We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool and whirl pool unavailable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowichan Bay
Cowichan Bay, Canada
1 review
“Pool and whirl pool unavailable”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

I booked a two course golf package through Golf Vancouver Island that came with a two night stay at Cowichan Bay Oceanview Suites. Before leaving on my trip I checked out their website for amenities, after 18 holes of golf I was looking forward to a swim and hot tub. Upon check-in I asked where the pool was and was told it was not open due to annual maintenance. Nowhere on the site was notice of this. Understandably my friend and I were very disappointed. When you book time off work and spend your hard earned $$$'s you expect it's all going to be operational. At most the hotel is negligent in providing the information on their site, at least then I would have prior knowledge and possibly changed my accommodations.

Other than that the hotel met our needs. Would I return? Had it not been for an exceptionally personable and accommodating staff, Julie, (thank you Julie you rock!) I probably would have gone elsewhere.

I hope that the management listens and in future will provide such notices on the website.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    85
    39
    16
    14
See reviews for
68
93
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The accommodations are clean, sufficient and serviceable although unspectacular. However, the amazing staff at this hotel unfailingly go above and beyond. I've travelled extensively and love that this hotel offers such a personal experience. It's a few minutes out of town, but worth the drive. I stay regularly. A true example of the West Coast hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rippedoff12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I arrived late at night and drove by twice before finding it. The receptionist was very helpful and although the restaurant was already closed directed me to where I might find food. The rooms themselves were great and well appointed and could have accommodates 4 people with ease, together with a lounge area and a well equipped kitchen area. Sleep quality was excellent, and in the morning when I pulled back the curtains I had the most wonderful surprise with an absolutely stunning view over the bay. Unfortunately I was only here for one night, I would have liked to have stayed a lot longer and will certainly return if I get back to vancouver island

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seajay1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We booked a three night stay here to attend a family wedding. We had a one bedroom suite which was more than enough room for two people. We had a beautiful view of the bay and enjoyed having the window open when it wasn't raining. Sadly there was no balcony. The kitchenette was fully stocked with dishes and we were able to find a small convenience store just down the road to purchase food and beverages. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and able to suggest places to see and recommend restaurants where we could eat when we were not at the hotel. The breakfast was great at the hotel as was the service. They were very tolerant of the noise we created as part of the wedding party and although we were a busy, noisy group, they seemed welcoming all the way through our stay. The food provided for the wedding was delicious and plentiful and was enjoyed by all.

Room Tip: A room on the bay side provides the best view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here 3 nights in August 2013 & did not want to leave.
We loved it so much we kept going back each night from wherever we had ventured to on Vancouver Island.
The hotel is beautiful, the view gorgeous, the staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and spacious. Just a beautiful place for us to relax, unwind, and rejuvenate our spirits. We did not eat at the restaurant, so cannot comment on that.
The Manager went above and beyond the call of duty in responding to my email inquiry regarding one of the mattresses that we loved.
The only reason I did not give this hotel an Excellent rating is because the parking spots were limited and the underground parking garage was extremely tight.
We had a very quiet stay, unlike some of the other guests I've read about who were there when sports teams were staying.
We would go back again in a heartbeat!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank keetwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Have stayed here in past and will continue to do so in the future. One should not be deterred by the the first impression of the hotel. As with a good book the cover is not what counts. Once inside the lobby you will know this place is special. As I have only stayed on the 3rd floor I can't say every room has a great view, however I am sure that the rooms on the ground floor with the walk outs have something special as well. Although the restaurant was being renovated thus I can't review the food however before renovations the breakfasts were terrific.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kh1298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Ok hotel. We had problems with our lights in our room and the front desk person was quick to come and adjust them. Asked for a wake up call but did not receive one. They likely did call but we realized after that the ringer on the phone was turned off. The restaurant was not open and would have appreciated being told in advance of our stay that we would have no place to eat breakfast. The manager did adjust our bill for the inconvenience which we appreciated. The room was clean and that was the most important part as with such a beautiful place to visit who wants to spend time in your hotel room. We did not have any problems with noise at all and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: A room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowichan Bay
26.3 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
32.9 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,422 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn
9.8 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ganges
437 reviews
12.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay

Property: Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
Address: 1681 Cowichan Bay Road, Cowichan Bay, British Columbia V0R-1N0, Canada (Formerly Oceanfront Grand Resort & Marina)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Cowichan Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowichan Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay is idyllically nestled in the Cowichan Valley, between Victoria and Nanaimo, in the seaside village of Cowichan Bay. With its eclectic collection of shops and restaurants and the wharves filled with, sail boats, fishing boats and floating homes it is one of the most picturesque, secret locations on Vancouver Island. The Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay offers 56 spacious suites, all facing the ocean. Each is equipped with a master bedroom, bathroom, and a comfortable living and dining area. Most are equipped with a complete kitchen. Whether you’re looking for an outdoor adventure, romantic getaway, family vacation or a special wedding destination, The Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay can deliver in comfort and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanfront Suites At Cowichan Bay Hotel Cowichan Bay
Oceanfront Grand Resort Marina
Oceanfront Grand Hotel Marina
Oceanfront Suites At Cowichan Bay Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing