We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food Made With Care”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of True Grain Bread

True Grain Bread
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Cowichan Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: Healthy, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: True Grain Bread is an old world-inspired European bakery specializing in "modern wheat free" ancient grains. We bake everything on site from scratch using primarily organic ingredients. Everything is hand-crafted and all of the bread is baked freshly every day.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food Made With Care”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

What a charming bakery. Now I know what foodies mean when they refer to "artisan." This place truly is a gallery of art that you can eat. Each bakery product is hand crafted, made with organic and carefully selected ingredients, and made with care. No factory made, bleached out, gluey, JUNK FOOD BREAD here.

Is it pricey? Yeah. But for a treat or to pair with some nice cheese you splurged on (from Hilary's Cheese next door..? I admit I did this) it is well worth it.

The staff is friendly and super knowledgeable! I had questions on the different loaf types and the women helping me was answering my questions and giving me an educational history of some of the grains/flours they use. Impressive!

I got some cookies in addition to my loaf. They are MASSIVE and fresh and moist and really, the only word for them is: OMG.

Very cute. Worth stopping in if you are in the area. Maybe even worth making a special trip for if you're up for a drive. Definitely will be back when I'm up there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monica a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    35
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
288 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Nice bakery in this quaint little town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stopped here for an afternoon snack, the cinnamon buns were big and quite good! They also had a non-wheat based pasta that I bought to try out. Lots of different fresh breads and baked goods to chose from.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharonbader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bread Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We always stop here for bread supplies when we're travelling on the Island. I have a wheat sensitivity and this bakery provides lots of great options for me. This time I got a loaf of kamut with pumpkin seeds and a 100% whole rye--both delicious but the kamut was especially moist and yummy. It's hard to restrain yourself from eating too much at a sitting. Try toasting either and drizzling with some good quality olive oil. On our trip back to Victoria for our return flight, we stopped in to get another loaf of the kamut to take on the plane. I'm savouring every mouthful as I dream of having the bakery closer to home (Richmond Hill). My husband also had a hankering for one of their pumpkin spice cookies--soft, chewy and not too guilt-inducing! If you love bread, you'll love True Grain.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luvveggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous bakery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

There were so many yummy things here, it was hard to choose!
It was a very busy spot for obvious reasons...people coming in and buying fresh baked goods to take home. There were about 6 tables, constantly filling and emptying, then filling again while we were there. Highly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank slc51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Excellent spelt cookies which we shared with our friends in Cumberland. The cookies were a substantial size at a reasonable price. We would recommend purchasing your baked goods at this location .

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed True Grain Bread also viewed

Cowichan Bay, Vancouver Island
Cowichan Bay, Vancouver Island
 
Cowichan Bay, Vancouver Island
Cowichan Bay, Vancouver Island
 
Cowichan Bay, Vancouver Island
Cowichan Bay, Vancouver Island
 

Been to True Grain Bread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing