We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Cute!”
Review of True Grain Bread

True Grain Bread
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Cowichan Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Description: True Grain Bread is an old world-inspired European bakery specializing in "modern wheat free" ancient grains. We bake everything on site from scratch using primarily organic ingredients. Everything is hand-crafted and all of the bread is baked freshly every day.
Restaurant details
Description: True Grain Bread is an old world-inspired European bakery specializing in "modern wheat free" ancient grains. We bake everything on site from scratch using primarily organic ingredients. Everything is hand-crafted and all of the bread is baked freshly every day.
Northridge, CA
Level Contributor
558 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Very Cute!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Was in Cowichan Bay strictly on a fluke! Looking at the shops and noticed this one. My wife is into whole grain flour and baking with it. The Miller was very accommodating and showed us how through the mill room. We bought some of the baked goods and they were good, albeit a bit pricey.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank bcreff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    37
    10
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Riverview, Canada
Level Contributor
240 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent Breads/Rolls and Pastries”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Great products as well as a great presentation.
Only tried a couple of their products (rolls and croissants) and was very impressed.
Would've stayed for coffee and dessert but we just did not have the time.

I would try them again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank c0verdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“make organic breads and treats”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

These people make organic breads and treats, from scratch. they have a wooden flour grinder there to see in window. not something you would expect to see in this day and age. there items are on display for your choosing. there breads and cookies are delicious, the aroma when you walk in , makes you want to sit there all day. recommend not to miss if you visit this area, very scrumptious. yummy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynnmur49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
224 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Neat Little Place for a Coffee and dessert”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My sister and I stopped by this place to get some of their wonderful raisin bread. We had coffee/tea and some wonderful cinnamon rolls. It is a casual, quaint place in Cowichan Bay near the marina on the main street. It was a beautiful day so many people were out and about and so parking is an issue but it sure is a good place to get to. You can buy many different flours, teas, coffee's, breads and a variety of baked goods. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Smeels very yummy inside.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank midnitewind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duncan bc
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Wonderful ambiance. Fresh and fabulous breads and treats. Gluten free goodies for those who want them.
They didn't have any decaf the day I was there. But there is a coffee shop nearby.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank yellow666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed True Grain Bread also viewed

Cowichan Bay, Vancouver Island
Duncan, Vancouver Island
 
Cowichan Bay, Vancouver Island
Cowichan Bay, Vancouver Island
 

Been to True Grain Bread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing