We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most Beautiful Garden I've Ever Seen!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Butchart Gardens

Butchart Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.54*
and up
Brentwood Bay Kayak Tour and Butchart Gardens Visit
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: These internationally acclaimed floral display gardens, and National Historic Site of Canada, started over 100 years ago and remain privately owned by the family. Jennie Butchart wanted to make her husband's depleted limestone quarry look better and the result is the Sunken Garden. Other gardens include the Rose Garden, the Japanese Garden and the Italian Garden. The gardens are meticulously maintained and provide a riot of colour for much of the year. During the summer, special lighting subtly illuminates the gardens, musical entertainment takes place on the Concert Lawn, and there are ten spectacular Saturday night Firework Shows. The Magic of Christmas season also has beautiful lighting and evening entertainment, and an outdoor skating rink. Spring offers hundreds of thousand flowering bulbs and Autumn is the time for dahlias, chrysanthemums and fall colours. The Gardens is open daily, year round.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage
Meridian, Mississippi
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Most Beautiful Garden I've Ever Seen!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

My Husband and I were fortunate enough to visit this beautiful place in August of 2012. We were on a cruise and only had a short time at this port. (very UNfortunate). Thankfully we met a fantastic tour guide named "Eric Wilson" who drove us to the gardens at just about dusk. It was about a 30 min drive and he showed us a few sights and gave us some interesting facts about the city along the way. When we arrived he arranged for our tickets, gave us a map and pointed out the most important things to see in our limited time frame. He told us where and what time to meet him in order to get back to the boat in time to sail.
The gardens were stunning to see at night having excellent lighting in place.
I certainly want to go back sometime during the day and explore this amazing site. We got lost in the rose garden and couldn't find our way to the exit! It was like they closed some of the paths we came in on! We finally found a route to the gift shop which is where the exit is (imagine that ;D) just in time to meet our guide. No time for shopping :(

Eric took us downtown and stopped for a picture of "The Parliment House" (I think???) which was beautiful all lit up and gave us some very useful information about places to stay and the best to come back to Victoria on our own.

I would highly recommend Eric Wilson as a tour guide. He is very knowledgable and one of the most interesting people I have ever met! He is also an author and has published 22 childrens mysteries!

This is a must see if you are in Victoria!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,861
    1,070
    263
    64
    48
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A garden lovers paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

The gardens are beautiful, and always a treat. You need to plan for a long visit to make the entry fee worth while. Grab a latte as you walk in to walk around, they are very good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kiwicanuck72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well worth the time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We visited these gardens as part of an organized tour. What an amazing place. We had heard a lot about these gardens but it is not until you visit first hand, do you really grasp their magnitude.
As with organized tours, your time is limited and this place is definitely one of those occasions. We could have easily spent another couple of hours here. Whenever you chose to visit here, you surely will not be disappointed. These gardens are truly World Class. Thank-you Butchart Gardens for the experience.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1951rlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The "Best Garden on Earth"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

If a person was to choose their favorite garden on this planet, it would surely be the Butchart Gardens. There's nothing out there like it. Every single object is beautifully created or designed, every flower or plant is carefully placed in magnificent color combinations and the entire area has been gorgeously landscaped.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryL27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Garden of Eden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I have been to many "gardens" but this property exceeded my expectations by far! Even in early Oct. there was soo many varieties of flowers and plants to be breath taking to your "senses"! One pink rose I smelled, I will NEVER forget! I am so happy I was able to go there.

Helpful?
Thank Cuttypatutty68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butchart Gardens also viewed

Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Butchart Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing