We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lots of gluten free options” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bear's Paw Cafe

Bear's Paw Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Rated the Best Restaurant in All of Central BC. People's Choice award for Best Cafe in Northern BC. Friendly, informal, really great food made from scratch. Great Food, and Vegetarian and dietary restrictions welcome!
Wiliams Lake, BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“lots of gluten free options”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Good food, and lots of gluten free and vegetarian options, not usual in a very small town. Great atmosphere and congenial hosts. I recommend if highly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    28
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
231 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Eclectic Menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

On our way back from Barkerville, we decided to eat at the Bear's Paw Cafe. The restaurant was a blend of the "1960's movement" with the culinary flare of the big city!! Each of us had a different menu item and each meal was fantastic. They had a live performer adding to the ambience and the quality of the night was the last thing I expected in such a small community!! I would strongly recommend the Bear's Paw Cafe and we will be going again on our next trip!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jsimmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food & Great People”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

The best place to eat in Wells! I had the ribs almost every night. The whole Bear's Paw team is welcoming and generous. The meals are delicious and healthy. Lots of options for gluten free and kids. Can't wait to come visit again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travellin_Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One word, "WOW"!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

It was quite a nice surprise to find a place like this.

Its quirky ambiance, friendly upbeat staff not to mention the owners, along with a diverse menu, really topped the end of what was a great day already.

Being a Friday it was busy but we were at least advised it could be a bit longer than normal for our food; it really wasn't though.

My husband ordered ribs that night, it was the special for that evening and I had the prawn enchilada. One word, "WOW"! Amazing fresh ingredients, tons of flavor, exactly how we would cook at home.

Unfortunately we weren't able to make it back for Saturday night which was so disappointing because I couldn't stop thinking about their special for that night, Mango Curry! Can't even imagine how delish that would of been.

A definite must when in Wells!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Noelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tasty food, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

During our visit to Wells/Barkerville we decided to have dinner at the Bear's Paw cafe. The interior is very charming and the staff is very friendly and efficient. The menu is quite small but the food is very good. Dessert was even better! Definitely check out the Bear's Paw Cafe if you are passing through Wells.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2travelingfam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear's Paw Cafe also viewed

Been to Bear's Paw Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing