We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hornby Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tribune Bay Campsite
Lake Cowichan, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location.”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We spent three nights at Tribune Bay Campsite at the end of July. As far as other reviews go about it being dirty or smelly...this is camping, it's not the Ritz. There are outhouses (not flush toilets) that were kept very clean and I never found them to be smelly. The showers do cost a lot and they are outdated, but again, this is camping. I agree that for what you get, the price is high. It was $35/night plus I reserved our spot so that was another $10. Thankfully we brought our own firewood because otherwise it's $7.50 per bundle. I can't really complain about the price because it is the same anywhere on Hornby. I found the campsite really busy and full of kids (we were there just as a couple) but we spent a lot of time out on the gorgeous beach and taking advantage of the excellent trails up Geoffrey Mountain. The location above all was fantastic. Literally a 2 minute walk to Tribune bay and a 2 minute walk to the CO-OP for any food etc. It is unfortunate that Hornby is so expensive to visit but it sure doesn't seem to keep people away as it was really busy while we were there. I think we'll come back when we have kids, but not for a couples getaway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JMabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    8
    11
    14
See reviews for
30
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
215 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Hornby Island has many natural sites to see and is worthwhile visit to the Island. But this cannot be said for the camping on the Island. Basicilly the same all over the island. Poor campsites with very high prices for what you get. Bring your own water? Carry out your garbage? I did not pay $35.00 a night to do this. Toilets are outdated and smelly and you have to pay $1.00 for a 2 minuite shower. Not many people with motorhomes come (the older, quiter crowd) because of the large Ferry costs to get to the island. So you get the younger crowd and famlies with tents all piled into one campsite. Seems overcrowded and noisy all day and night till 10pm. Sites are small with not much protection. Ok this may suit other types of people but not for us. I would come to the island for exploring but not for the camping. Tribune bay itself has a great beach and we spent as much time as possible there when not exploring.

Room Tip: Don't expect great camping on Hornby Island if you are looking for a good campsite to relax at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Raroboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

First, the location is awesome and staff tried to to be helpful, and were very friendly.... BUT, we were kept up all night by people drinking and doing drugs until 4am. One man with kids tried to get the noise down but was threatened by the party goers. There was a loud party on the beach till all hours. The staff said the manager comes in at 2... well after check out time. The sites were very dusty and small, the playground had one fun swing, but that's it. When we asked around town for a better site, we were then told of the criminal issues of this campground...theft, drugs, and worse. There are much safer and better campgrounds on the island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank 6roses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

First the good. Hornby Island itself is beautiful. If you like quaint trips where most people are friendly and you want to take things easy it's great.

However, the location may be beautiful but for $35/night plus booking fees the sites at this campground are not well layed out. The spots are small and privacy is minimal. Firewood is very expensive so bring some of your own. When it rains the whole campground turns into a mud pit and for the cost to stay there, you think some expense could be made on proper drainage and road fill. At night there are no camp hosts enforcing quiet hours.

Finally, there is a theft problem that apparently the campground is aware of but does not inform campers about upon check-in. Our last night there numerous sites were robbed including ours and according to police it happens regularly.

It's an expensive trip to get to Hornby with two ferries and multiple sailing waits. For the cost and time there are many more options with better value. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Chellan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We came here for a family vacation/reunion of sorts since we had grown up as kids summering on Hornby and wanted to share the experience with our own children. Needless to say Tribune Bay Campsite is not where you want to stay. The sites were small and dirty and we could get our trailer into the spot we reserved 4 months beforehand when we called to make sure our 26 foot trailer would fit. We ended up having to move sites and pay for an extra site just so we could get in and out. We had thieves going through our stuff every night and stealing all of our liquor even though it was put away far under our trailer. When we complained to the campground, security and the local police we were basically told oh well not much we can do. We decided to "stake out" the last couple of nights and just like clock work every night at 12:30 a group of young locals met in the meadow and spread out to do their thieving. Hornby used to be a peaceful place with so much love and respect for it's local community. We were absolutely crushed to see how much it's changed. The kids enjoyed the beach, the whales mouth, Helliwell and the tidal pools and we are thankful that they were blissfully unaware of the negativity. If we went again we would rent a nice piece of property to stay in away from the downtown core.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank carsnkags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

First off, let me remind people this is an island that requires two ferry trips to arrive. This is true island life. They take recycling very seriously (world renowned), and garbage that is left on this island has to be removed from the island, at a high cost.
I have had the pleasure of staying on Hornby a half dozen times over my life and always stayed at Tribune Bay Camp Site. This trip we stayed for 8 days. During the week the facility is quiet. Friday and Saturday you can expect some noise into the evening, as to be expected during the summer months. The facility is the ideal location on the island. It is within 3 minutes to the best beach in British Columbia IMO. It is within seconds to the Co-Op food store, in which can offer you anything you could require during your stay, including hardware, marine items, fuel, propane (no rv filling station), etc. Excellent food and coffee at Vorizo.
My wife and three children find the sites, showers and outhouses clean. I find it entertaining the previous poster claimed the showers were moldy and the outhouses nasty. During our stay the outhouses were bring pumped by vacuum truck and I used the showers and found them without mold and functioned just fine. One of the employees (owners) was seen at least 3 times a day going throughout the sites picking junk out of the fire pits and cleaning up the sites of various items left on the ground from previous travellers. We found no broken glass throughout the site, and we played for days in the meadow and in the playground, as well as used our site and other various sites.
Mid week we had some noisy voice going on a couple sites down, and security arrived and sternly shut down that show immediately. They had to return and voice their concerns again, and we heard silence after the fact. They came by our site the next morning and apologized for any disturbance.
We believe the sites are shaded (which is great because the weather is very hot on the beach and throughout the island) which is great because it gives you a break from the pounding sun. The sites have lots of growth in and around you, and although some are close to others, it offers ample privacy unless your paranoid.
The staff is friendly and they make you feel like leading the island life yourself, in which you should here. The playground was a real magnet for my kids, aged 7, 5 and 3, they always wanted to stop and play before and after the beach. I'm 36 and my wife is 30 and we both like the big swing too! If your looking for an RV resort you will be disappointed, this is island life camping at it's finest, with the most amazing recreational opportunities available!

Two thumbs up here and we're planning at least another week long trip next year!


10 thumbs up

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YardPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

What a disapointment! We had been planning our family trip for over a month. We called Tribune Bay after reading their website and seeing the "family" campground we spoke with the office and were reassured that yes this is a family camp ground no parties clean and family friendly. I went to the lenghth of telling her that we had a bad experience in Tofino, we were bringing children and don't want them subjected to all night parties. We were reassured that this does not happen at Tribune Bay. The first night the party didn't stop. We tried calling the front office Nobody available. You can't even leave a message. It didn't stop until the early hours of the morning. We had people coming into our site using the back as a toilet facility, we understand not wanting to use the discusting facilities that I don't know if they have ever been cleaned, why someone would look for a alternative place to go but in somone's camp site? The party went on, our neighbors kept the weed burning non stop, we didn't sleep. Understand that we enjoy a few drinks and aren't apposed to having a good time but this was out of hand. We made multiple calls to the front desk and there was no responce nor was there any kind of security asking people to quiet down. We were woken up at 7am to Bass. It was awfull. We tried calling the front desk again with no luck. We decided to pack up the kids and get out of there. We were terribly disapointed we had spent alot of money preparing for this trip to have it all be ruined because of poor managment. We tried to stop by to talk to the front office before we left but again there was nobody there doors locked so when we got home I called. Finally someone awnsers. I explain what went on and that we had to leave and I would aapreciate our money back for the nights we didn't stay. The woman was incredibly rude and refused to deal with me she said we should have let them know as soon as it happened so they could deal with it. You can't get ahold of anyone. We tried throughout the night we tried in the morning and nothing no responce. I don't reccomend Tribune Bay camping. They are a poorly run facility. It's not a clean facility. The out houses are the worst I have ever been in my life. One wouldn't think you could complain about an out house, it is what it is, but these outhouses are like nothing i have ever seen/smelled. Showers are foul discusting moldy nasty. Camp sites are not private. We stayed in camp site 30 supposedly the most private. They aren't you are in full view of everyone and everything going on around you. If you have a young family I don't reccomend you go at all and if you do don't let your kids run around bare foot ther is broken glass. This is a party dump beware!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank canadianislandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hornby Island
6.7 mi away
Shady Shores Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Tumblehome Farm B&B
Tumblehome Farm B&B
#1 of 4 in Hornby Island
9 reviews
14.4 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Buena Vista by the Sea
Buena Vista by the Sea
#4 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
126 reviews
13.4 mi away
Riverside Resort & Campground
Riverside Resort & Campground
#6 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
141 reviews
9.8 mi away
Ellerslie Bed and Breakfast
Ellerslie Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Fanny Bay
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribune Bay Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribune Bay Campsite

Property: Tribune Bay Campsite
Address: Hornby Island, British Columbia, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Hornby Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Hornby Island
Number of rooms: 116
Also Known As:
Tribune Bay Campsite Hotel Hornby Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing