We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, good value”
Review of Hubs Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hubs Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed one night in September. Our room was clean, quiet, well equipped, with a comfortable bed. Dianne was friendly, efficient and helpful. There's a good info book. A good cafe/restaurant (Bears Paw) is right across the road for an evening meal (as well as fish and chips available from a trailer outside in the summer). The only downside was that they don't do breakfast and the nearest place where you can get some is a long walk or short car ride away.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Thank you so much Tammy for the great review. I know you have stayed with us several times since and are right now as well, but wanted you to know how much we appreciate you staying with us at the Hubs Motel and your kind words! Hope you are having another great stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 150 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2011

Best place to stay in the area. Simple and clean. Great Hosts.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripping250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Thank you so much for the review. Sorry it took so long to thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

What a great find. Greeted with fresh baked cookies and large selection of free movies. A well put together info book. Comfortable clean beds. Felt like we were welcome and very safe. Best sleep on the whole 7 night trip. Book early so you don't miss out. Sleep in don't rush out to barkerville enjoy an extra few minutes in the comfy bed barkerville doesn't really get going until ten. Very inexpensive! Look forward to going back. Left with a bag of fresh cookies for the road!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerryglenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Thank you so much for such a great review. Sorry it took me so long to figure out how to reply. We look forward to seeing you again - I'll have fresh cookies waiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in this clean, friendly location..we were very comfortable in unit number 4. There was room for all of us..the dog grandpa, grandma and grandson. The room was quiet and grandpa was able to watch the BC Lions win their first football game of the season on TSN. Our first night in town we enjoyed the fish and chips at the picnic tables in front of the motel. Our grandson enjoyed his first visit to Wells and Barkerville .

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAUREEN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Thank you so much for such an awesome review. I've just learned how to reply. I am so happy grandpa was able to watch the football game on TSN - I realize we have limited channels but it is nice to be able to change the stations so those important sports events aren't missed. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

another great stay at the Hubs! Dianne & Harald are amazing hosts. They treat you like they've known you forever and go above and beyond to make your stay comfy. We were in town for the local Artswells Festival and Dianne had prepared booklets including festival programs, plus menus from all the great restaurants in town. This is extraordinary given the fact they also have the deluxe Big H's Fish & Chips vendor trailer on premise. The Halibut and Yam Fries are delicious if you like real traditional fish and chips! The only thing they really lack is enough rooms during the festival for all the folks that want to stay with them! Most of us book a year in advance to secure a room. They are definitely BC Super Hosts and are the right people in the right business.

Room Tip: room 13 has a king bed and an electric fireplace. only thing lacking is a small dresser or shelf t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fishherder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Friendly atmosphere that treats you like family, family with a lot of great cookies that is. Best motel to stay before and after a trip to the Bowron lakes. Don't forget to get some awesome fish and chips at big H's before you leave.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
Thank canoe_aholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We met with my husband's sister and her girls at the Hubs in Wells. A day was spent in Barkerville, the 'ghost' historical town and then we returned to the motel feeling rumbly in the tummy. The owners of Hubs, Dianne and Harald, had agreed that since we didn't have a kitchenette we'd borrow their barbeque and their dishes! Harald and my husband lugged this gleaming chrome barbeque right to just outside our door, and the cooking began. Afterwards, Dianne (co-owner of Hubs) insisted on washing our dishes! (I meekly complied)
All 6 of the kids were entertained with free DVDs the motel supplied, as well as with board games, ping pong and fooz (sp?) ball. All of the guests in our party agreed fully, we have never in our lives been treated as well as this in accommodations!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadianfinnish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wells hotels
0 mi away
Mountain Thyme Getaway
0.2 mi away
The Wells Hotel
The Wells Hotel
#2 of 3 in Wells
58 reviews
5.8 mi away
Becker's Lodge Bowron Lake Adventures Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hubs Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hubs Motel

Address: 12438 Barkerville Highway, Wells, British Columbia V0K 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Cariboo > Wells
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wells
Price Range: $48 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As new owners, we pride ourselves on providing clean, comfortable rooms, great service, friendly hospitality and a convenient location. The BC Tourist Accommodation Guide report commends us for outstanding housekeeping. All rooms come complete with a telephone, television, fridge, coffee maker and kettle. Enjoy the unique, friendly, historical towns of Wells and Barkerville (5 min), the beautiful Bowron Lakes (Canada’s world renowned canoe circuit, 30 min.), snowmobiling right from your door, wildlife and much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hubs Hotel Wells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing