens include the Rose Garden, the Japanese Garden and the Italian Garden. The gardens are meticulously maintained and provide a riot of colour for much of the year. During the summer, special lighting subtly illuminates the gardens, musical entertainment takes place on the Concert Lawn, and there are ten spectacular Saturday night Firework Shows. The Magic of Christmas season also has beautiful lighting and evening entertainment, and an outdoor skating rink. Spring offers hundreds of thousand flowering bulbs and Autumn is the time for dahlias, chrysanthemums and fall colours. The Gardens is open daily, year round.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
PHAGWARA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Limestone Mine To Amazing Butchart Garden”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

For a lover of flowers a true love ground. Maintenance of plants is top class.visited last winter. I was totally mesmerized by the beauty of place.rightly selected as national historic site of Canada.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank GAUTAMPhagwara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,992
    1,084
    267
    64
    48
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
comox
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The flowers are as high as an elephant's eys”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Any time of the year it is a fine place for a day in the flower beds. You can enjoy all the perks of gardening with out having to stoop to plant, prune or weed. There are fireworks and concerts as well as a place for a cuppa tea, a place to shop and a place to dream about what would look good in your garden at that time of year.

Helpful?
1 Thank ComoxBibian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Breath-taking”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

So much to see! Peace, colour, majesty, this is Vancouver Island's pearl. If you're coming to Victoria, this is a must any time of the year.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly great for toddlers”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My 2 year old loves Butchart Gardens. Who knew? She can run around, the bronzes of animals are great, the staff are friendly and helpful and there are lovely older people who say 'hi' and indulge her. The carousel is her favourite thing. We have the punch card for it.

We got a year's pass which makes it very cheap since we go all the time. For one visit it is really pricey but we go about once a week and it works out reasonable for me and of course my daughter is free,

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank katey1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent garden but there are cheaper alternatives”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Butchart Garden is an excellent facility and demonstrates what the passion of a single individual can achieve in restoring an area. The fireworks show on Saturday evenings in July and August is excellent (take a picnic supper and go before the show to enjoy the gardens first).

There are, however, several cheaper (sometimes free) gardens in the Greater Victoria area (listed alphabetically):
- Abkhazi Garden (admission charge)
- Beacon Hill Park (free)
- Government House (free)
- Playfair Park (free - best in spring for the Rhododendrons)
- Royal Roads University (pay parking)
- University of Victoria (pay parking)
- Walking Uplands or Broadmead neighbourhoods (free)

Short to moderate hikes for those interested in wildflowers:
- Bear Hill - Spring wildflowers
- Lone Tree Hill - Early to mid spring
- Mt Wells (primarily satin flowers in the early to mid spring)

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butchart_Gardens, Public Relations Manager at Butchart Gardens, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We believe we offer great value for our admission price. We derive all our revenue from gate receipts and onsite facilities. We receive no subsidies from any level of government.

While TripAdvisor is meant to critique the particular listing rather than to promote others, we'd like to take this opportunity to point out there are even more gardens on Vancouver Island than those the reviewer mentioned. We are a major supporter of the multi-garden Vancouver Island Garden Trail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butchart Gardens also viewed

Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Butchart Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing