We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to be. Even for once in a life time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cow Cafe

Cow Cafe
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Cowichan Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $18
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Proud to say that we are locally owned and operated!! Being on the water’s edge in the unique, historic village of Cowichan Bay we continue to grow with the support of family, friends & locals. Serving modern-comfort inspired West Coast Cuisine, Creative Cocktails, Local Wines and Craft Beers. Enjoy the spectacular view from our waterfront patio, a casual drink in the lounge or a nice meal in our cozy dining room. There`s always something for everyone at the Cow Cafe - West Coast Grill
Vancouver
1 review
“A great place to be. Even for once in a life time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

I don't write reviews usually, but I do read them. This is a great place to be. The best view, service is amazing, and the food is great. They have the best chocolate lava I have had in my life. They build it from scratch and it is fresh and yummy. The atmosphere is a breathtaking. I'm writing this when I'm still here, can't wait for later to do this.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EA404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    77
    24
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“This is one of my favorite restaurants at Cowichan Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Simply the best filet we have tasted for years.. The chef is fantastic, restaurant is run by him & his wife.. Our 7 friends all raved about the dinner they had, nobody had any complaints.. Had a couple here from Hawaii and wanted to take them to a restaurant that has never disappointed us in the short time we have lived here.. Thanks again Jen & staff.. Best place is sitting outdoors with the smell of the ocean, all the houseboats and watching the activities..

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terracetrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
98 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Museum and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

The burger was drip down your elbow good. The view of the Bay was awesome - we were lucky to be on the deck, but under covering from sun. The museum was also free and showed great community spirit. Fun time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Loraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We've been to Cowichan Bay many times, but this was our first time to the Cow Café. It for sure will not be our last. The waitress was very pleasant and personable. She apologized for the slowness of the food, but we hadn't even noticed - we were sitting on the deck in the sunshine, with a great view of the marina and quite content to enjoy our cocktails.
I had the blackened Halibut salad and it was one of the best salads I've ever had. My hubby had the two piece fish and said it was great. The portions are very ample and I ended up taking half my salad home.
This may be our new favourite summer café!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VicfromVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
negril
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“OUT AT THE LAKE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

the food the atmosphere the service the outside patio and the cocktails. Fun in the sun with good food good drinx and hopefully your own group of happy people. Stop in if you are out at the lake

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bbhkccaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cow Cafe also viewed

Cowichan Bay, Vancouver Island
Cowichan Bay, Vancouver Island
 
Duncan, Vancouver Island
Cowichan Bay, Vancouver Island
 
Cowichan Bay, Vancouver Island
Cowichan Bay, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Cow Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing