We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly place with great food”

Costa del Sol Latin Cuisine
Ranked #3 of 68 Restaurants in Powell River
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Central American, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly place with great food”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Charming little restaurant... We arrived here after being turned away, somewhat rudely, by the Curry Hut nearby due to a lack of a reservation (on a Wednesday night in the off season??)...Welcomed very warmly and seated by the window (amazing how a friendly smile and welcoming attitude can do wonders). We had the nachos with guacamole to start followed by the prawn salad for me and the fish tacos for my partner. No dessert in that the portions were plentiful. All in all a welcoming, bright and friendly place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    62
    17
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Powell River, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Eco friendly and Zero Waste”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Love the food, the service, the owners and their striving to be an earth ethical business. They are diverting all their organic waste to a small business who are using it for their red wriggler worms to make worm castings.
They are a perfect example of how simple this is once the intention is there and contacts are made with people like the crew from the Let's Talk Trash Team contracted by the Regional District.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I'd visit Powell River just to eat here.”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Delicious camarones a la diabla - the shrimp tasted fresh off the boat and was cooked perfectly, and served with a delectable buttered tomato chili sauce. We also had chiles relleno and the maverick (beef flank steak tacos) and key lime pie. We were in town two nights and had lunch at Costa del Sol twice - opted for the later ferry so that we could go again. Everything was fresh, tasty and was an excellent value for the price. You'd be paying a lot more for food this good in, say, Vancouver.

We were also so impressed with the service. The owners are server and chef and both were friendly and personable and made our visits particularly enjoyable. We would love to come here again to try everything on the menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank birder h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Back in business!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This restaurant has had a few ups and downs, but is definitely back UP, with new owners and excellent cooking. The food is tasty and fresh. The location retains its authentic feel and atmosphere, with a Mexican flair and colour., housed in a quaint building. (Don't miss the washroom...with its glass mosaic and painted sink.) I love the fish tacos and horchata, a milky rice drink...tastes like rice pudding in a cup! Nice in the summer to sit our on the little porch and watch the world go by...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food locally”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Haven't eaten there in years but was always a favourite among my friends at the fish farm. Family is from Mexico and they only open during the warm months of the year and close up shop to go back south for the winter. Excellent, very authentic tasting Mexican fare. Far better than one would expect for a little town like Powell River.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costa del Sol Latin Cuisine also viewed

Powell River, Sunshine Coast
Powell River, Sunshine Coast
 
Powell River, Sunshine Coast
Powell River, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Costa del Sol Latin Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing