We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent garden but there are cheaper alternatives”

The Butchart Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$58.09*
and up
Butchart Gardens Tour from Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: These internationally acclaimed floral display gardens and National Historic Site of Canada started over 100 years ago and remain privately owned by the family. Jennie Butchart wanted to make her husband's depleted limestone quarry look better and the result is the Sunken Garden. Other gardens include the Rose Garden, the Japanese Garden and the Italian Garden. The gardens are meticulously maintained and provide a riot of colour for much of the year. During the summer, special lighting subtly illuminates the gardens, musical entertainment takes place on the Concert Lawn, and there are ten spectacular Saturday night Firework Shows. The Magic of Christmas season also has beautiful lighting and evening entertainment, and an outdoor skating rink. Spring offers hundreds of thousand flowering bulbs and Autumn is the time for dahlias, chrysanthemums and fall colours. The Gardens is open daily, year round.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Butchart Garden is an excellent facility and demonstrates what the passion of a single individual can achieve in restoring an area. The fireworks show on Saturday evenings in July and August is excellent (take a picnic supper and go before the show to enjoy the gardens first).

There are, however, several cheaper (sometimes free) gardens in the Greater Victoria area (listed alphabetically):
- Abkhazi Garden (admission charge)
- Beacon Hill Park (free)
- Government House (free)
- Playfair Park (free - best in spring for the Rhododendrons)
- Royal Roads University (pay parking)
- University of Victoria (pay parking)
- Walking Uplands or Broadmead neighbourhoods (free)

Short to moderate hikes for those interested in wildflowers:
- Bear Hill - Spring wildflowers
- Lone Tree Hill - Early to mid spring
- Mt Wells (primarily satin flowers in the early to mid spring)

2  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butchart_Gardens, Public Relations Manager at The Butchart Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

We believe we offer great value for our admission price. We derive all our revenue from gate receipts and onsite facilities. We receive no subsidies from any level of government.

While TripAdvisor is meant to critique the particular listing rather than to promote others, we'd like to take this opportunity to point out there are even more gardens on Vancouver Island than those the reviewer mentioned. We are a major supporter of the multi-garden Vancouver Island Garden Trail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9,017)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"sunken garden"
in 947 reviews
"japanese garden"
in 683 reviews
"butchart gardens"
in 1,792 reviews
"rose garden"
in 613 reviews
"blue poppy"
in 92 reviews
"fireworks show"
in 86 reviews
"flowers and plants"
in 94 reviews
"full bloom"
in 210 reviews
"limestone quarry"
in 135 reviews
"gift shop"
in 401 reviews
"christmas lights"
in 131 reviews
"dining room"
in 166 reviews
"vancouver island"
in 348 reviews
"water features"
in 86 reviews
"tour bus"
in 96 reviews
"high tea"
in 234 reviews
"take your time"
in 111 reviews
Filter

7,247 - 7,251 of 9,021 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

"The Dining Room Resturant" made the entire property look ugly. We were there last summer and planning our next trip to Victoria, I can still remember how terribly rude the staff(including front area hostess or manager) made my family feel, therefore I will not be returning on this trip.

8  Thank Happymommyinseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butchart_Gardens, Public Relations Manager at The Butchart Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

We are so sorry to read your review and certainly wish you had contacted us soon after your experience to allow us to follow up with a full investigation. We cannot remember a review where rudeness has been a complaint as we are known for our friendly staff. You will receive a direct message from us via TripAdvisor to see if you can directly provide us with any specific details which could help us understand the situation and rectify any issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Just went to Butchart gardens for the first time, and it was amazing! I was a little shocked at the price of admission... With tax it cost over $25 for one adult... The grounds were beautiful and well kept, would definitely go again even thou it cost a lot!

Thank Jparker308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Butchart Gardens are a wonderful attraction for everyone visiting the City of Victoria. It is located 20 minutes away from the downtown core of Victoria. When come off the ferry or airport it is close by for visitors in Brentwood, BC. So when you are putting it into your GPS remember to say 800 Benevenuto Avenue, BRENTWOOD BAY, BC. Otherwise you will end up in downtown Victoria!
Great attraction of gardens from all over the world. Dining, cafeteria, lovely gift shop and if you are planning a summer visit do it on Saturday evening to visit the Gardens as there is a special Fireworks Show to music held only on Saturdays, July and August. Also there is a theatre with very nice shows going on nightly outdoors in the Gardens. The fountains are gorgeous with the colorful dancing waters. International gardens are beautiful. Merry go round for the little ones is fun! You need to see this attraction if you are visiting Vancouver Island! Free parking, a very reasonable admission fee. Tours from downtown Victoria available. Prepare for up to 3 to 4 hours. Sat. Night Fireworks bring a blanket and warm jacket as outdoors in the evening the weather gets a bit cool. Folding chairs good idea and a picnic supper/lunch is fun as well. Do see it, world renowned.

Thank Buncy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a beautiful area. It's all the brochures promise it to be. Spend the day here, have 'high tea', enjoy the ponds, the plant sculptures, tour the different gardens, and let your imagination fly. A place to wonder about the beauty of your life. Watch the fountains dance, listen to the birds sing, and get in touch with nature. Awesome. Great to share. Bring your friends and your cameras.

Thank robinsdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Butchart Gardens also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to The Butchart Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing