We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous views delicious food”
Review of Sea Breeze Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hornby Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Breeze Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Vernon, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tremendous views delicious food”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We love Seabreeze Lodge , the excellent food, beautiful scenic views, warm and comfortable cabins and friendly helpful staff.
We have stayed in a variety of cabins and come at all times during the year. Each time the Bishop Family and their staff go out of their way to make our stay memorable,.

Room Tip: All cabins are excellent. They even have a private romantic cabin on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twosigalets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    18
    5
    0
    4
See reviews for
34
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We had booked our wedding over a year ago with Sea Breeze with great confidence in a great people . 3 weeks before our wedding,we received a phone call the Lodge was burning. We heard everyone was ok, that was a relief. We waited for the family to deal with their emotional disaster.Then there was conversation of still going ahead with our wedding and cabin rentals. We had made up a "Plan A, Plan B,Plan C" that we talked about. With great assurance by the owners that they could pull this off, we were really happy to keep our date for the wedding and that was where our stress ended! And that's where the Family owners stress doubled I'm sure. They took it in stride, they had the arms of Hornby helping them out.Guess what, they pulled it off. The strength and pride of this family and Island not only "pulled it off" but ,as one family owner said, they were going to blow us away! They made us believers!They have a great tent setting looking out at the water and sunsets!There is a deck to relax on . None of the cabins were effected by the fire and they were all newly renovated last winter. Our guests that arrived for the wedding were ecstatic over there views and their rooms. The ocean view and the grounds behind you make you feel like you have your own piece of property on Hornby.
The guests loved the ease of the Resort right from the smooth check in, forward through their stay .
The wedding,we couldn't believe how far the efforts went to bring us a great venue with food we haven't had in a 5 star restaurant downtown Vancouver. That is no exaggeration.(The people ranted about the food). They provided us with a meet and greet BBQ the night before the wedding, a dinner the night of the wedding and a brunch the next morning. I am sure this family hadn't slept in weeks leading up to our wedding.The whole wedding group of over 100 people left with big memories of Sea Breeze and there were lots of comments of "one of the best weddings they had ever been too". Us ,as newly weds, would like to thank the pride of the family of Sea Breeze and the arms of Hornby for all you offered us . This is why we call it bitter sweet.
If you book a wedding here, know you will have great confidence in great people!
Great people!Better food!
We thank you Sea Breeze and Hornby !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WOCinCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I recently stayed at Sea Breeze Lodge as part of a larger group. When we heard about the Lodge burning down we were a bit apprehensive but I am happy to report the cabins were all fine. The fire cleanup seemed excellent, the staff were responsive to our group being onsite and the construction began at a reasonable time. We all enjoyed the using the enclosed hot tub and firepit. We stayed in a variety of cabins with different configurations suitable to 1-4 people sleeping in them. The floor beside the shower in Cabin 7 is a bit "soft" and I wish they had bathmats. We managed with the cooking utensils provided but if I was cooking I would have found them quite limited. As I know the Lodge is like an all-inclusive in the summer, I am sure most families would find them adequate. We had lovely weather and enjoyed potluck meals using the decks of several cabins. We really appreciated the arrangement as we all sat around the edge seats or on the chairs provided. We will definitely be returning as the set-up was perfect for our group. It was really lovely to sit on our deck and watch eagles soaring and hummingbirds enjoying the Red Hot Pokers and the sunsets were amazing!!!

Room Tip: Cabin 6 and 7 share a deck that easily accommodated our group of 20 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Any of you, having read my other reviews will notice we tend to explore in the "shoulder season". We dont tend to book ahead, and kind of just let the journey lead us to spots we find along the way. The path on Hornby, lead us to the the Sea Breeze lodge.

We were greeted warmly, our host was accomadating, showing us a cottage he knew we would enjoy. The staff is super friendly and knowledgeable on island attractions. The cottage was clean and cozy with a great ocean view and plenty of wildlife. An explostion of life was attracted by the recent herring run. Huge golden and bald eagles pearched on a tree not 30 feet from our deck each morning.

Great place, with great staff and probably the best place to stay on hornby both for its value and its appeal to wide cross section of visitors. I recommend it.

While on Hornby... its known for fossils. Theres really cool geology here, the rock formations are unlike anything else ive seen on our coastal expeditions. It seems to have it all rock wise. You rock hounds better check it out, youll have a sore neck from staring at the ground all day. A hike around the shoreline is a must. We headed south from sea breeze and walked all the way to fossil beach, low tide is your friend.

Dont leave without hiking Halliwell, I was impressed to say the least. Hornbys coast is for the most part rugged, rocky and completely fascinating. Theres a couple of amazing sand beaches, tucked into bays, which offer a beautiful contrast to an ancient shoreline.

For my fellow architecture fans, you can spend a couple days just checking out amazing cottages. From multi million dollar west coast modern to shack in the bush, its all there. Seems the island may be cottage country for the independently wealthy, however the charm and appeal that drew its early inhabitants can still be found alive and well in its people and secret places.

Of all the places i have explored along BC's coast, Hornby island is a place I wish I could have visited 50 years ago, yet the island still holds a feeling that is timeless.

Room Tip: If you desire a bit of privacy, try to book a cottage on either end of the resort and pick your date...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jason w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Sea Breeze staff were friendly and helpful.
This was the perfect place for a quiet weekend getaway.

The View from cabin 6 was beautiful.

We really appreciated that lots of wood was provided for the fireplace. It was heavenly to enjoy a glass of wine and home cooked meal next to it's warmth.

Love that the kitchenette had a full stove.

The cabin was very clean and the bed was incredibly comfortable.

We did take a dip in the hot tub, but it was a bit too hot for comfort compared to what we were accustomed to. The facility was lovely for the time we did spend in it.

Wifi signal was not the great, but who needs the internet when you have that amazing view! But we recommend bringing games or movies and a laptop if quiet relaxing does not quite cut it for you.

We will definitely be back!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kimmybear2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I can't say enough good things about my son's wedding at the Seabreeze Lodge on Hornby Island, BC. Everyone who attended stayed in the cabins. The Rehearsal Dinner was enjoyed by all—plenty to eat—and the same for the Wedding Supper, yummy, tasty, fresh organic food. It was a May weekend, and we even got 80 degree temperatures.

Our friends and family talked about how great the wedding was for weeks afterwards. Thanks Jeff and your team for a spectacular event.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beehoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were a small group with three cabins rented for our week's stay. From Medicine Hat, AB, Vancouver, BC and Victoria, BC. It was such a welcome departure from the regular hustle-bustle of daily life. From the relaxed check-in (no keys? OK...), to the wonderful atmosphere provided by the owners and staff - all first class. The grounds and beach speak for themselves. GORGEOUS! We have been to Hornby many times over the decades, but have never had the pleasure of having our own private beach to explore and visit. Located very close to both Whaling Station Bay and Tribune Bay. The HUGE grounds with the grassy lawns and playground were perfect for our children - bike riding all day! We can't say enough about Jeff & Steve, owners who are very proud of their property, but also willing to invite us into their annual staff party! It is often said that, good or bad, "it all starts at the top". It is evident that Jeff & Steve's relaxed demeanor trickles down to their staff, as all were eager to assist in anyway possible. We will be back!!

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin #12 - excellent location. Beautiful view, tucked away in one corner of the prope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank basil7575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hornby Island
7.9 mi away
Shady Shores Beach Resort
58.4 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#7 of 11 in Ucluelet
237 reviews
18.4 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tumblehome Farm B&B
Tumblehome Farm B&B
#1 of 4 in Hornby Island
9 reviews
13.9 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
9.9 mi away
Two Eagles Lodge
Two Eagles Lodge
#1 of 1 in Union Bay
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Breeze Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze Lodge

Property: Sea Breeze Lodge
Address: 5205 Fowler Rd, British Columbia V0R 1Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Hornby Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Hornby Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Breeze Lodge is situated on twelve acres of spectacular and secluded waterfront property. With its extremely central location, ocean-view cabins, a cliff-side hot tub, seasonal licensed dining facility, and endless outdoor activities, you'll want to discover for yourself why Sea Breeze keeps bringing visitors back to Hornby Island again and again. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing