We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, we will be back.”
Review of The Wells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wells Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wells
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay, we will be back.”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Loved the Wells hotel, set us back in time, the rooms are clean and quaint. Took a walk and enjoyed talking to the locals, very friendly. Would recommend to anyone. small, no tv's but that worked out well. My Niece was a little disappointed the hot tub was closed during our stay.

Room Tip: Corner suites are the largest
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyMaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    18
    7
    7
See reviews for
15
19
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

After reading some reviews from this page, I was a little apprehensive about the state of the room. We arrived in the afternoon and were pleasantly surprised to see a nice clean, renovated older hotel. Knowing that this is a heritage building, it was not a rundown, old feel. It felt like well kept antiques. The food was great, the little hotel shampoos, lotions etc. were awesome! Our snowmobile club showed up with 22 snowmobiles and people and were treated very well. The hotel was forwarned we were coming and brought in enough staff that we had early morning coffee - 6:00 am and no wait at dinner. It was a great place to stay. I would definately say 'Yes, stay there!'

Room Tip: Don't call late I ended up with the room with twin beds! haha
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Overall an alright stay but the floors needed sweeping and it was way over priced for the town. The hubs is nicer and much cheaper

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerryglenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

My wife and daughter were visiting Barkerville as part of a multi-day school field trip. I decided to bring our young son up and join them. The Hub Motel was full so I decided to take a room at the Wells Hotel for the night. The room rate seemed a little high considering the size and lack of amenities but it was clean and cozy and central and it did have everything we needed. Fortunately, my son and I didn't have much luggage so the room size wasn't much of an issue. Breakfast was included so that was a bonus.

There was a light in the main room but it didn't work. The bathroom and bedside lights worked fine. In the morning while I was taking a shower, the bathroom light went out. We went down for breakfast at 7:20am but there was no one in sight. We waited around for a few minutes but it was clear that we were up long before the hotel staff. We ate breakfast at the restaurant down the road and when we came back, the front door was unlocked but there was still no one in sight. I left my key at the desk. I would have liked to have made the hotel staff aware but there was no one there. Maybe this is to be expected in a ghost town but Wells isn't really a ghost town.

My wife and daughter had a fine experience at the Hub Motel nearby. We've stayed at the St. George Hotel in Barkerville and had a wonderful experience. I should have stayed there again.

Overall, it wasn't a really bad experience at the Wells Hotel (we had a good sleep and that's really why we went to the hotel) but it was a bit disappointing because it didn't deliver what was promised.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeep_whisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Fork, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Wells Hotel after our week-long canoe trip on Bowron Lakes. We had stayed at Hubs Motel a week earlier and were thrilled with our experience, but Hubs Motel was full when we returned, so we had to stay at the Wells Hotel.

The staff was friendly, but rushed. The room was disappointing: No TV, no mini-refrigerator. The room was small and cramped. The worst part was the cold shower! All we wanted after a week of camping was a hot shower - but no such luck... When we asked about the lack of a TV, they said it was a "heritage hotel" which apparently means lacking modern amenities.

I'm just being picky now, but the power outlets in the room were all located behind the bed, so we had to move the bed in order to plug in our laptop, charge cell phones/cameras, etc. Not the end of the world - just inconvenient.

The their credit, they did have a hot tub outside (which we couldn't enjoy because we were sunburned), and the free wireless internet was quite fast. Also, the breakfast buffet was decent, considering it was free.

We ate dinner at the cafe in the hotel, and the staff was really struggling. Apparently a few staff members had recently quit, so they were understaffed. I felt bad for them - they tried hard to take care of all the customers, but consequently I was disappointed with the service. The food at the cafe was less than enjoyable. My meat-lover's pizza was disappointing - it would have been better if they'd just put in a frozen pizza.

The Wells Hotel cost 25% more than I'd paid at Hubs Motel, and it lacked the basic comforts and amenities I had expected. I would definitely recommend staying at Hubs Motel instead.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlazeBoy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wells hotels

Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We stayed at the Wells Hotel for 3 night while we were exploring Barkerville. We were not disappointed! The breakfast bufffet itself was absolutely AMAZING...I've never had a continental breakfast that good! We're taking lots of cereal, pancakes, french toast, eggs, bacon, ham, fruit, muffins, milk, tea, coffee, and juices. The room was pretty small, but the beds were very comfy. The staff was very nice and the resturant was very good....it took sooooooo long for our food to come-but when it did it was delicious. The only complaint I have is the showers....they were faced towards the door, so when you opened it water would go all over the floor....and when our neighbour was showering our shower would go down to a trickle. Hot tub was a basic hot tub....we didn't try it because it was soooo hot when we went! There is also a nice sitting area downstairs with books and games....we brought a game up to our room every night and every night was a family game night :)

I definitely recommend staying at the Wells hotel rather than staying at Barkerville. The city of Wells in itself is very cute, and it's to walk around in the evening. If you have the time...go into the Wells musuem. It is very small and doesn't take very long, but admission is by donation and a lot of heart has gone into maintaining those artifacts.

At Barkerville, make sure you do the Stagecoach ride, and reserve early! The first reservation gets a choice of where they sit, and we got to sit and talk to the driver! Also, if you have time, (and the money!) take the coach ride up to Richfield to see Judge Begbie, rather than walking. The walk is long, and it was fun talking to everyone in the coach. Also, try to go for a lesson in the schoolhouse. Our teacher was very funny, and made the women were bonnets, and everyone sing at the end. It was one of the highlights of Barkerville. For food at Barkerville, I recommend the Chinese Resturant there, the Long Duck Tong Resturant. We enjoyed it so much we went there again, and the bakery has delicious baked treats.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caribby96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George BC
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Greetings! My husband and I are pleased to have had a wonderful wedding experience in the Wells/Barkerville community. Our wedding itself was in Barkerville (yes in February!) and our accommodations were at the Wells Hotel in Wells. Danielle; the manager of the hotel, is a fantastic host and she and her staff are top drawer. The dining room and the pub were fabulous fun. The food and the bar service, as well as the hospitality, could not have been better. We booked all of the rooms in the hotel and had the place to ourselves for two amazing nights! We all enjoyed the outdoor hot tub and even the children that accompanied their parents were happy and entertained. There is a lovely games area by a beautiful wood burning fireplace next to the lobby that was a gathering place for the young folk and they never felt left out. Our rooms were extremely clean and the travel back in time added immensely to our fun. As a mature wedding couple, my husband and I will always remember our wedding with fondness and will forever be appreciative of the kindness and attention to detail that the Wells Hotel paid to us and our guests. Everything; that is absolutely everything, was fantastic!! I highly recommend this facility for any event where you are looking for a quaint, comfortable, clean and easy going atmosphere. Hugs to all of our new friends in Wells - Martin and Jacquie

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wells hotels
5.0 mi away
Becker's Lodge Bowron Lake Adventures Resort
0.2 mi away
Mountain Thyme Getaway
0.2 mi away
Hubs Motel
Hubs Motel
#1 of 3 in Wells
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wells Hotel

Property: The Wells Hotel
Address: 2341 Pooley Street | P.O. Box 39, Wells, British Columbia V0K 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Cariboo > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Wells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Wells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing