We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything but the Roosters”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hornby Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ford's Cove Marina Waterfront Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hornby Island
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything but the Roosters”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I just spent an awesome week at Fords Cove. My grandparents rented a cabin as well as my dad getting a campsite for the week. The staff is super friendly and helpful, the property is gorgeous, and the Island itself is simply magical. The one thing they don't tell you when renting campsites however is that there is a chicken coop in the adjacent property with roosters and hens and chickens that, if your are staying in a campsite on the waterfront side of the property, you WILL be woken up every day at 4am and every five minutes after that by the roosters. Even though this is a beautiful place I didn't get much sleep all week and will be requesting a site as far away from the chicken coop as possible on our next trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a campsite away from the roosters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    24
    3
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
33
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
samui
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We have been coming to Ford's Cove for several years and each time we are pleasantly surprised by the constant upgrades to the cottages. The sunsets are spectacular and having a well stocked store there is so convenient. The staff and owners are friendly and helpful. This is the type of place you can recommend to your friends and know they will enjoy their stay. We always look forward to coming back again.

Room Tip: Bring your mountain bike or hiking shoes as there is a 3 km trail starting at Ford's Cove throug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelguru717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

My husband and I just spent 2 nights here and really enjoyed our stay. The 1 bedroom cottage we stayed in was electrically heated but had a brand new wood stove which we used in the evening (the store sells wood). The deck had a covered area so we could be outside even in the rain. The kitchen has all stainless steel appliances and is very well equipped, even an ice maker built into the fridge. It was a great romantic getaway for us and we plan to come again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zidaig12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, BC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Spent 2 nights for new years Dec 2011 at Ford's Cove with friends/family. Was a bit worried due to some bad reviews. Called the owner who reassured us all would be fine. We were not disappointed. Lovely cabins. Rented a 2 bdrm and one bdrm w/woodstove and ocean view is awesome. Wonderful way to escape life and relax. Woke up to tons of sea lions passing by. Owners are great and very accommodating. cabins are comfortable and have everything you need. The store is surprisingly well-stocked and great prices. Coffee is the best and goodies yummy. Ignore the bad comments. this place is truly a getaway from a busy life.

Room Tip: pick the one bedroom cabins. ocean view with woodstoves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Islandguy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

I just enjoyed 3 days at Ford's cove with my children and We had an amazing time in hornby, The location of Ford's cove was excelent an the cabin was very nice. some of the bad comments on trip advisor are not true.
If you are planing to go to hornby island check it your self.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mary242mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rio de janeiro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2011

I just spent 5 days on Hornby and I stay at Ford's Cove Marina in a waterfront cottage. The value was excellent. The cottage felt home-like and was very clean and had all new appliances in the well equiped kitchen. It was very nice beacause we cooked our own meals (on Hornby the restaurants are not open in the winter). The location and view were amaizing.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maynart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

My family and friends have revisited Fords Cove on a regualar basis for years. If you are looking for a fast paced, stressful or high society type of vacation, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a a place to unwind, be casual and comfortable and enjoy the most breathtaking beauty that nature has to offer, then this is the place for you.

The rustic, yet modernized cabins offer you all the comforts of home. The management and staff are friendly, helpful and respectful of all their guests.

We have stayed at Fords Cove during winter and summer months. The cabins are so cozy in the winter months and make for a very romantic get away. The summer months are spectacular for camping on site or having the convienence of the fully equipted cabins.

I beieve any negative reviews are based on comparing Hornby lifestyles to big city ones. There is no comparison. I have recommended this resort to many many people over the years and i don't know anyone of them that were dissapointed in any way.

See you all again in september.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrystalNanaimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hornby Island
4.8 mi away
Shady Shores Beach Resort
17.2 mi away
Port Augusta Inn and Suites
19.3 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
12.7 mi away
Riverside Resort & Campground
Riverside Resort & Campground
#7 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
152 reviews
9.0 mi away
Ellerslie Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ford's Cove Marina Waterfront Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ford's Cove Marina Waterfront Cottages

Property: Ford's Cove Marina Waterfront Cottages
Address: 10835 Central Rd | Check in at Ford's Cove Store, British Columbia V0R 1Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Hornby Island
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hornby Island
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Ford`s Cove Marina Waterfront Cottages Hotel Hornby Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing