We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowichan Bay
Reviewed March 25, 2013

WOW! Room with a beautiful view.... Comfy beds.... Clean and HUGE... A suite!
Rate was great... What a wonderful find. Mussels and wine in the lounge for dinner - great service and lovely view. Only negatives were: room doors thin so hall noise was audible... Loud when people in the halls and lighting was poor in the bedroom portion. hardtop packaged pack for weak eyes.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dooleysSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 242 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

There were four of us staying at the hotel in two separate rooms so we were all going to eat together in the room each morning, sorry to say all that was available in the kitchenette was a set of plates, knifes etc. for only two people so my sister had to bring their own supplies from their room. Only one fryingpan and one saucepan and no kettle, this is not a fully equipped kitchen so be aware..
The view was lovely and the room fairly clean. Went for dinner at the hotel restaurant and we were very disappointed with the food so would not eat there again.
The local bakery a few steps from the hotel was superb, you have to try it.
We had a good time but as I said things could have been better. Basically the hotel needs a refurb to bring it into the 21st Century.

Room Tip: Ground floor patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trying2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our party of eight booked a two-bedroom suite and two one-bedrooms for our annual New Year's Eve get-together. We also made reservations for the New Year's Eve dinner and dance at the hotel restaurant. Everyone had a great time.

We'll write a separate review for the restaurant since we had the five-course meal on New Year's Eve, stayed for the dancing, and came back for the New Year's Day brunch.

The hotel has a reputation as a beautiful waterfront property that just can't seem to get off the ground as a resort or a conference center. It's currently in receivership, owned by a bank, and all things considered, it offers good value for money. That's another way of saying it's a real bargain, but you have to endure a flaw or two.

The great value comes from the staff, who are endlessly courteous, friendly and professional. The hotel feels classy without coming across as pretentious. More value comes from the recent upgrades: comfortable beds with modern European-style linens, a clean and modern pool, new appliances in the kitchenettes, and many other improvements to come.

Above all is the million-dollar view that awaits you when you look out the window on a clear, crisp winter morning. Every room has this stunning view.

We appreciated the covered parking and the proximity of gift shops and pubs, the pier with its quaint houseboats, where fresh seafood is sold in the summer, and the general feel of a small town ready to welcome visitors.

The down side of our stay was an aberration or two that's unique to the oddly-shaped two-bedroom suites. Since there are only four in the hotel, this complaint applies to very few suites. Beware, visitors, the 2-bedroom suite has a main bathroom, but the ensuite in the master bedroom is a half bath (no shower or tub). Also, the second bedroom has no dresser, armoire, closet, clothes rack or luggage rack. So your only choice is to place your suitcase on the floor, and space is tight.

My comments on these two quirks was handled professionally by our hostess at the front desk who patiently explained how upgrades are being done, with luggage racks and hooks on the backs of bathroom doors taking lower priority. She has heard the same complaints often, so we hope that soon these problems will be addressed by the bank's decision-makers and the inconvenience will be history.

Meanwhile, we fully well plan to go back next year, if not sooner, but in the meantime we'll book two separate spacious one-bedroom suites instead of a two-bedroom . . . and still have plenty of space for five couples if we want a glass of champagne to celebrate in an intimate setting.

Room Tip: The 2-bedroom suite is a pretty good option if you're traveling with kids. For two couples, book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livinginparadise8041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOFS, General Manager at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear livinginparadise8041,

Thank you very much for all of your excellent feedback. We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay!

We are and will continue to make improvements to the guest rooms, so all the small details are addressed. Our aim to offer a quality, consistent, and affordable guest experience with an amazing waterfront view! The hotel is not in receivership, and hasn't been for 2 years. Everything is going really well, and we are making many positive steps to showcase beautiful Cowichan Bay!

We look forward to welcoming you back on New Years or sooner!

Kind Regards,
Lisa McCormick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We came to this resort after travelling for five nights and experiencing other hotels, including one 'luxury', very expensive hotel in Seattle. This is by far the best. Very welcoming front desk. Suite is lovely , with views over the Marina. Large bedroom and bathroom and a well equipped kitchenette.The restaurant was closed when we arrived but the bar next door served nice food and an excellent section of beers.
The village itself is very pretty.
We definitely want to return and are already planning:)

Room Tip: Corner room has a lovely round window overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amblesidebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have stayed at these suites before and will stay again, but it would have been really good information to be made aware that there are six weeks (around this time) that they have a large group of sealions who make their home on the dock outside the hotel. They are loud and their vocalizations are 24 hours a day, so if you are going to stay here between mid-November and mid-December, BRING EARPLUGS!

It would have been nice if they had warned me when I booked it (or even when I checked in). It's all about expectations and quite frankly, this time around, I was disappointed.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms (except during the time of year as indicated above...)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JDBradshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We booked special package and received $100 dining credit for two night stay. Two room suite had full kitchen and dining area plus two large screen TVs and wifi. Fitness center, pool and sauna in 1st floor. Picturesque view of harbor and treat to see colony of sea lions. Restaurant was fair - excellent mussels in spicy sauce. Service attentive. All hotel staff friendly

Room Tip: All rooms have harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank etoiledunord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We loved everything about this property from the friendly desk staff to the friendliness of every employee we met; to the beautifully done two room suite with unobstructed views of the Bay; the fishing boats; the marina; the sea lions.

Room Tip: 4th floor is the main entrance floor. We were beneath (I think) the restaurant and kitchen. Didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sms6164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowichan Bay
32.9 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,500 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn
26.3 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ganges
447 reviews
12.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn
26.5 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay

Address: 1681 Cowichan Bay Road, Cowichan Bay, British Columbia V0R-1N0, Canada (Formerly Oceanfront Grand Resort & Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Cowichan Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowichan Bay
Price Range: $108 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay is idyllically nestled in the Cowichan Valley, between Victoria and Nanaimo, in the seaside village of Cowichan Bay. With its eclectic collection of shops and restaurants and the wharves filled with, sail boats, fishing boats and floating homes it is one of the most picturesque, secret locations on Vancouver Island. The Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay offers 56 spacious suites, all facing the ocean. Each is equipped with a master bedroom, bathroom, and a comfortable living and dining area. Most are equipped with a complete kitchen. Whether you’re looking for an outdoor adventure, romantic getaway, family vacation or a special wedding destination, The Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay can deliver in comfort and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanfront Suites At Cowichan Bay Hotel Cowichan Bay
Oceanfront Grand Resort Marina
Oceanfront Grand Hotel Marina
Oceanfront Suites At Cowichan Bay Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing