We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveler rating
89
109
51
18
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
89
109
51
18
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews renovated suites patio doors living room sea lions vancouver island family wedding bit dated the ground floor front desk staff fishing boats king bed small kitchen beautiful location duncan plugs grain victoria
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 288 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2019

Disappointment!!

While this hotel has a good location, it is dated, the renovations have been done are of poor quality.

I recently stayed in unit 102 for the weekend and was greeted by friendly staff. Upon entering my room I noticed the bed was not fully made, the curtains had broken rods, the toilet paper roll was on the floor, and the shower backed up ankle deep when showering. In addition to this there was spring sticking out in the bed ,the TV's were missing the outside inch of the screen and had limited channels, there back of the entry door had not been repainted since a new lock set was installed, the fridge was very loud, and there were no accessible outlets to plug in my laptop or phone to charge.

I contacted the front desk regarding the issues with this room which was almost $250 / night after tax and they said they would address the shower and bed immediately and adjust my room rate after discussing with the manager. None of these issues were addressed and upon checkout no credit was issued. I contacted the hotel via email and also spoke to the manager who advised me that he would call me back the next day - nothing! I followed up with a call and another email and am yet to hear back.

There are many better places including some nice local Airbnb units for your stay and money.

Craig

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank C_Graham_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, Director of Sales at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2019

Craig,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay. We appreciate your feedback and are working to prevent a recurrence of these situations.

I have responded to your concerns directly to your private e-mail and on another review site, so I don't feel that I need to do so again here. I understand that you were unhappy with your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2019 via mobile

Our first visit to Cowichan Bay over Easter. Great time. Booked through booking.com - pictures looked like the unit. Recently renovated suites, with a modern style. Clean. Our suite had a separate bedroom to the living room and kitchenette. Stayed 3 nights. Concierge very friendly at checkin. Ample parking. great view. In house Restaurant good - cowcafe. Huge portions - ordered backribs and steak! Family friendly - made good use of gym. Next visit to the area would definitely rebook there.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank RenanteSolivar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, Director of Sales at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2019

RenateSolivar,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay. We appreciate the feedback, and look forward to your next visit.

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2019

We booked online and paid for an upgrade to have a terrace but didn't realize it would be the choice location for the dog owners as well. We love dogs but not when they bark all night long in the room next to you. I finally called the front desk at 1:30 am when it started to sound like multiple dogs were barking. They came by to speak with our neighbors. Unfortunately it caused the neighbors to argue with each other for the next 10 minutes and scold the dog. After a short period, the dog continued to bark again anyways. The walls are thin so the dog probably was barking at noises outside which of course really picked up at 4:30am. It was terribly loud even with ear plugs.
We complained at checkout but rather than compensating us fairly for a sleepless night, we were told we should have called each time the dog barked. Of course when you are in a situation like that, you keep hoping the dog won't continue. And with the owners getting so upset, that was even more unsettling.
They should make it clear on the website that booking the terrace means you are in pet friendly rooms. We never would have stayed in that room had we known. The hotel room had weird things like a low showerhead that you have to duck under, low hung mirrors, and strangely messy storage in the parkade

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Corri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, Director of Sales at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2019

Corri,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay. We're sorry that your sleep was disturbed by the dog and its people in the room next to you.

However, it is difficult for us to resolve problems like this unless we are made aware of them. We do have a record of your only call to the Front Desk to complain about the noisy dog. But, after our Night Auditor spoke to the people in the room, which you mentioned you heard, we have no record of any communication from you regarding further problems. As far as we knew, the problem was solved.

At check out, I explained to the gentleman representing your room, that it is not possible for us to solve a problem of which we were unaware, and that in the future, in any hotel, please don't wait until the problem is huge before asking for assistance. If a problem persists after the first attempt to remedy it, please call the front desk for additional assistance. Hotels all have policies and procedures to solve these kinds of issues, and these procedures include the option of having a problem guest removed from the premises by the police, if necessary. However, we rely on our guests to continue to communicate with us so that we can solve this sort of problem. When we fail to solve problems which have been brought to our attention, compensation is quickly forthcoming.

Our hotel is a pet friendly hotel, and pets may be encountered on floors other than the one where your room is located.

Perhaps you will understand our point of view and give us another chance some time in the future.

Thank you for your patience and understanding.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2019

Our suite is very spartan and the hotel a bit tired. A great scenic location, but disappointing. A few details will make it great, a rug in the sitting room, a few pictures on the walls, some coastal info about what we’re looking at, a sharp knife! The restaurant is good with great happy hour.

Room tip: All rooms face the ocean.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evelyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, Director of Sales at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2019

Evelyn,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay. We're working on improving the pizzazz, and I'm sure you will se an improvement on your next stay with us!

We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2019 via mobile

Had a meeting in Duncan and needed a hotel. Cowichan Bay is just a short drive to Duncan so decided to stay in this delightful village. Oceanfront suites is exactly that - the room is a suite complete with a small kitchen and the room overlooks the Bay. We had a king bed which was comfortable and lots of room to relax in. A nice restaurant overlooking the Bay was nice as well. A bit disappointed that the pool was out of commission due to cleaning etc. The hotel is getting on in years but everything still works. It is also at the top of the Main Street so walking to all the shops and restaurants is easy.
Overall a good stay.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Smoltman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, Director of Sales at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2019

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews