We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a Date Night”

Masthead Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Cowichan Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Sunriver, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent for a Date Night”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The atmosphere is lovely and romantic, the service is very friendly and prompt. The food was excellent. We had the three-course menu and every course tasted fabulous. They have an ample wine menu. I would definitely go back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    49
    18
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Vancouver Island, BC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“First time - good time”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Four of us had dinner at the Masthead in late November. We had reservations and it was a good thing we did, because the place was quite busy for being off-season. Nice decor, lovely setting over the water in the village, and really good food. There was a little jazz combo playing and it was a nice backdrop, but just a little too loud at times. Occasionally, we were getting close to shouting to each other, but then the sound seemed to pull back so maybe they made adjustments. We each had a cocktail, shared a bottle of wine, had appetizer, entree and dessert and it was about $360, including tip for the four of us. Well worth it, and we would definitely go back and would recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WileyFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful place, great menu”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Fantastic location and menu..worth a side trip. Definitely memorable. Attentive servers. The only issue is limited parking.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kildonan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

always nice here with reliable service
however this visit with friends from out of town we were embarrassed when our guest had the server attempt to remove her plate , WHILE SHE WAS STILL EATING!!!
Not once butTWICE!!
Prices indicate ths could not happen
Chairs too low for tables-- felt as if our chins were in the food

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gillianedith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cashmere, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic evening”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had our last night dinner here, wanting to have an expierence to remember. We were not dissapointed. The ceasar salad prepared at your table was the best I have ever had. I let the server choose the wine, again, wonderfull.Will be going back for sure.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shinner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masthead Restaurant also viewed

Duncan, Vancouver Island
Cowichan Bay, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Masthead Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing