We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thin Walls & Cigarette Smoke”
Review of Wessex Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wessex Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Cowichan Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The cigarette smoke was in the sheets, certainly in the room. Could have been the staff smoking while cleaning because the room is designated "non-smoking." The whole ambience is that of a place to crash while on your biker weekend. Across the street is the Pacific Ocean at one of its best junctions between island and the Universe. Gorgeous during an August night.

The place seemed clean, the front desk attendant very friendly and helpful, but this was my least favourite hotel / motel in years.

But the wedding we attended was beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank KyotoBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProudOwner, Manager at Wessex Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Thank you for your comments and sorry for the inconvinences during your stay.
The room was an adjoining room connected with double doors and designed for a family. The day the Motel was full so we had to put you in that room. We changed all sheets and bed spreads newly. If you visit next time, the best room will be provided for you, please visit one more time.
Most of the customers are satisfied with our services and comfortable room, and many customers are returning regulary.
The new management of Wessex Inn is trying to do it's best for the comforts of customers. Thanks.
Sylvia McKenzie,Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 61 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

I stayed here while attending a funeral because it was the only available inn nearby. Was worried initially because of prev reviews here but had an unexpectedly great stay. I got the corner room that had a really nice view and was also quiet. Office seemed new, bright and clean. breakfast wasn't included so I just walked to the bakery nearby for snacks. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
7  Thank CORJ644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

i just came from my trip to vancouver island. i stayed at this Inn for two nights.it was a very relaxing and pleasant stay. ppl were nice . room was clean. and i loved the nice ocean view and the little walk at the park in the morning. A small restaurant near the place had some joyful meal. one thing i didnt love about this place was that they were undergoing some renovations. the manager told me that they were just finishing up. I hope they would be done by my next visit to the island because i would like to go back to this place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stayed here with a friend who was working the summer boat prawning season and I managed to last 6 days in the place but not before toilets backed up, the freezer in the tiny fridge in the kitchette went also taking with it our food. The roof was being redone 4 out of 6 of my days there so a mess no matter what door you walk out. Only ever spoke to staff once when asked to move a vehicle the next day due the works on the roof. The view is amazing and the light in at 5:30 was not as issue as that fisherman time so watching the sun come up with a cup of tea over the bay was amazing but... It was not worth the $375 for the week or $775 for the month. Between wasted food. dirty place, old musty smell, thin walls...the only good thing was the view!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProudOwner, Manager at Wessex Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Wessex By The Sea
We have replaced the beds,painted and renovated rooms with new carpets and blinds.
We take great pride in our Motel and hope to make your stay enjoyable.
Sylvia McKenzie,Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We want to say first of all, the owner (woman) was a very nice lady. We checked in at the last minute deciding that part of our vacation we'd be serendipitous. Sometimes being serendipitous works out and sometimes it doesn't. We drove from Victoria up the coast sightseeing and as sunset neared we found ourselves in Cowichan looking for a place to stay. This wasn't worth the $85 per night plus tax. The pluses: again, the owner was very nice, the room was clean, there was a refrigerator, free wifi, sink, small stove, TV, nice view and the heating worked. Cons: Old place, bed wasn't too comfortable, old carpets (didn't want to walk around barefoot or even with just socks). The owner did take us an hour before they closed with no reservations. We stayed in 4 places while in Vancouver and Vancouver Island and the other three were such great deals and more than we expected. Walls are very thin, beds creak. We could hear the person next door every time they used the bathroom and got in and out of bed.

Note: We are pretty simple people as far as accommodations go. We really are looking for some place to shower, relax and sleep...we weren't looking for 5 star accommodations, but we do like to get our monies worth and two of our other rooms were only $50 each night and were in better shape than this place!

Room Tip: If we remember correctly, all rooms have a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelWithCameraHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Apparently fill in staff when we were there. Very peculiar and hyper chatty made me nervous feel unsure about whole situation/not professional at all. We didn't get the room we booked. The light bulb in the stove burst putting glass all thru our take out food so no supper that night (we booked a kitchenette for a REASON) Staff did offer to replace bulb though I'd had enough by then and had nothing to warm in the oven anyway so wanted the person to leave as they began to call us "weird" and acted insulting and aggressive. No voucher towards a meal....very odd uncomfortable vibe. Would not recommend to anyone I know. Old mattresses, otherwise clean enough and quiet the nights we were there. Just no customer service. Overpriced.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank audiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

The friend I was traveling with especially wanted to stay at the Wessex as she had stayed there before and even had a special room which she requested. Maybe her standards were different than mine.

On arrival, I thought the room seemed a bit shut up smelling. The beds were old, I thought the head of the bed seemed lower than the rest. Bedspreads were looking as if they had ben washed and washed and washed. Room was tiny but had a fridge, stove and table and chairs. We were on ground floor in a corner unit. The view was very nice of the bay. It had sliding patio doors and two patio chairs to each unit. I felt it was a bit pricey for the state of the room althought the carpet and floor looked new. The view of the Bay, right across from the Park was entirely worth it. Each room seemed to have a nice view of the Bay. There were two floors and each had a balcony. It was relaxing. The Bay was beautiful and had lots of good restaurants and some unique shopping.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rangerpippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowichan Bay
0.5 mi away
Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
0.2 mi away
Seasons Above the Bay Guest Suites and B&B
4.3 mi away
Thunderbird Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wessex Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wessex Inn

Address: 1846 Cowichan Bay Road, Cowichan Bay, British Columbia V0R 1N2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Cowichan Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cowichan Bay
Price Range: $74 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wessex Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wessex Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wessex Inn Cowichan Bay, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing