We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for visiting Barkerville”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hubs Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hubs Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect for visiting Barkerville”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

Basic but super clean, super friendly and affordable accommodation. Definitely recommended.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoGoKam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    37
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
48
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

In March 2010 twenty-five members of our snowmobile club spent the weekend in Wells. Diane, the owner of the Hubs Motel, was invaluable coordinating our entire weekend including lodging, meals at the Bear's Paw Cafe directly across the street and entertainment . When we arrived she greeted us with freshly baked cookies and treats in the lobby as we checked in. Our rooms were spotlessly clean and appointed with everything we needed. Every morning as we were packing our snowmobiles to ride right out of the motel's parking lot Diane would pass out several bags of freshly baked cookies for us to share at lunch. She also arranged some of the local galleries to open and show us their beautiful works of art. Both Diane and Harald did everything they could to make each one of our group feel welcome and valued. They treated us more like family than customers.

Jay and Donna, from the Wells Snowmobile Club, rode with us showing us breathtaking scenery, well groomed trails and fabulous meadows to "play" in. They kept us safe and well away from any avalanche risk.

Cheryl and Dave from the Bear's Paw Cafe provided our group with fabulous meals, entertainment and atmosphere.....read more about that on their trip advisor.

Many of our club members will return to Wells, both in the winter and other seasons. Friendly people, wonderful service, amazing countryside with lots to do and see make this a repeat destination many times over. All of us feel we now have "extended family" ........Thank you Diane, Harald and all the people we enjoyed meeting in Wells.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dekalake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prince george
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

We have stayed at the Hub many times,,it is clean, quiet and the owner is very helpfull, she even brought us home-made cookies one morning,,and the rates are very good. love staying there.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickydPrinceGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

Value, hospitality, comfort, and the most gracious hostess you are likely ever to meet. Thats`what is in store for anyone staying at the Hubs motel. I can't say enough about Diane's generous approach to hospitality. The rooms were very clean, absolutely scent free and reasonably spacious. The town of Wells was beautiful and reflects the BC of my youth - warm, welcoming and neighbourly. For great fish and chips or the best burger in town try the Burger Shack at the rest stop one minute before town. The Wells experience on the whole was great but what made it stand out were the people and most especially Diane. We'll be back just to visit our home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMURR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

We were late arrivers to Wells the night of our stay, arrived around midnight. Throughout the day, we stayed in contact with the motel to let them know we were still coming, although later than we had anticipated. Our last call to the motel was when we had left Quesnel at about 10;30pm, we spoke with Diane and she told us it was not a problem, to take our time and be really careful of the animals on the road, as they can be quite bad (we counted 7 deer in the 50km or so stretch). She informed us that she would tape the key to the office door for when we arrived and placed cake in our room.

The bed wasnt the greatest, but, the service made up for it.

The Hubs Motel had the best rate in town, and the service was Extraordinary. We will definitely stay at this motel again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saltybob08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
489 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

This is a lovely place to stay and we would highly recommend it.

The motel is just off the main road in Wells (which leads onto Barkerville), is well-kept and bright with lovely summer flowers. Diane, who owns and runs the motel is a star- very helpful, cheery and brought the kids cookies. We had a room with twin beds, a kitchenette, another small room with a double bed, and WiFi. It was spotless! Parking was right ouside the room so easy to unload the luggage.

We would recommend this place as it is convenient, functional, the service is good and the price is right.

Whilst there we travelled to Barkerville (to the Theatre Royal to see the shows) and to Bowron Lake- both also highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonFamily88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2009

We stayed there for two nights when we went to visit Barkerville. The new owner obviously takes pride in the motel. New paint in and out and new flooring. Very clean. Lot's of flower baskets outside. She baked cookies the day we arrived and brought us some in the evening. We had considered staying in Quesnel and driving from there to Barkerville, but were glad we chose to stay at Hubs Motel instead since it's only 5 minutes from Barkerville.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScarletVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.1 mi away
Mountain Thyme Getaway
5.0 mi away
Becker's Lodge Bowron Lake Adventures Resort
0.0 mi away
Bear River Mercantile
Bear River Mercantile
#1 of 2 in Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Wells Hotel
The Wells Hotel
#2 of 3 in Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hubs Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hubs Motel

Property: Hubs Motel
Address: 12438 Barkerville Highway, Wells, British Columbia V0K 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Cariboo > Wells
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As new owners, we pride ourselves on providing clean, comfortable rooms, great service, friendly hospitality and a convenient location. The BC Tourist Accommodation Guide report commends us for outstanding housekeeping. All rooms come complete with a telephone, television, fridge, coffee maker and kettle. Enjoy the unique, friendly, historical towns of Wells and Barkerville (5 min), the beautiful Bowron Lakes (Canada’s world renowned canoe circuit, 30 min.), snowmobiling right from your door, wildlife and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Hubs Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hubs Hotel Wells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing