We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in a lovely setting”

Masthead Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Cowichan Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester
Level Contributor
124 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great food in a lovely setting”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Had a lovely meal here, which was great value for money. Very delicious, with lovely presentation. Staff were friendly and the restaurant is nicely decorated. A pianist and double bass player added a lovely atmosphere to the restaurant. Highly recommend eating here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank miss-b20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    48
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cobble Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No disappointments here”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

First impression on walking into the restaurant is the pristine cleanliness of everything. We ate early so were able to enjoy the views of the marinas and boats tied up. Probably one of the best meals we have had in years. Everything was of a high caliber as was the service. Pianist on Saturday nights only unfortunately, but we'll just have to come back for that.
Well down Masthead staff. Definitely a return ticket for us.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank petriekw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowichan Valley, B.C.
Level Contributor
195 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“One of the very few "go to" restaurants outside of Victoria”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is the usual "birthday" or "anniversary" restaurant ... maybe "guests from out of town" if we really like them. Good array of locally sourced items, including wines. The chefs (and like most establishments, they use this as a stepping stone for their movement through the business) are always very competent. The staff is good (owner is only a tad pretentious). Setting is lovely - over the marina but with the setting sun streaming in over the Cow Bay flats as a backdrop - Mount Tzouhalem across the Bay - one of the best settings on the Island which sadly has too few water view locations. We have been 2-3 times a year for the past ~10 years and have yet to be disappointed. Sorry to read some of the other reviews - one wonders whether a place can truly be so schizo or whether there's something else going on. Perhaps those who find this "the worst place ever" just haven't gotten "out" much.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jhsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An evening of mediocre”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

After being seated and waiting over 10 minutes for some type of acknowledgment we were brought some wonderful wine . Sadly the experience went downhill from there. Our appetizer of mussels and clams while cooked well had the flavour of seawater with beach gravel included for good measure. The seared tuna which followed while appearing to be seared well arrived floating in a pool of broth. The last hope of a salvaged birthday for my wife ,I would trade her soggy tuna for lobster, the lobster tails arrived on a bed of risotto made with long grain rice. Unusual recipe or lack of knowledge? Following we were brought a bowl of vegetables to share. No plates but two forks lucky us. We were supplied with bread with our fine dining experience, a thinly sliced artisan bread from the local grocery store, with an herb butter made with grainy mustered and yes we were not offered more than one slice to sop up the liquid our food was floating in. In the end we were supplied with a bill that was not unreasonable for the experience we were promised unfortunately the experience we had was not as promised.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Calvin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great experience! ”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We dinned at the Masthead last night (sunday) with friends. It had a wonderful atmosphere with a warm candle lit ambiance! The aroma of the kitchen truly entices you as the walk through the door. Great wine selection. Presentation and flavour of the food is top notch! Our server was lovely, personable, and knowledgable making our evening an amazing experience. We will be back soon and will tell all our friends about this place!

Helpful?
Thank Deb7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masthead Restaurant also viewed

Cowichan Bay, Vancouver Island
Cowichan Bay, Vancouver Island
 
Duncan, Vancouver Island
Cowichan Bay, Vancouver Island
 
Cowichan Bay, Vancouver Island
Cowichan Bay, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Masthead Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing