We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Surprise in Small Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alchemist - CLOSED

Alchemist
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Canadian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Surprise in Small Town”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We were in Powell River on our trip up the sunshine coast and over to Vancouver Island. This restaurant was recommended by the owner of the hotel we stayed in. We didn't have high expectations in a small place like Powell River. Wow, were we surprised! This place was far better than any of the restaurants we tried later in Victoria. The choice of small or large portion is great. I'm not a big eater so it nice to try a small salad before my main course. The salad was so good and very different with marscapone cheese. Then I had the paella. So much seafood with a wonderful sauce and not with ordinary rice, made for a a very tasty dish. Hubby had the mussels and raved about them. he followed that up with the fish which was perfectly cooked.

Found the prices reasonable for such great food. Chef should be very proud. It was a far superior meal to a similar restaurant in Victoria that charged far more.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bjay3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    14
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An average meal”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The food here was average, despite having been told that it was an excellent restaurant by a Powell River resident. My friend who is a meat eater was not impressed and as a vegetarian I had hardly any choice. I ended up having a pear and cheese tart starter as a main course with some vegatables. That was it. Vegetarians are no longer the tiny minority that we used to be and restaurants really ought to wake up to that fact. I didn't find it value for money.

We sat outside as it was a warm evening and sea views and that was pleasant. The service was OK. There was a very rowdy party of people inside who were making a lot of noise and who got quite drunk and I was glad that we didn't have to sit inside with them. I won't be going there again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Best food and dining experience in Powell River. Top-notch chefs preparing all fresh, fabulous tasting meals, with affordable pricing options. Every menu option we have tried has been absolutely mouth-wateringly delicious and leaves you wanting more. Servers are professional and best in town too. This is my number one choice for dining out any day. You've got to try it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaroleAnnie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Small town style quality”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The alchemist has a small town style and comfort with big town quality food. There aren't too many choices for quality dining choices in Powell River unless you want to drive 20 km to another restaurant. We've had mainly excellent meals at the Alchemist and all of their meat dishes have been treats. Last time at the restaurant, we had pasta and were disappointed with the overly rich cream sauces. Otherwise dining has always been a delight.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smalltowncanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No trouble in River City”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Given the limited fine dining possiblilities in Powell River, this gem delivers! Not a bad thing to say about anything. Crab cakes were exquisite.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura_and_Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alchemist also viewed

Powell River, Sunshine Coast
Powell River, Sunshine Coast
 
Powell River, Sunshine Coast
Powell River, Sunshine Coast
 
Powell River, Sunshine Coast
Powell River, Sunshine Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing